Spruces Campground (Dixie NF)
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $23–$60Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 2823 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices
In the agency’s own words
Spruces Campground on the shores of Navajo Lake, provides a spectacular setting for boating, canoeing, camping, fishing, wildlife viewing, and photography. Take advantage of several outstanding hiking and biking trails or just relax and enjoy the cool, crisp mountain air. The popular Virgin Rim River Trail is located just .5 miles from the campground. Keep reading
Recreation
Navajo Lake offers canoeing, kayaking and fishing opportunitites. Hiking and biking are popular activities as well. Close to the nearby national parks such as Bryce Canyon, Zions and Cedar Breaks National Monument.
Facilities
The campground offers 17 single sites, and 5 double sites, all with picnic tables and fire rings. Vault toilets, drinking water and garbage receptacles are located in this campground. OHV/ATV's including street legal are allowed in the campground for ingress and egress (to and from you campsite to the road and back) only. Joy riding is not allowed within the campground. OHV/ATV's are not allowed on the beach.
Natural Features
Nestled on the edge of Navajo Lake and nearby meadow, this campground offers views of the surrounding area and lake access.
Nearby Attractions
Boat rentals, a boat ramp, rustic cabin lodging and supplies are available at nearby Navajo Lake Lodge. Duck Creek Pond is seven miles east with excellent fishing as well as a the Duck Creek visitor center. Cedar Breaks National Monument is a short 20 minute drive, with hiking trails, guided tours and breathtaking scenery. Just outside Cedar Breaks is the Ashdown Gorge Wilderness Area, where hikers will find miles of trails and the Twisted Forest trail, a stand of ancient bristlecone pine.
What the agency tells you
CHECK IN: Begins at 2 PM. CHECK OUT: By 11 AM.
OHV/ATV's including street legal are allowed for ingress and egress only (from your campsite to the road and back) Joy riding is not allowed in the campground. OHV/ATV's are not allowed on the beach.
A daily fee will be charged and collected at the campground for extra vehicles. Come prepared to pay onsite.
Everything else this campground posts · 4
Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
Any accepted senior passes must be entered for the discount at the time of booking for single sites only.
Customer Service Please Contact 801-226-3564 or Help.Dixie.CedarCity@AmericanLL.com
Click here for more information about Dixie National Forest
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 28 · 7 tent-only, 1 cabin
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 75 ft
- Paved pads
- All
- Accessible sites
- 28
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…all with picnic tables and fire rings. Vault toilets, drinking water and garbage receptacles are located…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…tables and fire rings. Vault toilets, drinking water and garbage receptacles are located in this…”
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Creek, Beach, Meadow
- Biking
- Boating
- Canoeing
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Kayaking
- Mountain biking
- Scenic drives
- Water access
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 202nd darkest of 458 in UT
- Bortle 2
- Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 14 km away
- Peak color
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 23 of the 28 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 14
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $23–$60 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
29 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 23 mapped sitesAll 29 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 20 of the 29 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| Lower | 01 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | yes | 84 ft | 391 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 05 | shelter nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 99 ft | 112 ft | |
| Lower | 06 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | yes | 53 ft | 78 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 07 | standard nonelectric | 75 ft | yes | 53 ft | 117 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 08 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 103 ft | 215 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 09 | tent only nonelectric | 10 ft | yes | 44 ft | 183 ft | $23 |
| Lower | 10 | tent only nonelectric | 10 ft | yes | 44 ft | 158 ft | $23 |
| Lower | 11 | tent only nonelectric | 10 ft | yes | 59 ft | 125 ft | $23 |
| Lower | 2D | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | yes | 84 ft | 328 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 3D | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | yes | 75 ft | 238 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | 4D | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 75 ft | 278 ft | $30–$60 |
| Lower | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 18 ft | yes | 358 ft | ||
| Lower | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 50 ft | yes | 443 ft | ||
| Lower | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 30 ft | yes | 274 ft | ||
| Lower | Host | host pad | 40 ft | yes | 137 ft | 363 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 12 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | yes | 121 ft | 668 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 13 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | yes | 68 ft | 561 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 14D | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | yes | 68 ft | 629 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 15 | rv nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 88 ft | 520 ft | |
| Upper | 16 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 86 ft | 461 ft | $23 |
| Upper | 17 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 88 ft | 464 ft | $23 |
| Upper | 18 | tent only nonelectric | 40 ft | yes | 86 ft | 383 ft | $23 |
| Upper | 19 | tent only nonelectric | 65 ft | yes | 89 ft | 318 ft | $23 |
| Upper | 20 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | yes | 152 ft | 669 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 21D | standard nonelectric | 55 ft | yes | 132 ft | 792 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | 22 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | yes | 152 ft | 530 ft | $30–$60 |
| Upper | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 30 ft | yes | 731 ft | ||
| Upper | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 45 ft | yes | 698 ft | ||
| Upper | Discontinued Site | type not stated | 55 ft | yes | 725 ft |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
25 of 29 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Navajo Lake CampgroundDixie National Forest · 0.8 mi
TE-AHDixie National Forest · 2.3 miDuck Creek CampgroundDixie National Forest · 4.1 mi
Duck CreekDixie National Forest · 4.9 mi
Point Supreme CampgroundCedar Breaks National Monument · 7.2 mi
Deer HavenDixie National Forest · 8.3 miGo east from Cedar City on Scenic Byway SR 14, 25 miles to the Navajo Lake road turnoff to the south. Follow the Navajo Lake road 7 miles to Spruces campground.
The weather
the next four days
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Brian Head, UT
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Spruces Campground (Dixie NF) is in Utah’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Celeste Maloy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →