National Park Service · Zion National Park · UT

South Campground (UT)

5Heads uppark alerts
Caution
Toxic cyanobacteria in rivers, streams, and pools Do not submerge your head in or drink instream water in Zion National Park.
Information
Please park legally and responsibly Zion has limited parking. Once parking spaces in Zion are full, visitors should park in Springdale. Please park only in designated spaces. Vehicles parked outside of designated spaces are subject to citation and towing.
Caution
Large vehicle restrictions on Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway Vehicles that exceed length, width, height, or weight limits cannot travel between Canyon Junction and the park's East Entrance. See the current limits on the page linked below.
Park Closure
Watchman Trail closed The Watchman Trail is closed pending repairs.
Information
Angels Landing Pilot Permit Program All hikers need a permit to hike Angels Landing. Learn why you need a permit and how to get one using the link below.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 124 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:55 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 17 of the next 17 nights read 16:55 UTC
A night
$35From, per site
Sites
128124 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
3,920 ftElevation
19 ftWater · North Fork Virgin River
7 miNE of Apple Valley, UT
n/aTree cover · water-masked cell

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Reservations for South Campground are available up to 14 days before your arrival and may extend up to two days beyond this 14-day booking window. For visitors to Zion National Park, South Campground is an ideal place to stay. Located near the park's south entrance, the campground is just a short walk from the main visitor center, the Zion Canyon Shuttle System and the adjacent town of Springdale. The canyon and most of the park's trails are only accessible by shuttle bus from approximately the end of February until the end of November each year. Keep reading

Season Dates: South Campground is open from early March to the end of October. Reservations are available up to 14 days before your arrival. For example, if you want to make a reservation for March 14 to 16, you may book this reservation beginning on March 1. Reservations that extend beyond the 14 day booking window cannot be altered. For reservations more than 14 days ahead of arrival, please check Watchman Campground which offers reservations six months in advance of arrival.

Recreation

Hikers can access three trails directly from the facility: the Watchman Trail, a moderate trail that ascends the peak behind the campground; the Archeology Trail, which offers a light hike to an archeological site; and the Pa'rus Trail, a paved walking and biking trail that runs alongside the river, and the only trail in the park that allows dogs. For more information, visit the park's Zion Canyon Trail Descriptions page. The Zion Canyon Visitor Center and the Zion Canyon Shuttle System are a short walk from the campground. Many popular rock climbing routes are within a short shuttle bus ride into the main canyon. Use of OHVs and ATVs is prohibited in Zion National Park.

Facilities

Flush toilets, drinking water, picnic tables, firepits and a dump station are provided at this facility. Four group sites are available that can accommodate RVs and tents. There are no hook-ups in this campground. Generators can be used during specific hours.

Natural Features

Zion is known for its dynamic geologic history. The South Campground and Amphitheater were built by the Civilian Conservation Corp in the early 1930s. The project was completed and opened to the public in the spring of 1935. The Virgin River, a narrow but powerful river that carved out the canyon over time, runs adjacent to the campground. Cottonwood trees surrounding the campsite turn golden in the fall. Although the campground is moderately forested, most of the campsites are in partial to full sun but visitors can cool off in the cold river when temperatures peak during summer. Notice: The months of April and May bring an unusual infestation of Tent Caterpillars, which fall from trees onto tents, tables, and unsuspecting campers and can make it quite uncomfortable to sit outside. The months of July and August in particular bring a higher concentration of ants in the campsites, which seem to come out especially after the monsoons, but are present all summer long. August and September bring yellowjackets. Insecticidal treatment by visitors is not permitted.

Nearby Attractions

The town of Springdale has shopping, art galleries, shower facilities, restaurants. equipment rental businesses, gas stations, markets, bike rentals, library and health clinic.

Charges & Cancellations

Individual Site: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you modify your reservation or change your stay dates. Cancelling your reservation prior to 11:59 pm Eastern Time two nights before your stay will incur a $10 cancellation fee. Camping reservations cancelled the day before and day of arrival incur a $10 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. If you need to cancel or modify your reservation after 12:00 am Eastern Time the day of your arrival you must contact campground staff at zion_south_campground@nps.gov. Group campsite: Customers who cancel a group site reservation less than 14 days before the arrival date will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Photo ID: The primary occupant listed on the camping reservation must present a photo ID upon check-in at Zion National Park campgrounds. The name of the primary occupant cannot be changed once a reservation is made. This rule is in place due to the competitive nature of the location and to prevent visitors from re-selling sites.

Rule

Entrance fee: Zion National Park collects a separate park entrance. You may pay this fee upon arrival or purchase in advance. The park also honors valid America the Beautiful-the National Parks and Federal Recreational Lands passes (also known as interagency passes, e.g., Senior, 4th Grade, Military, etc.). Visit the park's Fees & Passes web page for details.

Rule

Pass Discounts. Lifetime Passes (e.g., Senior, Access, Golden Age Senior and Golden Age Access) may allow a 50% discount off camping. The pass must be present upon check-in with valid ID. The pass only allows a 50% discount on one site.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

VEHICLE SIZE LIMITS. There are length, height and width limits to drive on Utah State Route 9 between the East Entrance and the campgrounds. Beginning June 7, 2026, vehicles exceeding 35'9" long, 11'4" tall, and 7'10" wide will not be allowed to travel through the park on the Zion Mt Carmel Highway. Large vehicles must enter and exit through the South Entrance (Springdale) to access the campground. Large Vehicles - Zion National Park (U.S. National Park Service)

Rule

Maximum Stay. There is a 14 day maximum stay.

Rule

Generators. Generators are only allowed from 8:00 am to 10:00 am and 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Rule

No Shower or Laundry Facilities.

Rule

Hammocks. Hammocks are not allowed in any of the park's campgrounds.

Rule

Campfires. Campfires are only allowed in designated fire rings. The park will post any fire restrictions on the Current Conditions page. Campers are responsible for understanding current fire restrictions. Do not leave fires unattended. Extinguish them with water until they are cool to the touch. Wood gathering is prohibited in the park.

Rule

Food and garbage must be stored properly at all times. Food should be stored inside a vehicle or inside the food storage locker provided on each site. Garbage should be secured in the same way or be disposed of in the receptacles provided in the campground. Food is defined as food, drinks, toiletries, cosmetics, pet food and bowls, and any other scented items. Coolers, dirty stoves, grills, non-disposable tableware and cookware must be washed or stored in the same manner as food.  Feeding wildlife is strictly prohibited.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
128 · 18 walk-in
Hookups
None
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
9
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Little
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round
Drinking water
Yes
Dump station
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
River
Hiking
Night sky · 289th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 3
Cell signal · Cell signal · Park Service says
Yes
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:55 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:50 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 124 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 17 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:55 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window14 days outBookable now through October 29, 2026. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through October 30, 2026.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Mar 12 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$35
Standard Nonelectric$35
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 29, 2026 to Nov 1, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“- Individual Site: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you modify your reservation or change your stay dates. Cancelling your reservation prior to 11:59 pm Eastern Time two nights before your stay will incur a $10 cancellation fee.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:50 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:55 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

128 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 123 mapped sites
25 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomB 02 6 ftB 03 6 ftA 64 7 ft

