U.S. Forest Service · Jefferson National Forest · VA

Stony Fork Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:37 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:37 UTC
A night
$20–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5349 on recreation.gov
132 ftLongest rig
2,360 ftElevation
204 ftWater · East Fork Stony Fork
3.9 miNW of Wytheville, VA
77%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Stony Fork, tucked in a dense forest setting, is located at the foot of Big Walker Mountain beside the Big Walker Mountain Scenic Byway. The East Fork of Stony Fork Creek winds through the campground, providing a serene setting for trout fishing and water play for visitors at the welcoming campground. The 1 mile Stony Fork Nature Trail takes campers through groves of pine and hardwoods, and the campground loop road makes for a scenic walk, too. Keep reading

Recreation

The Big Walker Mountain Scenic Byway is an incredible drive for viewing blooms of rhododendron, azalea and mountain laurel in spring, and fiery red and gold foliage in fall. Scenic overlooks highlight views of Mount Rogers and many ridges and valleys. A horseshoe pit at the campground provides hours of fun for families. Experienced hikers love the Seven Sisters Trail, approximately 5 miles, which leads from the campground to the top of Little Walker Mountain, then onto the Scenic Byway.

Facilities

Volunteer hosts are on hand to answer questions and make campers feel welcome. Campsites are ideal for both RV and tent camping. Warm showers and flush toilets are available, plus parking spurs are paved. Most sites come with electric hookups.

Natural Features

Stony Fork sits in a valley of the Appalachians at a 2,400 foot elevation. Its creekside setting provides a peaceful soundtrack of running water. In springtime, wildflowers and rhododendron dot the region with spectacular colors, and fall is reliably scenic with its red and yellow foliage.

Nearby Attractions

Stony Fork is in a natural forest setting at the foot of Big Walker Mountain and adjacent to the Big Walker Scenic Byway. The East Fork of Stony Fork Creek winds through the campground and provides water play and trout fishing. A one-mile nature trail will take campers through stands of pine and hardwoods, while the campground loop road itself is popular with walkers. For the more experienced hiker, Seven Sisters Trail leads from the campground to the top of Little Walker Mountain and back to the Scenic Byway. Within 10 miles of the campground, hike the popular Appalachian Trail, which extends more than 2,175 miles throughout the Appalachian Mountains across 14 states. It is the first trail designated as a National Scenic Trail. There is an outdoor shooting range a few miles from the campground.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Check-in is at 2pm and check-out is at 12pm.

Rule

Rates do not reflect discounts and attribute fees like electrical and water hookups

Rule

All vehicles must fit on paved parking spur

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

This facility has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

For more information on George Washington and Jefferson National Forests, click here

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
53
Hookups
34 electric, 13 water
Longest rig
132 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…RV and tent camping. Warm showers and flush toilets are available, plus parking spurs are paved. Most…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Warm showers and flush toilets are available, plus parking spurs are paved.”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Biking
Fishing
Hunting
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 40th darkest of 88 in VA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:37 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 8 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 16:37 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 29Bookable now through November 29, 2026, the end of the reservable season. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$20–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Apr 17 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$20–$30
Standard Nonelectric$20
Electric Hookup$26
Water and Electric Hookup$30
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 17, 2026 to Nov 29, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:37 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

53 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 49 mapped sites
95 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
87%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomElectric 009 62 ftElectric 010 62 ftElectric 020 71 ft

