U.S. Forest Service · Umpqua National Forest · OR

Thielsen View Campground

1Heads up1 fire 20 mi away
Wildfire
Castle fire · 20 mi away · 3,615 acres · 100% contained · updated Oct 10, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 18 opens June 18.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$15–$20Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6461 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
5,200 ftElevation
452 ftWater · Diamond Lake
41.1 miSE of Oakridge, OR
65%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

In the shadow of majestic Mount Bailey on the west shore of Diamond Lake, this campground takes its name from the view of the unforgettable peak of Mt. Thielsen. Thielsen View Campground is a favorite with families and anglers. Keep reading

Recreation

This campground is a great location for many recreational opportunities. Diamond Lake is stocked annually with 300,000 rainbow trout. If fishing is not your thing, the campground is on the John Dellenback trail. This paved trail is an 11-mile loop around the lake. If you prefer to travel by foot, Mount Bailey and Rodney Butte trails are less than a five-minute drive to the trailhead.

Facilities

Thielsen View Campground has a boat ramp, free for campers staying in Thielsen View. Water spigots and gray water sumps are located throughout the campground. Each loop has at least two vault toilets. The closest RV dump station is at the resort’s gas station. The fee is $5 to use the resort’s dump or campers may use the Forest Service dump station in Diamond Lake or Broken Arrow Campgrounds. There are 60 sites in the campground, all are available by reservation only.

Natural Features

The mixed conifer canopy generously shades most sites during the warm summer days. All campsites are very close to Diamond Lake, which offers great sunrises over Mount Thielsen.

Nearby Attractions

Mount Bailey, Mount Thielsen, Pacific Crest Trail, Dellenback Trail, Diamond Lake Resort, Diamond Lake Stables, and Lemolo Lake and Resort are all nearby. Visitors may also want to take some time to visit nearby Crater Lake National Park, the only national park in Oregon! The amazing Crater Lake area offers a glimpse into the volcanic history of the area.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The map on recreation.gov is incorrect please see the link to a PDF in the "Additional Information" section.

Rule

$5.00 per extra vehicle per night. Vehicle must fit on parking spur.

Rule

Each spring the Diamond Lake Ranger District's recreation crew fall numerous hazardous trees. Mostly lodgepole pine that have been killed by Mountain Pine Beetles. The bright side for campers, the trees are usually great campfire wood. Campers may have up to a ¼ cord of wood in their site and may not take any firewood from the campground. Other than those two restrictions, most campers find plenty of campfire wood with little effort.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Maximum vehicle length: 35 feet

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
64
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…campground. Each loop has at least two vault toilets. The closest RV dump station is at the resort's gas…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…for campers staying in Thielsen View. Water spigots and gray water sumps are located throughout the…”
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Biking
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Kayaking
Night sky · 163rd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 16:47 UTC

recreation.gov lists 61 of the 64 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 18, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 18, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$15–$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38–$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Jun 18 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$15–$20
Standard Nonelectric$15
Standard Nonelectric-Double Site$20
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Sep 10, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“Extra Vehicle Fee $5 per vehicle per night. **MUST BE PAID AT THE CAMPGROUND FEE KIOSK UPON ARRIVAL” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23–$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38–$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $15–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:47 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

64 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 61 mapped sites
94 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop C 14 46 ftLoop C 15 46 ftLoop C 12 66 ft

