1Heads up1 fire 11 mi away
Wildfire
Cyrus fire · 11 mi away · 543 acres · 95% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 21 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:10 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:10 UTC
A night
$36–$144Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3227 on recreation.gov
50 ftLongest rig
2,280 ftElevation
106 ftWater · Clear Creek
1.3 miW of Bodfish, CA
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Sandy Flat Campground is set back from the Lower Kern River at an altitude of 2,300 feet near the town of Lake Isabella. Campsites are a short walk from the river, offering countless recreational opportunities for visitors. Keep reading

Recreation

Hiking, trout fishing, river wading and floating are popular pursuits. The Hobo Fishing Trail, a short walking trail, is nearby. Click here to learn more about the Lower Kern River, including safety and permitting requirements and a listing of local outfitters.

Facilities

Campsites are set along one loop in largely open sites. Large boulders, relics of the ice age, are scattered throughout the campground. River access is in the day camp area. Drinking water, picnic areas and vault toilets are provided.

Natural Features

The Sequoia National Forest, located at the southern end of the Sierra Nevada in central California, takes its name from the giant sequoia, the world's largest tree, which grows in more than 30 groves on the Forest's lower slopes. The Forest comprises about 1.1 million acres, and elevations range from about 1,000 to 12,000 feet, creating precipitous canyons and mountain streams with spectacular waterfalls such as Salmon Creek Falls and Grizzly Falls.

Nearby Attractions

The Giant Sequoia Mercantile offers a wide variety of books, maps, gifts, local art, camping supplies and other merchandise. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (760) 376-1269.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Six people per site including children

Rule

Hookups are not available

Rule

River views are limited due to bank overgrowth

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

In accordance with standard industry practices, ExplorUS will be assessing an additional vehicle fee of $8.00 per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered to be one vehicle and the third and fourth are also considered to be one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles.

Rule

Click here for more info about the Sequoia National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Site length includes tow vehicle

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
32 · 8 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
50 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…area. Drinking water, picnic areas and vault toilets are provided. Natural Features The Sequoia National…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…River access is in the day camp area. Drinking water, picnic areas and vault toilets are provided.…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, River, Creek
Fishing
Night sky · 921st darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:10 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 21 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 27 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 16:10 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$36–$144plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$80–$296DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$36–$144
Standard Nonelectric$36
Tent Only Nonelectric$36
Standard Nonelectric-Double$72
Standard Nonelectric-Quad$144
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$8

“In accordance with standard industry practices, ExplorUS will be assessing an additional vehicle fee of $8.00 per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle in any…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$44–$152
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$80–$296

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $36–$144 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:10 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

32 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 27 mapped sites
58 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room017 20 ft018 20 ft019 34 ft

All 32 sites

32 of 32 sites located
Standard19Tent only8Type not stated5
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 27 of the 32 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

SANDY FLAT001type not stated25 ft3,346 ft
SANDY FLAT002type not stated40 ft3,399 ft
SANDY FLAT003type not stated40 ft3,448 ft
SANDY FLAT004type not stated30 ft3,367 ft
SANDY FLAT005type not stated35 ft3,311 ft
SANDY FLAT006standard nonelectric25 ft56 ft3,368 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT007standard nonelectric45 ft56 ft3,423 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT009standard nonelectric20 ft85 ft3,604 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT010standard nonelectric30 ft85 ft3,593 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT011standard nonelectric35 ft41 ft3,712 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT012standard nonelectric35 ft41 ft3,752 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT013standard nonelectric35 ft54 ft3,805 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT014standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft3,751 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT015tent only nonelectric20 ft42 ft3,828 ft$36
SANDY FLAT016tent only nonelectric20 ft42 ft3,811 ft$36
SANDY FLAT017tent only nonelectric20 ft20 ft3,796 ft$36
SANDY FLAT018tent only nonelectric20 ft20 ft3,784 ft$36
SANDY FLAT019tent only nonelectric20 ft34 ft3,771 ft$36
SANDY FLAT020tent only nonelectric20 ft58 ft3,707 ft$36
SANDY FLAT021standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft3,670 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT022standard nonelectric50 ft95 ft3,608 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT023standard nonelectric30 ft68 ft3,504 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT025standard nonelectric30 ft68 ft3,441 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT026standard nonelectric20 ft96 ft3,307 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT027standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft3,341 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT028standard nonelectric25 ft76 ft3,208 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT029standard nonelectric35 ft83 ft3,233 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT030standard nonelectric25 ft75 ft3,157 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT031tent only nonelectric15 ft58 ft3,182 ft$36
SANDY FLAT032standard nonelectric50 ft41 ft3,149 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT033standard nonelectric30 ft75 ft3,112 ft$36–$144
SANDY FLAT034tent only nonelectric20 ft41 ft3,116 ft$36

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 32 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.57471, -118.52993
The phone760-376-1815
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Highway 99, take Highway 178 east for 4 miles. Turn right on Borel Road, then right onto the Old Canyon Road. Continue about 2 miles, then turn right into Sandy Flats Campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon79°Sunny
Tonight60°Clear
Saturday79°Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night56°Clear

NWS forecast for Bodfish, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 38°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GLENNVILLE, CA (USC00043463), 14 miles away and 860 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Greenhorn Creek28,226 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mill Creek27,643 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Vince Fong, official portrait

Sandy Flat is in California’s 20th congressional district. Its representative, Vince Fong (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Vince Fong

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California

Dear Vince Fong,

I’m a constituent in California’s 20th district. I tried to camp at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Sandy Flat, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 21 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sandy Flat keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sandy Flat. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sandy Flat (Sequoia National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Sandy Flat, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 21 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sandy Flat keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sandy Flat. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sandy Flat (Sequoia National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Sandy Flat, Sequoia National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Sandy Flat, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 21 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Sandy Flat keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Sandy Flat. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Sandy Flat (Sequoia National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.