All 53 sites

50 of 53 sites located
Standard15RV / electric34Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 53 of the 53 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Electric007standard electric132 ft30 amp77 ft12 ft$26–$30
Electric008standard electric40 ft30 amp77 ft83 ft$26–$30
Electric009standard electric35 ft30 amp62 ft33 ft$26–$30
Electric010standard electric30 ft30 amp62 ft95 ft$26–$30
Electric011standard electric40 ft30 ampyes79 ft30 ft$26–$30
Electric012standard electric25 ft30 amp79 ft108 ft$26–$30
Electric014standard electric30 ft30 amp95 ft123 ft$26–$30
Electric017standard electric30 ft30 amp150 ft124 ft$26–$30
Electric018standard electric35 ft30 amp95 ft241 ft$26–$30
Electric019standard electric40 ft30 amp95 ft270 ft$26–$30
Electric020standard electric40 ft30 amp71 ft117 ft$26–$30
Electric021standard electric30 ft30 amp107 ft296 ft$26–$30
Electric022standard electric100 ft30 amp71 ft127 ft$26–$30
Electric023standard electric35 ft30 amp100 ft152 ft$26–$30
Electric024standard electric40 ft30 amp158 ft303 ft$26–$30
Electric025standard electric25 ft30 amp90 ft170 ft$26–$30
Electric026standard electric20 ft30 amp121 ft71 ft$26–$30
Electric027standard electric30 ft30 amp90 ft80 ft$26–$30
Electric031standard electric30 ft30 amp105 ft235 ft$26–$30
Electric033standard electric40 ft30 amp105 ft329 ft$26–$30
Electric045standard electric30 ft30 amp102 ft173 ft$26–$30
Electric046standard electric35 ft30 amp92 ft71 ft$26–$30
Electric047standard electric20 ft30 amp102 ft84 ft$26–$30
S&PElectrictype not stated132 ft30 amp$20–$30
S&PStandardtype not stated25 ft$20–$30
S&PWater & Electrictype not stated30 ft30 amp$20–$30
Standard002standard nonelectric25 ft93 ft192 ft$20
Standard003standard nonelectric35 ft86 ft161 ft$20
Standard004standard nonelectric30 ft85 ft117 ft$20
Standard005standard nonelectric35 ft86 ft78 ft$20
Standard006standard nonelectric35 ft85 ft43 ft$20
Standard013standard nonelectric30 ft95 ft29 ft$20
Standard015standard nonelectric40 ftyes88 ft136 ft$20
Standard016standard nonelectric40 ft88 ft60 ft$20
Standard028standard nonelectric40 ft126 ft134 ft$20
Standard029standard nonelectric40 ft122 ft115 ft$20
Standard030standard nonelectric30 ft88 ft264 ft$20
Standard048standard nonelectric40 ft117 ft114 ft$20
Standard049standard nonelectric30 ft116 ft81 ft$20
Standard051standard nonelectric25 ft116 ft189 ft$20
Standard052standard nonelectric25 ft110 ft235 ft$20
Water & Electric032standard electric30 ft30 amp88 ft340 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric034standard electric30 ft30 amp107 ft445 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric035standard electric30 ft30 ampyes107 ft453 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric036standard electric35 ft30 amp104 ft566 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric037standard electric30 ft30 amp104 ft467 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric038type not stated30 ft30 amp537 ft$20–$30
Water & Electric039standard electric25 ft30 amp123 ft436 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric040standard electric28 ft30 amp110 ft465 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric041standard electric30 ft30 amp123 ft347 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric042standard electric30 ft30 amp110 ft395 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric043standard electric40 ft30 amp147 ft226 ft$26–$30
Water & Electric044standard electric28 ft30 amp92 ft161 ft$26–$30

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 53 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight40°Rain Showers96% rain
Saturday50°Rain Showers then Mostly Sunny87% rain
Saturday Night29°Areas Of Frost
Sunday57°Areas Of Frost then Sunny1% rain

NWS forecast for Wytheville, VA

Typical weather

Typical October night 41°F, day 67°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WYTHEVILLE, VA (USC00449301), 6 miles away and 98 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Hunting Camp Little Wolf Creek8,953 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Bear Creek18,274 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Garden Mountain3,960 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

H. Morgan Griffith, official portrait

Stony Fork Campground is in Virginia’s 9th congressional district. Its representative, H. Morgan Griffith (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To H. Morgan Griffith

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia

Dear H. Morgan Griffith,

I’m a constituent in Virginia’s 9th district. I tried to camp at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 53 campsites the agency files at Stony Fork Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Stony Fork Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Stony Fork Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Stony Fork Campground (Jefferson National Forest, Virginia) via campanac.com
To Mark R. Warner

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia

Dear Mark R. Warner,

I’m a constituent in Virginia. I tried to camp at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 53 campsites the agency files at Stony Fork Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Stony Fork Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Stony Fork Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Stony Fork Campground (Jefferson National Forest, Virginia) via campanac.com
To Tim Kaine

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia

Dear Tim Kaine,

I’m a constituent in Virginia. I tried to camp at Stony Fork Campground, Jefferson National Forest, Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 53 campsites the agency files at Stony Fork Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Stony Fork Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Stony Fork Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Stony Fork Campground (Jefferson National Forest, Virginia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.