Bureau of Land Management · Salmon Field Office · ID

Shoup Bridge Campground

ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 16. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$15From, per site
Sites
16All of them booked ahead
4,040 ftElevation
171 ftWater · Salmon River
4.2 miS of Salmon, ID
0%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 298th darkest of 523 in ID

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Shoup Bridge Campground is an easily accessible, paved RV-friendly campground that offers numerous riverfront sites. The mature cottonwood trees provide all sites ample shade for those hot summer days and the sound of the Salmon River running by will entice you to stay longer than you planned. The site is named after George Shoup, the first Governor of Idaho, who later became a U.S. Senator. The campground’s boat ramp is a popular launch site for rafters and anglers. Keep reading

Recreation

Shoup Bridge Campground offers many recreation opportunities including river access for rating, fishing, tubing, and swimming. The campground sits at the end of a 5-mile paved non-motorized path that leads into the town of Salmon. The surrounding area offers a multitude of recreation opportunities including motorized and non-motorized trails, hunting, fishing, and wildlife viewing.

Facilities

Shoup Bridge Campground offers 8 campsites for both RV and tent camping. Potable water, vault toilets, picnic tables, fire rings, and ample shade are available at all sites. Campground offers scenic riverfront benches and a bicycle repair station. Campground host onsite from Memorial Day through Labor Day.

Natural Features

The Salmon River runs adjacent to the campground and the mature cottonwood trees provide plenty of shade and wildlife habitat. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (208) 756-5400.

Nearby Attractions

Highway 93 Pathway Williams Lake Campground Salmon River Charges & Cancellations No changes/cancellations/refunds are allowed as all fees are paid either on-site or through the Recreation.gov Scan & Pay App.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The campground has first-come, first-served sites.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from area after eating.

Rule

No electric, water, or sewer hookups at this campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Livestock and firearms prohibited in campground.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
16
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…both RV and tent camping. Potable water, vault toilets, picnic tables, fire rings, and ample shade are…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…campsites for both RV and tent camping. Potable water, vault toilets, picnic tables, fire rings, and…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River
Biking
Birding
Fishing
Mountain biking
Non-Motorized Boating
Rafting
Tubing
Water access
Whitewater rafting
Wildlife viewing
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:33 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$15plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itBureau of Land ManagementBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceBureau of Land Management
A night$15
Shoup Bridge Daily Campsite$15
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Fees may be paid on-site using fee envelopes or with the Recreation.gov Scan & Pay App.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“Campsite nightly rates are $5/site and $2 per additional vehicle.” · the Bureau of Land Management’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“No changes/cancellations/refunds are allowed as all fees are paid either on-site or through the Recreation.gov Scan & Pay App.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

recreation.gov availability, read 15:33 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

16 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 5 mapped sites
69 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomSite #4 42 ftSite #5 42 ftSite #2 69 ft

All 16 sites

10 of 16 sites located
Standard5Type not stated5
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 10 of the 16 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 16 of the 16 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Shoup BridgeSite #6standard nonelectric$15
Shoup BridgeSite #6 Extra Vehicletype not stated$2
Shoup BridgeSite #7standard nonelectric$15
Shoup BridgeSite #7 Extra Vehicletype not stated$2
Shoup BridgeSite #8standard nonelectric$15
Shoup BridgeSite #8 Extra Vehicletype not stated$2
Site #1standard nonelectric101 ft79 ft162 ft$15
Site #1 Extra Vehicletype not stated79 ft162 ft$2
Site #2standard nonelectric69 ft101 ft110 ft$15
Site #2 Extra Vehicletype not stated101 ft110 ft$2
Site #3standard nonelectric69 ft55 ft163 ft$15
Site #3 Extra Vehicletype not stated55 ft163 ft$2
Site #4standard nonelectric42 ft94 ft151 ft$15
Site #4 Extra Vehicletype not stated94 ft151 ft$2
Site #5standard nonelectric42 ft116 ft162 ft$15
Site #5 Extra Vehicletype not stated116 ft162 ft$2

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight33°Partly Cloudy
Saturday70°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night33°Partly Cloudy
Sunday66°Sunny

NWS forecast for Salmon, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 58°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 11°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SALMON-KSRA, ID (USC00108080), 5 miles away and 87 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Sal Mountain13,963 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Perreau Creek8,164 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Jesse Creek13,994 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Simpson, official portrait

Shoup Bridge Campground is in Idaho’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Simpson (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Bureau of Land Management publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate.
Cell signal: the BLM’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.