U.S. Forest Service · San Gabriel Mountains National Monument · CA

Table Mountain (Angeles)

5Heads up5 fires, nearest 21 mi
Wildfire
Peak fire · 21 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Lac-374626 fire · 25 mi away · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
Lac-374825 fire · 25 mi away · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
Scenic fire · 26 mi away · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Lac-373293 fire · 27 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 84 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:22 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 23 of the next 23 nights; a database flag says not open read 16:22 UTC
A night
$30–$60Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
176104 on recreation.gov
61 ftLongest rig
7,330 ftElevation
1.4 miWater · Pacific Crest Reservoir
2.1 miSW of Piñon Hills, CA
24%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Table Mountain, just a short journey northwest of the Los Angeles metro area, provides a beautiful escape from urban life. Campers will find hiking, mountain biking, birding and countless other recreation opportunities. The surrounding landscape is also ideal for scenic drives. The campground sits in the Angeles National Forest, spanning 694,187 acres over most of the San Gabriel Mountain range. The forest boasts spectacular scenery and 557 miles of hiking and equestrian trails. Keep reading

Recreation

The Table Mountain Nature Trail runs through the campground, and visitors can spot birds, squirrel, deer and the California condor. The Angeles Crest Scenic Byway is a highly recommended drive that extends through oak thickets, chaparral, high desert landscapes and pine tree forests along the highest and most scenic ridges of the San Gabriel mountain range.

Facilities

Campsites range from level meadow locations to shaded, hilly sites. All sites are reasonably close to vault toilets and have paved spurs and fire pits. Water spigots are spaced about every six sites. The amphitheater site is available for day-use only and accommodates up to 150 guests and 30 vehicles. Prices vary based on time of year. To RESERVE THE AMPHITHEATER contact Tyler Shippy at tyler_shippy@mthigh.com or call (888) 754-7878 ext 7834.

Natural Features

Table Mountain is set in a hilly, oak and pine forest with two large meadows and beautiful views. At an elevation of 7,000 feet, summer temperatures average in the low 80s with cool nights. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (760) 316-7828.

Nearby Attractions

The Angeles Crest Highway, part of California State Route 2, is a scenic byway that meanders through oak thickets, chaparral, high desert landscapes and pine tree forests. The ski resort town of Wrightwood is very close by. Restaurants and a disc golf course can be found at the North Resort. Take a hike on the Blue Ridge Trail or the Pacific Crest Trail. The Pacific Crest Trail is an impressive path that starts in Mexico and zigzags its way through Angeles and continues north across California, Oregon and Washington. Visit the Mountain High Downhill Bike Park.

What the agency tells you

Rule

It is advised that transportation remain on-site with your group in case of emergency evacuations.

Rule

Fire restrictions may be enforced due to dry conditions.

Rule

Bears frequent the area; all food must be kept in approved containers.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

First-come, first-served sites may be available.

Rule

A fee will be charged for additional vehicles.

Rule

Be aware that some of our campsites don't have the space to back in a Travel Trailer. A trailer is NOT an RV. Check each campsite details before you arrive.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
176 · 1 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
61 ft
Paved pads
111 of 176
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Pit Toilets
ACCESSIBLE PIT TOILETS on 111 of 178 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
“…and have paved spurs and fire pits. Water spigots are spaced about every six sites. The amphitheater…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”

Around the campground

On the water
Meadow
Biking
Hiking
Mountain biking
Scenic drives
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 1157th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:22 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:24 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 84 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 83 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:22 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 9, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 9, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$60plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$128DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, May 9 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$60
Standard Nonelectric$30
Standard Nonelectric- Double Site$60
Group areas, a night$120–$500
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 8, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$68
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$128

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$60 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:24 UTC

  • Lake CampgroundSan Gabriel Mountains National Monument · 2.0 mi · 1 of 12 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 16:22 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

178 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 42 mapped sites
118 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop MOHA 042 54 ftLoop PIMA 63-64 DBL 54 ftLoop APAC 073 88 ft

