U.S. Forest Service · Mount Rogers National Recreation Area · VA

Raccoon Branch Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 9 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:44 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:44 UTC
A night
$20–$27Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2017 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
2,730 ftElevation
151 ftWater · Dickey Creek
6.6 miSE of Marion, VA
70%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Raccoon Branch Campground, nestled at the base of Dickey Knob, offers scenic mountain views, hiking trail access from campsites and cool mountain streams. Campers can access Dickey Creek and the Raccoon Branch from the campground. The most notable time to visit is fall, when the trees boast gorgeous fall foliage. With a location just 11 miles from Interstate 81, the beautiful campground is easily reached by drivers heading out from one of the surrounding cities. Keep reading

Recreation

The beautiful Dickey Knob Trail takes hikers through a Wilderness to the top of Dickey Knob for spectacular views of Sugar Grove and Rye Valley. The creek provides a setting for wading and fishing.

Facilities

Every site accommodates RV or tent camping and five campsites have electric hookups. Perks of the campground include flush toilets, drinking water, paved roads and spurs and a dump station. There are no showers. A volunteer host is onsite to welcome visitors and offer advice on the region.

Natural Features

The campground is at an elevation of 2,880 ft., along a large grassy area, surrounded by pines, hardwoods and rhododendrons. Perched in the Appalachian Mountains, Raccoon Branch is part of the Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, a 200,000-acre stretch of designated wilderness areas.

Nearby Attractions

Hike the Appalachian Trail, which extends more than 2,175 miles throughout the Appalachian Mountains across 14 states. The trail was designated as the first National Scenic Trail. The Virginia Creeper Trail, Hungry Mother State Park and Grayson Highlands State Park are nearby.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Check-in is at 2pm and check-out is at 12pm.

Rule

Rates do not reflect discounts and attribute fees such as electrical and water hookups

Rule

No cell phone coverage

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

For more information on George Washington and Jefferson National Forests, click here

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
20
Hookups
5 electric, 8 water
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 20 of 20 campsite records
Showers
None at this campground
“There are no showers.”
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 20 of 20 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 27th darkest of 88 in VA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:44 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:29 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 9 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 6 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:44 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 29Bookable now through November 29, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$20–$27plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48–$62DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$20–$27
Standard Nonelectric$20
Standard Electric$27
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Nov 29, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28–$35
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48–$62

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$27 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:29 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:44 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

20 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 17 mapped sites
69 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
83%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop RABC 001 46 ftLoop RABC 002 46 ftLoop RABC 003 47 ft

All 20 sites

20 of 20 sites located
Standard12RV / electric5Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 17 of the 20 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

RABC001standard nonelectric25 ft46 ft131 ft$20
RABC002standard nonelectric20 ft46 ft157 ft$20
RABC003standard nonelectric35 ft47 ft171 ft$20
RABC004standard nonelectric30 ft71 ft103 ft$20
RABC005standard nonelectric25 ft77 ft153 ft$20
RABC006standard nonelectric25 ft81 ft52 ft$20
RABC007standard nonelectric30 ft77 ft142 ft$20
RABC008standard nonelectric35 ft81 ft47 ft$20
RABC009standard nonelectric45 ft144 ft150 ft$20
RABC010standard electric35 ft30 amp57 ft204 ftHutton Branch$27
RABC011standard electric60 ft30 amp57 ft261 ftHutton Branch$27
RABC012type not stated25 ft30 amp254 ft
RABC013standard electric35 ft30 amp61 ft321 ftHutton Branch$27
RABC014standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft284 ft$20
RABC015standard electric50 ft30 amp69 ft373 ft$27
RABC016standard nonelectric30 ft50 ft254 ft$20
RABC017standard electric40 ft30 amp69 ft327 ft$27
RABC018type not stated40 ft30 amp295 ft
RABC019standard nonelectric35 ft50 ft211 ft$20
RABC020type not stated40 ft30 amp239 ft

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today75°Areas Of Fog then Rain Showers Likely59% rain
Tonight41°Rain Showers Likely71% rain
Saturday46°Chance Rain Showers then Partly Sunny48% rain
Saturday Night30°Areas Of Frost4% rain

NWS forecast for Sugar Grove, VA

Typical weather

Typical October night 39°F, day 66°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: JEFFERSON 2 E, NC (USC00314496), 23 miles away and 29 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Raccoon Branch4,388 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Little Wilson Creek Addition B1,725 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Lewis Fork Addition749 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

H. Morgan Griffith, official portrait

Raccoon Branch Campground is in Virginia’s 9th congressional district. Its representative, H. Morgan Griffith (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To H. Morgan Griffith

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia

Dear H. Morgan Griffith,

I’m a constituent in Virginia’s 9th district. I tried to camp at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Raccoon Branch Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 9 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Raccoon Branch Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Raccoon Branch Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Raccoon Branch Campground (Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia) via campanac.com
To Mark R. Warner

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia

Dear Mark R. Warner,

I’m a constituent in Virginia. I tried to camp at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Raccoon Branch Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 9 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Raccoon Branch Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Raccoon Branch Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Raccoon Branch Campground (Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia) via campanac.com
To Tim Kaine

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia

Dear Tim Kaine,

I’m a constituent in Virginia. I tried to camp at Raccoon Branch Campground, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 17 of the 20 campsites the agency files at Raccoon Branch Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 9 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Raccoon Branch Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Raccoon Branch Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Raccoon Branch Campground (Mount Rogers National Recreation Area, Virginia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Sugar Grove, VA, 0.5 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.