All 64 sites

61 of 64 sites located
Standard61
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 64 of the 64 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AA01standard nonelectric35 ft126 ft356 ft$15–$20
AA02standard nonelectric35 ft89 ft397 ft$15–$20
AA03standard nonelectric35 ft89 ft331 ft$15–$20
AA04standard nonelectric35 ft93 ft456 ft$15–$20
AA05standard nonelectric35 ft93 ft375 ft$15–$20
AA06standard nonelectric35 ft113 ft410 ft$15–$20
AA07standard nonelectric35 ft113 ft518 ft$15–$20
AA08standard nonelectric35 ft106 ft435 ft$15–$20
AA09standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft552 ft$15–$20
AA10standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft479 ft$15–$20
AA11standard nonelectric35 ft103 ft497 ft$15–$20
AA12standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft599 ft$15–$20
AA13standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft612 ft$15–$20
AA14standard nonelectric35 ft122 ft509 ft$15–$20
AA15standard nonelectric35 ft134 ft632 ft$15–$20
AA16standard nonelectric35 ft119 ft605 ft$15–$20
AA17standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft461 ft$15–$20
AA18standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft530 ft$15–$20
AA19standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft404 ft$15–$20
AA20standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft364 ft$15–$20
AA21standard nonelectric35 ft143 ft256 ft$15–$20
BB01standard nonelectric35 ft133 ft197 ft$15–$20
BB02standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft316 ft$15–$20
BB03standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft330 ft$15–$20
BB04standard nonelectric35 ft118 ft198 ft$15–$20
BB05standard nonelectric35 ft118 ft106 ft$15–$20
BB06standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft185 ft$15–$20
BB07standard nonelectric35 ft96 ft157 ft$15–$20
BB08standard nonelectric35 ft99 ft162 ft$15–$20
BB09standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft150 ft$15–$20
BB10standard nonelectric35 ft135 ft94 ft$15–$20
BB11standard nonelectric35 ft101 ft195 ft$15–$20
BB12standard nonelectric35 ft93 ft289 ft$15–$20
BB13standard nonelectric35 ft80 ft261 ft$15–$20
BB14standard nonelectric35 ft80 ft312 ft$15–$20
BB15standard nonelectric35 ft73 ft253 ft$15–$20
BB16standard nonelectric35 ft90 ft350 ft$15–$20
BB17standard nonelectric35 ft73 ft280 ft$15–$20
BB18standard nonelectric35 ft79 ft354 ft$15–$20
BB19standard nonelectric35 ft87 ft265 ft$15–$20
BB20standard nonelectric35 ft79 ft348 ft$15–$20
C01standard nonelectric35 ft94 ft221 ft$15–$20
C02standard nonelectric35 ft85 ft298 ft$15–$20
C03standard nonelectric35 ft85 ft253 ft$15–$20
C04standard nonelectric35 ft89 ft310 ft$15–$20
C05standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft274 ft$15–$20
C06standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft336 ft$15–$20
C07standard nonelectric35 ft85 ft293 ft$15–$20
C08standard nonelectric35 ft69 ft331 ft$15–$20
C09standard nonelectric35 ft69 ft276 ft$15–$20
C10standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft289 ft$15–$20
C11standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft230 ft$15–$20
C12standard nonelectric35 ft66 ft196 ft$15–$20
C13standard nonelectric35 ft90 ft85 ft$15–$20
C14standard nonelectric30 ft46 ft141 ft$15–$20
C15standard nonelectric30 ft46 ft105 ft$15–$20
C16standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft109 ft$15–$20
C17standard nonelectric35 ft113 ft133 ft$15–$20
C18standard nonelectric30 ft113 ft141 ft$15–$20
C19standard nonelectric30 ft122 ft137 ft$15–$20
C20standard nonelectric35 ft100 ft146 ft$15–$20
Extra VehicleExtra Vehicle Feetype not stated35 ft$5–$20
Scan and PayStandard Double Site S&Ptype not stated35 ft$5–$20
Scan and PayStandard Single Site S&Ptype not stated35 ft$5–$20

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 64 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate43.16949, -122.16801
The phone541-498-2531
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Roseburg, OR, travel east on OR-138 / NE Diamond Lake Boulevard for 80 miles, turn right onto Forest Road 4795 at the sign for the Diamond Lake Recreation Area. Turn right at the gas station and continue for 3 miles, the campground is on the left.

From Bend or Klamath Falls: Take HWY 97 to HWY 138. Take HWY 138 east towards Roseburg. Make a right turn onto HWY 230, west. Take right onto Diamond Lake Loop road, make a left at the sign for Broken Arrow Campground. Follow the road around until you reach Thielsen View Campground on the right.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today67°Sunny
Tonight39°Partly Cloudy
Saturday56°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night33°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Beaver Marsh, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 24°F, day 61°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 15°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CHEMULT, OR (USC00351546), 20 miles away and 440 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mt. Bailey18,401 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Sherwood2,449 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Sherwood7,069 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Cliff Bentz, official portrait

Thielsen View Campground is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Beaver Marsh, OR, 18.2 mi W (a census designated place). Straight line.