Riverside West
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $20–$22Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 3226 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices
In the agency’s own words
Riverside West Campground is located on the west bank of the Neosho River in the hills of Kansas. This 168-acre park is part of the John Redmond Reservoir and offers countless water sports and activities for outdoor enthusiasts. Check-in time is 4 p.m. and Check-out time is 3 p.m. Camping along the river or wingwall is not permitted. Keep reading
Recreation
With nearly 10,000 acres of water and 30,000 acres of land, John Redmond Reservoir provides excellent opportunities for fishing and hunting. White crappie, white bass, channel catfish, flathead catfish and various sunfish species can be found in abundance. Several trails wind through the hills and along the shore. The Otter Creek ATV area is located at the west end of the dam and provides 140 acres of trails for dirt bikes and ATVs. The area is open from sunrise to sunset.
Facilities
Riverside West Campground features 25 campsites, along with one large reservable picnic shelter.
Natural Features
John Redmond Reservoir sits in the broad Neosho River Valley. The rolling hills afford the visitor an opportunity to see acres of agriculture and grassland, with vast fields of wheat and corn. Large areas of grasses including bluestem, Indian grass and switch grass can be seen from the rolling hilltops. The lower areas provide a wooded cover of elm, black walnut, hickory, ash, hackberry, cottonwood and cedar.
Nearby Attractions
The nearby town of Burlington, Kansas, provides gas, grocery and hospital services.
What the agency tells you
New Changes in 2024: Check-in time will now be at 3 p.m., Check-out time will now be at 4 p.m.
Three camping units are allowed per campsite, only one may be an RV/Camper unit OR 3 tents. Only one camping unit may be plugged into the electric service.
Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. All park visitors who are not camping must depart prior to 10 p.m.
Everything else this campground posts · 5
Pets must be kept contained at all times (i.e. 6ft leash or pen). It is a violation to leave pets unattended.
Help keep your parks operating at their best - Please report issues and concerns with any of the facilities to a park ranger or gate attendant. For emergencies call Coffey County Sheriff Office at (620) 364-2123.
Help protect your public property by leaving them better than when you arrived. Trash receptacles are available throughout the parks. Please throw away any discarded materials in these locations; campsite fire rings are not to be used as trash cans. Dumping of household trash is not permissible.
ALL motorized vehicles (including golf carts, atvs and utvs) must be licensed and tagged to operate on Corps roadways. An Off-Road Vehicle park is located at Otter Creek; maximum wheel-base width of 60-inches. DOT approved helmets are required for ALL riders and passengers.
Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 32
- Hookups
- 25 electric, 30 water
- Longest rig
- 60 ft
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Flush Toilets
- ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 1 of 33 campsite records
- Drinking water
- Yes
- WATER SPIGOT on 1 of 33 campsite records
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Reservoir, River, Creek
- Biking
- Birding
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Night sky · 20th darkest of 57 in KS
- Bortle 4
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 26 of the 32 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 15
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$22 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
33 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 26 mapped sitesAll 33 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 32 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| MAIN | 007 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 81 ft | 312 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 008 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 81 ft | 320 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 009 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 95 ft | 155 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 010 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 95 ft | 96 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 011 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 95 ft | 82 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 011 closed | type not stated | 25 ft | 30 amp | 439 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| MAIN | 012 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 81 ft | 175 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 013 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 70 ft | 169 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 014 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 98 ft | 64 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 015 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 90 ft | 46 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 016 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 70 ft | 169 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 017 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 90 ft | 44 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 018 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 97 ft | 63 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 019 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 97 ft | 159 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | 020 | standard electric | 20/30/50 amp | 125 ft | 60 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| MAIN | Day Use Shelter 6 | day use | 30 amp | yes | 199 ft | 358 ftNeosho River | $25 | |
| OCHA | 001 | standard electric | 60 ft | 20/30/50 amp | 109 ft | 556 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | |
| OCHA | 002 | standard electric | 55 ft | 20/30/50 amp | 109 ft | 466 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | |
| OCHA | 003 | standard electric | 60 ft | 20/30/50 amp | 135 ft | 397 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | |
| OCHA | 003 closed | type not stated | 45 ft | 30 amp | 430 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| OCHA | 004 | standard electric | 40 ft | 20/30 amp | 97 ft | 21 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | |
| OCHA | 005 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 97 ft | 68 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| OCHA | 005 closed | type not stated | 50 ft | 30 amp | 25 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| OCHA | 006 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 109 ft | 65 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| OCHA | 007 closed | type not stated | 43 ft | 30 amp | 83 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| OCHA | 009 closed | type not stated | 48 ft | 30 amp | 68 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| RWES | 021 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 140 ft | 68 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| RWES | 022 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 266 ft | 56 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| RWES | 023 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 124 ft | 56 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| RWES | 024 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 89 ft | 42 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| RWES | 025 | standard electric | 20/30 amp | 89 ft | 21 ftNeosho River | $20–$22 | ||
| RWES | 027 closed | type not stated | 30 ft | 30 amp | 69 ftNeosho River | $18 | ||
| RWES | 032 closed | type not stated | 40 ft | 30 amp | 11 ftNeosho River | $18 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
25 of 33 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Riverside East1.0 mi
Dam Site1.7 mi
Arrow Rock18 mi
Turkey Point19 mi
Coeur D'alene19 mi
Outlet(Melvern)20 miFrom Burlington, Kansas, take US 75 north for about 3.5 miles, then turn west onto Embankment Road and continue for 2.5 miles and follow signs to park entrance.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Burlington, KS
Typical weather
Typical October night 46°F, day 70°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 19°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Riverside West is in Kansas’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Derek Schmidt (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →