1Heads up1 fire 28 mi away
Wildfire
Willow fire · 28 mi away · 7,359 acres · 92% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 15. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$22From, per site
Sites
41 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 10,490 ft · 50% tree cover · water within reach · Bortle 4 sky
10,490 ftElevation
605 ftWater · an unnamed stream
5.1 miSE of Blue River, CO
50%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 411th darkest of 522 in CO

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Facilities

Selkirk Campground is located eight miles north of Como off CR 50 and CR 33. It has 15 campsites with a maximum trailer length of 25 feet. Facilities include toilets, tables, and fire rings, but no trash services. The elevation is 10,500 feet. There is no water available at this location. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Selkirk Campground is located eight miles north of Como off CR 50 and CR 33.  It has 15 campsites with a maximum trailer length of 25 feet.  Camping season begins in May and continues until the road is snowed in. This is a "Pack It In - Pack It Out Facility! The elevation is 10,500 feet.

Rule

Two vehicles or one RV per site is included in the camping fee. $11.00 for a third vehicle. $11.00 fee for day use if not camping overnight.

Rule

Campfires are restricted to fire rings only. Be sure campfire is completely extinguished before leaving.  Maximum of eight people per site.  Facility roads are not paved.  No more than a 14-night consecutive stay.  Dogs, including service dogs, must always be leashed.  No discharge of firearms or fireworks  Quiet hours from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

There is No Water available at this location. Bring all the water that you will need for your stay.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
4
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
“Facilities include toilets, tables, and fire rings, but no trash services.”
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…services. The elevation is 10,500 feet. There is no water available at this location. Contact Info For…”

Around the campground

Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 13 km away
Peak color
Source: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (13 km) · Oct 3, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 1 of the 4 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 15, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$22plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$52DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itRocky Mountain Recreation CompanyA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Service (parent: ExplorUS)the operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$22
ScanPay 1$22
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 11, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$30
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$52

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $22 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

4 sites · the site map

All 4 sites

1 of 4 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 1 of the 4 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric605 ft$22

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight14°Mostly Clear
Friday46°Sunny
Friday Night22°Clear
Saturday56°Sunny

NWS forecast for Blue River, CO

Typical weather

Typical October night 21°F, day 47°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CLIMAX, CO (USC00051660), 13 miles away and 854 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Boreas Mountain5,306 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mount Silverheels6,562 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Hoosier Ridge6,061 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Brittany Pettersen, official portrait

Selkirk is in Colorado’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Brittany Pettersen (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (13 km) · Oct 3, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.