National Park Service · Channel Islands National Park · CA

Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 41 mi
Wildfire
Cornell fire · 41 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Bryson fire · 49 mi away · 200 acres · 0% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 6 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:42 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 16 of the next 16 nights read 15:42 UTC
A night
$15From, per site
Sites
76 on recreation.gov
20 ftElevation
7.7 miWater · an unnamed streamOcean · 898 ft · to the Pacific Ocean
23.1 miS of Santa Barbara, CA
39%Tree cover
Bortle 3Night sky · 696th darkest of 1,201 in CA

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Prisoners Harbor Campground is located near the shoreline, and with a maximum capacity of 24 people, it offers a quieter experience than the larger campground at Scorpion. The campground is a short hike from the pier and is sheltered from harsh ocean winds. As you explore this area, please respect the property boundary and help protect and preserve these delicate resources for future generations. Santa Cruz Island, the largest of California’s Channel Islands, is one of the five islands that make up Channel Islands National Park. Keep reading

The island is rich in cultural history, magnificent landscapes, and unique flora and fauna. Native American peoples inhabited the island for over 10,000 years, and Europeans explored and ranched on the island for more than 150 years. More than 600 plant species, 140 land birds, 11 land mammals, and a variety of amphibians and reptiles call the island home. The island fox and island scrub‑jay are especially exciting finds, as they are unique to Santa Cruz Island and found nowhere else in the world.

Recreation

From Prisoners Harbor, the campground is only 0.3 miles from the pier. The road does follow a road which passes through a seasonal creek. While the campground has an accessible site and an accessible toilet, transportation to the campground requires use of a ladder and on an uneven road. This road is still used daily by vehicles, so please use caution while hiking along it. During winter and spring, visitors need to be prepared for a wet creek crossing at Canada del Puerto in Prisoner's Harbor. From Scorpion Anchorage, the campground is approximately 14 miles via the Navy Road. Beach access is at Prisoners Harbor. Recreational activities on Santa Cruz Island include hiking, swimming, snorkeling, diving, kayaking and wildlife/wildflower viewing. There are no services on the island, so all gear has to be brought to the island. For more information about recreational activities in the park, visit https://www.nps.gov/chis/planyourvisit/index.htm .

Facilities

The Prisoners Harbor Campground has six primitive campsites (four persons per site) and users must camp within these designated sites. Each site is 8 feet by 20 feet; smaller tents are appropriate for this location. A picnic table, food storage, and vault toilet are provided. Visitors are encouraged to pack as light as possible as they will need to carry all of their gear, food and water to the campsite. Water is not available. Access to the island is by Island Packers Cruises or by private boat.

Natural Features

The Prisoners Harbor Campground is nestled in a shaded oak grove. The largest of California's Channel Islands, Santa Cruz Island is one of the five islands that make up the Channel Islands National Park. The island is rich in cultural history, magnificent landscapes, and unique flora and fauna. Native American Indians inhabited the island for over 10,000 years and Europeans explored and ranched on the island for over 150 years. Over 600 plant species, 140 land birds, 11 land mammals and a handful of amphibians and reptiles call the island their home. The island fox and island scrub-jay are exciting finds, as they're unique to the island, found nowhere else in the world.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Prisoner's Harbor on Santa Island may only be reached by boat. Visitors are required to arrange transportation to the island before reserving a campsite. Contact Island Packers the park's authorized concessioner or bring your own private boat.

Rule

The Pelican Bay Trail is on land owned by The Nature Conservancy (TNC). It is only open to Island Packers (IPCO) passengers who have signed the required waiver and are hiking during the hours an IPCO naturalist guide is present between IPCO arrival and departure at Prisoners Harbor. All other entry onto TNC property is not permitted.

Rule

Camping reservations are required prior to arriving on the island. There are NO walk-ups at this facility.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

One party or group may reserve a maximum of 2 individual sites per visit. There are 6 individual campsites. Max 4 people per site. Campsites are 8 feet by 20 feet which includes a picnic table.

Rule

Upon arrival, receive an orientation at the pier. However, park staff is not always available on the island. Please have confirmation letter, receipt, or campsite number with you.

Rule

1/4 mile from the pier to the campground. Visitors must carry all their own gear. During winter and spring, campers will need to be prepared for a wet creek crossing at Canada del Puerto in Prisoner's Harbor. Visitors may have to wade through fast moving water up to 2 feet deep.

