Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 15:59 UTC
Right now
Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 15:59 UTC
A night
$26When it reopens, per site
Sites
31In the agency’s record
123 ftLongest rig
100 ftElevation
173 ftWater · Lias Creek
2.4 miS of Selmont-West Selmont, AL
82%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Six Mile Creek Campground is located on its namesake at scenic Dannelly Reservoir in Alabama's Black Prairie Belt. The reservoir sits on the Alabama River and covers roughly 27 square miles, boasting more than 500 miles of shoreline. Boating, fishing, hunting and hiking are popular activities. Keep reading

Recreation

The creek offers excellent fishing for bass, crappie, bluegill and catfish, and numerous fishing tournaments and annual festivals are held in the immediate area. Whitetail deer and wild turkeys roam the park, creating excellent bow-hunting opportunities.

Facilities

This peaceful waterfront campground is open from April - Labor Day and offers 31 family sites with electric hookups. Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat dock.

Natural Features

The Black Prairie Belt is characterized by rich, dark soils and a mosaic of rolling grasslands and dense hardwood and pine forests.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Park phone number is 334-875-6228

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.  Shelters are reservable or first come first serve.

Rule

Day Use Area open 8:00am- 7:00pm Shelter reservations must be made in advance   Clean area before leaving No amplified audio devices Park in designated areas only Activities above and beyond a routine picnic will require a special events permit If you have questions please call 334-872-9554

Tents and rigs

Sites
31
Hookups
30 electric, 31 water
Longest rig
123 ft
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…with electric hookups. Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat dock.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat dock. Natural Features The…”
Dump station
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, River, Creek, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hunting
Night sky · 24th darkest of 41 in AL
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing to book until it reopensread 15:59 UTC

recreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night, when it reopens$26plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
What’s open near here
Tell me when it reopens

Watch for it to come back

One email when the agency reopens it, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check the agency’s own record once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time it stops saying closed.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the agency reopens it.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, when it reopens$26
Standard Electric$26
Group area, a night$60
The agency has already scheduled a change from Jan 1, 2027: $28 a night.
These are next season’s rates, Apr 1, 2027 to Sep 8, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 4
Why this page can’t say why

recreation.gov lists every site at Six Mile Creek closed this Friday and Saturday night. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has published no closure notice we hold, so this page can’t say why, and it won’t fill the gap with a guess. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one: the reservations its record still carries were taken before the sites were closed.

Closure: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers status record · Oct 17, 2026

There’s no notice to quote and no reason to argue with, so this page offers you the watch and the list below, and no letter.

Open within 60 miles · 1

The agency’s own word that these are open, not our reading of a season.

Open near here: Agency-published status, in the CAMPANAC campground index · Oct 17, 2026

recreation.gov availability, read 15:59 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

33 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 30 mapped sites
77 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop OAKV 06 52 ftLoop OAKV 07 52 ftLoop OAKV 04 52 ft

All 33 records

31 of 33 records located
RV / electric30Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 30 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

OAKV01standard electric64 ft50 amp106 ft229 ft$26
OAKV02standard electric73 ft50 amp65 ft145 ft$26
OAKV03standard electric82 ft50 amp65 ft111 ft$26
OAKV04standard electric52 ft50 amp52 ft71 ft$26
OAKV05standard electric55 ft50 amp52 ft34 ft$26
OAKV06standard electric95 ft50 amp52 ft15 ft$26
OAKV07standard electric110 ft50 amp52 ft27 ft$26
OAKV08standard electric61 ft50 amp64 ft86 ft$26
OAKV09standard electric48 ft50 amp100 ft73 ft$26
OAKV10standard electric54 ft50 amp69 ft80 ft$26
OAKV11standard electric71 ft50 amp69 ft121 ft$26
OAKV12standard electric68 ft50 amp71 ft104 ft$26
OAKV13standard electric59 ft50 amp71 ft103 ft$26
OAKV14standard electric59 ft50 amp96 ft77 ft$26
PINE15standard electric90 ft50 amp92 ft191 ftAlabama River$26
PINE16standard electric94 ft50 amp58 ft99 ftAlabama River$26
PINE17standard electric75 ft50 amp58 ft42 ftAlabama River$26
PINE18standard electric74 ft50 amp83 ftunder 10 ftAlabama River$26
PINE19standard electric72 ft50 amp91 ftunder 10 ftAlabama River$26
PINE20type not stated123 ft50 ampunder 10 ftAlabama River
PINE21standard electric123 ft50 amp125 ft46 ftAlabama River$26
PINE22standard electric66 ft50 amp135 ft149 ftAlabama River$26
PINE23standard electric63 ft50 amp92 ft81 ftAlabama River$26
PINE24standard electric55 ft50 amp83 ft74 ftAlabama River$26
PINE25standard electric56 ft50 amp83 ft73 ftAlabama River$26
PINE26standard electric73 ft50 amp87 ft153 ftAlabama River$26
PINE27standard electric61 ft50 amp86 ft83 ftAlabama River$26
PINE28standard electric73 ft50 amp88 ft152 ftAlabama River$26
PINE29standard electric62 ft50 ampyes60 ft111 ft$26
PINE30standard electric84 ft50 ampyes60 ft131 ft$26
PINE31standard electric76 ft50 ampyes88 ft191 ft$26
Six Mile CreekShelter Large (A090)day use99 ft$60
Six Mile CreekShelter Small (053)day use99 ft$60

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 33 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate32.32417, -87.01583
The phone334-872-9554
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Selma, Alabama, follow US-41 south for 9 miles. Turn right on County Road 139 and follow the signs into the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight48°Partly Cloudy7% rain
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night46°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny

NWS forecast for Selmont-West Selmont, AL

Typical weather

Typical October night 52°F, day 78°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 35°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SELMA 6 SSE, AL (USW00063897), 2 miles away and 57 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Terri Sewell, official portrait

Six Mile Creek is in Alabama’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Terri Sewell (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov lists every site here closed on Friday and Saturday night (read 15:59 UTC). U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has published no closure notice we hold, so the reason isn’t on this page. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one, and the reservations the record still carries predate the closure. That reading is ours, off the agency’s own booking record.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.