All 178 records

43 of 178 records located
Standard40Group1Type not stated1Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 176 of the 178 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

APAC070standard nonelectric40 ft166 ft1.6 mi$30–$60
APAC071standard nonelectric34 ft97 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC072standard nonelectric45 ft114 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC073standard nonelectric54 ft88 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC074standard nonelectric52 ft88 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC075standard nonelectric60 ft113 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC076type not stated$30
APAC077type not stated$30
APAC078type not stated$30
APAC079standard nonelectric54 ft164 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
APAC080standard nonelectric31 ft$30–$60
APAC081standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
APAC082type not stated45 ft$30
APACAMPHITday use168 ft1.7 miJackson Lake
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN001type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN002type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN003type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN004type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN005type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN006type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN009type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN011type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN012type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN013type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN014type not stated1.4 mi$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN016type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN017type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN019type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN020type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN021type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN022type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN023type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN024type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN029type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN030type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN031type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN032type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN035type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN037type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN038type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN039type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN041type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN044type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN045type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN049type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN050type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN051type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN052type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN053type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN054type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN055type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN062type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN065type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN066type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN068type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN069type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN080type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN081type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN082type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN085type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN086type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN089type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN092type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN093type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN094type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN095type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN096type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN097type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN101type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN106type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN107type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN108type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN109type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN110type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN111type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN115type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN116type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN117type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAIN118type not stated$30
AREA TABLE MOUNTAINXXXunnamed record$30
BROK020standard nonelectric39 ft$30–$60
BROK021standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
BROK022standard nonelectric35 ft$30–$60
BROK023standard nonelectric28 ft$30–$60
BROK024standard nonelectric32 ft$30–$60
BROK029standard nonelectric31 ft$30–$60
BROK030standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
BROK031standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
BROK032standard nonelectric42 ft$30–$60
BROK033standard nonelectric45 ft118 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
BROK034standard nonelectric45 ft146 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
BROK035standard nonelectric37 ft$30–$60
BROK036standard nonelectric36 ft118 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
BROK037standard nonelectric49 ft$30–$60
BROK038standard nonelectric49 ft$30–$60
BROK039standard nonelectric45 ft$30–$60
BROK040standard nonelectric43 ft101 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
BROK041standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
BROK25-28 QUADgroup standard nonelectric24 ft429 ft1.6 mi$120
CHER083standard nonelectric33 ft117 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
CHER084standard nonelectric40 ft138 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
CHER085standard nonelectric41 ft$30–$60
CHER086standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
CHER089standard nonelectric34 ft$30–$60
CHER090standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft1.7 miJackson Lake$30–$60
CHER091standard nonelectric43 ft97 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
CHER092standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
CHER093standard nonelectric42 ft$30–$60
CHER094standard nonelectric47 ft$30–$60
CHER095standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
CHER096standard nonelectric42 ft$30–$60
CHER097standard nonelectric53 ft$30–$60
CHER87-88 DBLstandard nonelectric30 ft142 ft1.6 miJackson Lake$30–$60
KNOL012standard nonelectric29 ft$30–$60
KNOL013standard nonelectric29 ft$30–$60
KNOL015type not stated$30
MOHA042standard nonelectric35 ft54 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
MOHA051standard nonelectric47 ft$30–$60
MOHA052standard nonelectric33 ft$30–$60
MOHA053standard nonelectric31 ft$30–$60
MOHA054standard nonelectric40 ft$30–$60
MOHA055standard nonelectric28 ft$30–$60
MOHA056standard nonelectric33 ft161 ft1.6 miJackson Lake$30–$60
MOHA059standard nonelectric37 ft155 ft1.6 mi$30–$60
MOHA57-58 DBLstandard nonelectric30 ft194 ft1.6 miJackson Lake$30–$60
OSAG043standard nonelectric42 ft114 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
OSAG044standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
OSAG045standard nonelectric41 ft$30–$60
OSAG048standard nonelectric38 ft148 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
OSAG049standard nonelectric37 ft$30–$60
OSAG050standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
OSAG46-47 DBLstandard nonelectric18 ft114 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
PIMA060standard nonelectric41 ft92 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
PIMA061standard nonelectric30 ft92 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
PIMA062standard nonelectric41 ft$30–$60
PIMA065standard nonelectric54 ft$30–$60
PIMA066standard nonelectric26 ft$30–$60
PIMA067standard nonelectric25 ft155 ft1.6 mi$30–$60
PIMA068standard nonelectric33 ft$30–$60
PIMA069standard nonelectric45 ft$30–$60
PIMA63-64 DBLstandard nonelectric32 ft54 ft1.5 mi$30–$60
TABL001type not stated36 ft$30
TABL002type not stated$30
TABL003type not stated44 ft$30
TABL004standard nonelectric61 ft$30–$60
TABL005standard nonelectric47 ft$30–$60
TABL006standard nonelectric42 ft$30–$60
TABL007standard nonelectric44 ft92 ft1.4 mi$30–$60
TABL008standard nonelectric51 ft92 ft1.4 mi$30–$60
TABL009standard nonelectric48 ft$30–$60
TABL010standard nonelectric49 ft142 ft1.4 mi$30–$60
TWIS011standard nonelectric27 ft$30–$60
TWIS016standard nonelectric40 ft$30–$60
TWIS017standard nonelectric51 ft$30–$60
TWIS018standard nonelectric55 ft307 ft1.4 mi$30–$60
TWIS019standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
TWIS14-15 DBLstandard nonelectric36 ft295 ft1.4 mi$30–$60
ZUNI098standard nonelectric36 ft$30–$60
ZUNI099standard nonelectric31 ft99 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
ZUNI100standard nonelectric49 ft99 ft1.7 mi$30–$60
ZUNI101standard nonelectric33 ft$30–$60
ZUNI102standard nonelectric29 ft$30–$60
ZUNI103standard nonelectric39 ft143 ft1.7 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI104standard nonelectric37 ft168 ft1.7 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI105standard nonelectric44 ft183 ft1.7 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI106standard nonelectric51 ft$30–$60
ZUNI107standard nonelectric45 ft$30–$60
ZUNI108standard nonelectric41 ft$30–$60
ZUNI109standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
ZUNI110standard nonelectric51 ft$30–$60
ZUNI111standard nonelectric46 ft$30–$60
ZUNI112standard nonelectric48 ft96 ft1.6 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI113standard nonelectric42 ft96 ft1.6 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI114standard nonelectric41 ft127 ft1.5 miJackson Lake$30–$60
ZUNI115standard nonelectric43 ft$30–$60
ZUNI116standard nonelectric37 ft$30–$60
ZUNI117standard nonelectric42 ft$30–$60
ZUNI118standard nonelectric35 ft$30–$60

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 1 it files as day use and 1 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 178 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today60°Mostly Sunny
Tonight43°Partly Cloudy
Sunday61°Sunny
Sunday Night44°Clear

NWS forecast for Piñon Hills, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 35°F, day 63°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BIG BEAR LAKE, CA (USC00040741), 45 miles away and 577 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Roadless
Sheep Mountain21,098 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Circle Mountain6,375 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Judy Chu, official portrait

Table Mountain (Angeles) is in California’s 28th congressional district. Its representative, Judy Chu (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Judy Chu

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California

Dear Judy Chu,

I’m a constituent in California’s 28th district. I tried to camp at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 104 of the 176 campsites the agency files at Table Mountain (Angeles), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Table Mountain (Angeles) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Table Mountain (Angeles). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Table Mountain (Angeles) (San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 104 of the 176 campsites the agency files at Table Mountain (Angeles), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Table Mountain (Angeles) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Table Mountain (Angeles). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Table Mountain (Angeles) (San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Table Mountain (Angeles), San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 104 of the 176 campsites the agency files at Table Mountain (Angeles), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 84 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Table Mountain (Angeles) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Table Mountain (Angeles). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Table Mountain (Angeles) (San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 23 of the next 23 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.