All 128 sites

126 of 128 sites located
Standard105Walk, hike or boat in18Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 124 of the 128 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AA 01standard nonelectric45 ft55 ft315 ft$35
AA 02standard nonelectric43 ft29 ft370 ft$35
AA 03standard nonelectric50 ft18 ft397 ft$35
AA 04standard nonelectric42 ft18 ft411 ft$35
AA 05standard nonelectric45 ft37 ft442 ft$35
AA 06standard nonelectric40 ft18 ft488 ft$35
AA 07standard nonelectric37 ft18 ft497 ft$35
AA 08standard nonelectric46 ft12 ft560 ft$35
AA 09standard nonelectric28 ft12 ft573 ft$35
AA 10type not stated32 ft570 ft
AA 11standard nonelectric31 ft62 ft567 ft$35
AA 12standard nonelectric28 ft13 ft566 ft$35
AA 13standard nonelectric51 ft13 ft554 ft$35
AA 14standard nonelectric24 ft56 ft596 ft$35
AA 15standard nonelectric37 ft27 ft580 ft$35
AA 16standard nonelectric26 ft27 ft585 ft$35
AA 17standard nonelectric31 ft14 ft574 ft$35
AA 18standard nonelectric43 ft14 ft561 ft$35
AA 19standard nonelectric22 ft30 ft550 ft$35
AA 20standard nonelectric35 ft12 ft538 ft$35
AA 21standard nonelectric42 ft12 ft527 ft$35
AA 22standard nonelectric42 ft13 ft507 ft$35
AA 23standard nonelectric35 ft13 ft513 ft$35
AA 24standard nonelectric41 ft33 ft470 ft$35
AA 25standard nonelectric26 ft33 ft448 ft$35
AA 26standard nonelectric34 ft13 ft381 ft$35
AA 27standard nonelectric35 ft13 ft386 ft$35
AA 28standard nonelectric30 ft25 ft361 ft$35
AA 29standard nonelectric41 ftyes68 ft325 ft$35
AA 30standard nonelectric43 ft$35
AA 31standard nonelectric40 ftyes93 ft362 ft$35
AA 32standard nonelectric41 ft48 ft394 ft$35
AA 33standard nonelectric41 ft16 ft404 ft$35
AA 34standard nonelectric36 ft16 ft390 ft$35
AA 35standard nonelectric48 ftyes16 ft399 ft$35
AA 36standard nonelectric38 ft16 ft415 ft$35
AA 37standard nonelectric45 ft18 ft401 ft$35
AA 38standard nonelectric42 ft18 ft413 ft$35
AA 39standard nonelectric39 ft23 ft398 ft$35
AA 40standard nonelectric36 ft23 ft385 ft$35
AA 41standard nonelectric36 ft22 ft326 ft$35
AA 42standard nonelectric47 ft17 ft303 ft$35
AA 43standard nonelectric38 ft17 ft314 ft$35
AA 44standard nonelectric39 ft29 ft273 ft$35
AA 45standard nonelectric36 ft29 ft250 ft$35
AA 46standard nonelectric48 ft29 ft207 ft$35
AA 47standard nonelectric41 ft39 ft258 ft$35
AA 48standard nonelectric38 ft12 ft240 ft$35
AA 49standard nonelectric38 ft12 ft233 ft$35
AA 50standard nonelectric44 ft12 ft166 ft$35
AA 51standard nonelectric37 ft12 ft175 ft$35
AA 52standard nonelectric44 ft32 ft158 ft$35
AA 53standard nonelectric44 ft32 ft176 ft$35
AA 54type not stated33 ft175 ft
AA 55standard nonelectric32 ft28 ft173 ft$35
AA 56standard nonelectric43 ft28 ft160 ft$35
AA 57standard nonelectric34 ft63 ft157 ft$35
AA 58standard nonelectric42 ftyes22 ft174 ft$35
AA 59standard nonelectric37 ft22 ft159 ft$35
AA 60standard nonelectric44 ft12 ft177 ft$35
AA 61standard nonelectric46 ft12 ft164 ft$35
AA 62standard nonelectric41 ft29 ft178 ft$35
AA 63walk to19 ft41 ft130 ft$35
AA 64walk to19 ft7 ft143 ft$35
AA 65walk to19 ft7 ft136 ft$35
AA 66walk to19 ftyes78 ft221 ft$35
A Loop1 NEW MASTERtype not stated19 ft
BB 01standard nonelectric50 ft76 ft251 ft$35
BB 02walk to19 ft6 ft143 ft$35
BB 03walk to19 ft6 ft137 ft$35
BB 04walk to19 ft11 ft145 ft$35
BB 05walk to19 ft11 ft151 ft$35
BB 06standard nonelectric44 ft24 ft166 ft$35
BB 07standard nonelectric40 ft24 ft158 ft$35
BB 08standard nonelectric41 ft48 ft138 ft$35
BB 09standard nonelectric41 ft27 ft140 ft$35
BB 10standard nonelectric39 ft27 ft159 ft$35
BB 11standard nonelectric40 ft45 ft171 ft$35
BB 12standard nonelectric24 ft17 ft195 ft$35
BB 13standard nonelectric41 ft17 ft186 ft$35
BB 14standard nonelectric42 ft17 ft204 ft$35
BB 15standard nonelectric28 ft17 ft193 ft$35
BB 16standard nonelectric27 ft17 ft195 ft$35
BB 17standard nonelectric45 ft16 ft205 ft$35
BB 18standard nonelectric48 ft16 ft220 ft$35
BB 19standard nonelectric46 ft70 ft240 ft$35
BB 20standard nonelectric43 ft23 ft233 ft$35
BB 21standard nonelectric44 ft23 ft241 ft$35
BB 22standard nonelectric43 ft35 ft335 ft$35
BB 23standard nonelectric15 ft35 ft360 ft$35
BB 24standard nonelectric37 ft46 ft377 ft$35
BB 25standard nonelectric40 ftyes65 ft370 ft$35
BB 26standard nonelectric44 ft30 ft394 ft$35
BB 27standard nonelectric36 ft27 ft386 ft$35
BB 28standard nonelectric42 ft27 ft389 ft$35
BB 29standard nonelectric44 ft67 ft329 ft$35
BB 30standard nonelectric41 ft51 ft280 ft$35
BB 31standard nonelectric37 ft18 ft289 ft$35
BB 32standard nonelectric41 ft18 ft281 ft$35
BB 33standard nonelectric38 ft27 ft296 ft$35
BB 34standard nonelectric43 ft20 ft300 ft$35
BB 35standard nonelectric41 ftyes20 ft312 ft$35
BB 36walk to19 ft94 ft236 ft$35
BB 37walk to19 ft85 ft136 ft$35
BB 38walk to19 ft22 ft176 ft$35
BB 39walk to19 ft22 ft177 ft$35
BB 40walk to19 ft47 ft160 ft$35
BB 41walk to19 ft29 ft124 ft$35
BB 42walk to19 ft29 ft135 ft$35
BB 43walk to19 ft44 ft140 ft$35
BB 44walk to19 ft68 ft154 ft$35
BB 45walk to19 ftyes72 ft230 ft$35
BB 46standard nonelectric38 ftyes24 ft315 ft$35
BB 47standard nonelectric51 ft29 ft385 ft$35
BB 48standard nonelectric43 ft29 ft414 ft$35
BB 49standard nonelectric44 ft38 ft439 ft$35
BB 50standard nonelectric29 ft25 ft476 ft$35
BB 51standard nonelectric50 ft25 ft486 ft$35
BB 52standard nonelectric39 ft72 ft560 ft$35
BB 53standard nonelectric27 ft26 ft573 ft$35
BB 54type not stated45 ft585 ft
BB 55standard nonelectric34 ft26 ft581 ft$35
BB 56standard nonelectric30 ft53 ft567 ft$35
BB 57standard nonelectric57 ft47 ft513 ft$35
BB 58standard nonelectric42 ft45 ft468 ft$35
BB 59standard nonelectric19 ft45 ft436 ft$35
BB 60standard nonelectric36 ft20 ft391 ft$35
BB 61standard nonelectric60 ft20 ft406 ft$35

