Bureau of Land Management · Coos Bay Myrtlewood Field Office · OR

Sixes River Campground OR

1Heads up1 fire 34 mi away
Wildfire
W Fork Whiskey Creek fire · 34 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
ReservableOut of season; the next season isn't published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
Sites
43 on recreation.gov
290 ftElevation
280 ftWater · an unnamed streamOcean · 9.6 mi · to the Pacific Ocean
19.2 miSW of Myrtle Point, OR
73%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 198th darkest of 770 in OR

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Sixes River Campground offers 19 campsites tucked into a forested hideaway along the Sixes River. It’s an excellent destination for picnicking, swimming, and wildlife viewing. Keep reading

Recreation

Popular activities at the campground include camping, fishing, sightseeing, gold panning, and water play.

Natural Features

Sixes River Campground is shaded by towering big-leaf maple, oak, and Douglas-fir trees that provide abundant cover throughout the campground.

Nearby Attractions

The area provides warm temperatures and easy access to nearby coastal attractions. Cape Blanco Lighthouse, New River Nature Center, Oregon State Parks, and several coastal beaches are nearby.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The campground is open from Memorial Day to September 30th, each year.

Rule

The campground is first-come, first-served.

Rule

There are no electrical, water or sewer hook-ups.

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Dogs must be on 6-foot leash at all times.

Rule

Poison oak is common in the campground; so look for and avoid the distinctive, glossy leaves with three leaflets.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
4
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River, Beach
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 3 of the 4 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. The last reservable season the agency published ended September 29, 2026, and it hasn't published the next one.recreation.gov
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itBureau of Land ManagementBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 10

What you actually pay

The sign priceBureau of Land Management
The Bureau of Land Management publishes no per-night rate for this campground that we can read, so there’s no sign price to print. That’s a gap in the record, not a free campground.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“Camping $16.00 Single Campsite $8.00 Additional Vehicle (Online reservations may incur additional fees ) Day Use $6.00 Day use NOTICE: You may also pay through the Scan & Pay feature in the Recreation.gov app (please…” · the Bureau of Land Management’s own fee record

What a stay costs
The agency publishes no nightly rate for this campground, so there’s nothing to add the $8 booking fee to. We won’t total a receipt with a number missing from it.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · record Aug 23, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

5 records · the site map

All 5 records

5 of 5 records located
Standard2Type not stated2Day use1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Scan and PayScanPay 2standard nonelectric280 ft
Scan and PayScanPay 3day use280 ft
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated280 ft
Scan and PayScanPay 5type not stated280 ft
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric280 ft

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate42.80504, -124.31270
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Coming from Northbound on U.S. 101: To Reach Sixes River Campground, travel five miles north of Port Orford, Oregon, and turn right onto Sixes River Road and travel approximately 11 miles. 

Coming Southbound on U.S. 101: Travel 25 miles south of Bandon, Oregon and turn left on to Sixes River Road and travel approximately 11 miles.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today80°Sunny
Tonight53°Partly Cloudy4% rain
Saturday67°Partly Sunny6% rain
Saturday Night46°Partly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Port Orford, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 63°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 41°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

80°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PORT ORFORD #2, OR (USC00356784), 10 miles away and 248 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Grassy Knob5,672 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Copper Mountain8,789 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Sixes River Campground OR is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Bureau of Land Management publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the BLM’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Port Orford, OR, 9.4 mi ENE. Straight line.