Rule

Primitive camping. Tent camping only, no electricity/water/sewer site hook-ups at this campground. Bring low profile tents and extra food for weather delays. Picnic table and food storage box provided. No stores or services.

Rule

Quiet time is enforced at 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. Check-in and check-out times are at 11:00 a.m.

Rule

Proper food and trash storage is required. Food/trash storage lockers are provided at each site. Recommend hard-sided container (i.e., action packer) to further protect food/garbage from animals.

Rule

Visitors are required to pack out what they pack in, including garbage.

Rule

Smoking is only allowed on the beach. No campfires or charcoal fires. Only enclosed gas camp stoves are allowed.

Rule

Avoid contact with deer mice. Hantavirus has been found in island deer mice. For more information visit: https://www.nps.gov/chis/planyourvisit/hantavirus.htm

Rule

To help prevent the introduction of nonnative species the following items may not be brought to the park: pets; live or potted plants; soil; cut flowers; firewood or any untreated, unfinished wood (including hiking sticks); corrugated boxes; tools or equipment with attached soil; motorized vehicles; bicycles; and single-use plastic grocery bags. Prior to departure, visitors are required to use pest-proof packing materials, inspect and clean their gear and shoes of all soil, seeds, and insects. Learn more about biosecurity and watch the required video at Protect Your Park Through Biosecurity

Rule

No fishing in marine reserves. California fishing license and ocean enhancement sticker required to fish outside marine reserves.

Rule

Watersports: Due to the strong, persistent wind, swimming, snorkeling, diving, and kayaking are limited and recommended for the experienced visitor only. Ocean conditions can rapidly change, requiring expert abilities. Ocean kayaking is an inherently dangerous activity. Always check weather and do not kayak beyond your experience level.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
7 · 6 tent-only
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
1
Campfires
Not allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…A picnic table, food storage, and vault toilet are provided. Visitors are encouraged to pack as…”
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…gear, food and water to the campsite. Water is not available. Access to the island is by Island Packers Cruises…”

Around the campground

On the water
Creek, Beach, Coast
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:42 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

3 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:14 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 6 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 3 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:42 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. The season after it isn't published yet.recreation.gov
A night$15plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$15
Tent Only Nonelectric$15
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Aug 27, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 3

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:14 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:42 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

7 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 6 mapped sites
56 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomPrisoner's Harbor Area 003 41 ftPrisoner's Harbor Area 004 41 ftPrisoner's Harbor Area 005 56 ft

All 7 sites

7 of 7 sites located
Tent only6Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 7 of the 7 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 6 of the 7 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Prisoner's Harbor Area001tent only nonelectric120 ft7.7 mi659 ft$15
Prisoner's Harbor Area002type not stated7.7 mi665 ft
Prisoner's Harbor Area003tent only nonelectric41 ft7.7 mi666 ft$15
Prisoner's Harbor Area004tent only nonelectric41 ft7.7 mi670 ft$15
Prisoner's Harbor Area005tent only nonelectric56 ft7.7 mi704 ft$15
Prisoner's Harbor Area006tent only nonelectric56 ft7.7 mi669 ft$15
Prisoner's Harbor Area007tent only nonelectricyes116 ft7.7 mi570 ft$15

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.01734, -119.68211
The phone805-658-5730
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Prisoner's Harbor on Santa Island may only be reached by boat. Visitors are required to arrange transportation to the island before reserving a campsite. Contact Island Packers the park's authorized concessioner or bring your own private boat.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today86°Sunny1% rain
Tonight75°Mostly Clear1% rain
Saturday85°Sunny
Saturday Night69°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Santa Barbara, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 56°F, day 76°F.

90°40°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SANTA BARBARA, CA (USC00047902), 28 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Salud Carbajal, official portrait

Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor is in California’s 24th congressional district. Its representative, Salud Carbajal (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Salud O. Carbajal

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California

Dear Salud O. Carbajal,

I’m a constituent in California’s 24th district. I tried to camp at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 6 of the 7 campsites the agency files at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 6 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor (Channel Islands National Park, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 6 of the 7 campsites the agency files at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 6 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor (Channel Islands National Park, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, Channel Islands National Park, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 6 of the 7 campsites the agency files at Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 6 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Santa Cruz Island Prisoners Harbor (Channel Islands National Park, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 16 of the next 16 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.