25 of 128 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.20167, -112.98556
The phone435-772-3256
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Las Vegas, St. George or other points south on Interstate 15: Travel north to Exit 16, towards Hurricane. Follow State Route 9 east for 12 miles (19 km) to La Verkin and turn right to continue on State Route 9 towards Zion National Park. After passing through Springdale, arrive at South Entrance of Zion. Take the second right after the entrance station. Stop at campground kiosk and speak with hosts to check-in and for directions to your campsite.

From Salt Lake City, Interstate 70 or other points north on Interstate 15: Travel south to Exit 27, towards Toquerville. In 6.1 miles (15.5 km) turn left onto State Route 9 towards Zion National Park. After passing through Springdale, arrive at South Entrance. Take the second right after the entrance station. Stop at campground kiosk and speak with hosts to check-in and for directions to your campsite.

From Grand Canyon National Park, Lake Powell, Kanab or other points south on U.S. 89: Travel north to State Route 9. Turn left and follow State Route 9 west for 13 miles (33 km) to the East Entrance of Zion National Park. Continue straight for 12 miles (19 km), then turn left at the sign for South Campground. Stop at campground kiosk and speak with hosts to check-in and for directions to your campsite.

From Bryce Canyon National Park, Panguitch or other points north on U.S. 89: Travel south to State Route 9. Turn right and follow State Route 9 west for 13 miles (33 km) to the East Entrance of Zion National Park. Continue straight for 12 miles (19 km), then turn left at the sign for South Campground. Stop at campground kiosk and speak with hosts to check-in and for directions to your campsite.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today76°Sunny
Tonight53°Clear
Saturday73°Sunny
Saturday Night53°Mostly Cloudy7% rain

NWS forecast for Springdale, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 78°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

110°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ZION NP, UT (USC00429717), 0.6 miles away and 118 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Celeste Maloy, official portrait

South Campground (UT) is in Utah’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Celeste Maloy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 4
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Zion National Park

Asks the National Park Service to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up, and to post what that share is.

Subject Hold back a share of sites at South Campground (UT) for campers who drive up

To the National Park Service, Zion National Park:

I tried to camp at South Campground (UT) in Utah and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 124 of the 128 campsites the agency files at South Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 124 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. South Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m asking for one specific thing: set aside a published share of the sites at South Campground (UT) as first-come, first-served, and post what that share is so it can be checked.

Somebody who drives up has no way in, and no way to find out whether they might have had one.

Sent about South Campground (UT) (Zion National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Celeste Maloy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah

Dear Celeste Maloy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 124 of the 128 campsites the agency files at South Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 124 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. South Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run South Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about South Campground (UT) (Zion National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 124 of the 128 campsites the agency files at South Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 124 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. South Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run South Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about South Campground (UT) (Zion National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at South Campground (UT), Zion National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 124 of the 128 campsites the agency files at South Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 124 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. South Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run South Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about South Campground (UT) (Zion National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 17 of the next 17 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“the agency's own site records list "CELL PHONE SERVICE" on 128 of 128 campsites here”

Nearest place of any size: Springdale, UT, 0 mi NE. Straight line.