ReservableBookable through October 25, and from April 3 through September 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 9 of the next 9 nights read 15:51 UTC
A night
$24–$49Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
48All of them booked ahead
102 ftLongest rig
520 ftElevation
430 ftWater · Tipsaw Lake
13.1 miSE of Ferdinand, IN
79%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Tipsaw Lake Recreation Area is located on the shores of its namesake lake in south-central Indiana's Hoosier National Forest. It offers camping, picnic areas, boating, swimming, hiking, biking and educational programs. Visitors enjoy the scenic views of the forest and all it has to offer. Keep reading

Recreation

Boating, fishing and swimming in the lake are popular activities. Electric motors are allowed, and fishing for pan fish is considered excellent. The boat ramp and parking area is open year-round. A beautiful swimming beach with playground equipment and a modern bathhouse is also available. The beach offers a combination of sand and sun or a shady, grass-covered hillside. A 5.9-mile trail for hiking and mountain biking runs from the day-use area around the lake. The trail includes scenic overlooks of the lake and valley and traverses a variety of forest types. A trail permit is available for purchase and is required for mountain bikers age 17 and older.

Facilities

The area offers dozens of individual, double and group campsites, available for tent and RV camping. Group sites can accommodate up to 65 people. Each site is equipped with tables and campfire rings with grills. Accessible flush toilets, showers and drinking water are provided. A beach area is fully accessible and is equipped with washing stations and changing rooms. Electric and water hookups are available at some sites and parking surfaces are paved. A day-use area is also available and provides access to the beach and picnic areas and shelters, as well as the boat ramp. Horseshoe pits and and open areas for games are nearby.

Natural Features

The campground is adjacent to 131-acre Tipsaw Lake, in a hardwood and pine forest. Situated at an elevation of 380 feet, the campground is composed of five loops that offer dozens of campsites. Some sites are shaded and the roads are paved.

Nearby Attractions

Special Places on the Hoosier National Forest Brooks Cabin Buffalo Trace Carnes Mill Site Clover Lick Barrens Hickory Ridge Lookout Tower Initial Point Lick Creek African American Settlement The Jacob Rickenbaugh Homestead Wesley Chapel Gulf

What the agency tells you

Rule

First-come, first-served sites may be available

Rule

$8 fee will be charged to vehicles using the day use area

Rule

Only electric motors are allowed on the lake

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Each campsite fee includes a camping unit (tent,camper) & one vehicle (single sites) and two vehicles (double sites). There is a $8.00 charge per day for the second vehicle, and $8.00 charge per day for any additional vehicle (must be paid at time of check-in). Maximum two vehicles per single site, and four vehicles per double site.  There is a surcharge for the site with electric and water.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Hoosier National Forest

Rule

Don't move firewood: To limit the spread of invasive tree-killing pests, firewood from outside the area is not permitted. Some states have quarantines and may confiscate your firewood. Please help protect our forests from invasive species by obtaining your firewood at or near your camping destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org for more information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
48 · 4 walk-in, 2 group
Hookups
33 electric, 14 water, 2 sewer
Longest rig
102 ft
Paved pads
22 of 48
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…campfire rings with grills. Accessible flush toilets, showers and drinking water are provided. A beach…”
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 2 of 50 campsite records
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Beach
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Swimming
Night sky · 9th darkest of 23 in IN
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

19 of 72 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:51 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 25Bookable now through October 25, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 3, 2027 through September 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through September 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$24–$49plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56–$106DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Apr 3 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 23

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$24–$49
Standard Nonelectric$24
Standard Electric$33
Standard Nonelectric-Double$37
RV Electric$38
Standard Electric-Double$49
Group areas, a night$50–$80
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 3, 2026 to Oct 25, 2026.
Each campsite fee includes a camping unit (tent,camper) & one vehicle (single sites) and two vehicles (double sites).
Maximum two vehicles per single site, and four vehicles per double site.
There is a surcharge for the site with electric and water.
Annual Boat/Day Use Pass: $50.00 each (sticker must be applied to the windshield of the registered vehicle) $30.00 each additional in the same household.
May be used at Hardin Ridge, Indian-Celina and Tipsaw Recreation Areas.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“There is a $8.00 charge per day for the second vehicle, and $8.00 charge per day for any additional vehicle (must be paid at time of check-in).” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32–$57
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56–$106

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$49 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:51 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

50 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 34 mapped sites
87 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
92%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomJackPine 007 32 ftLoop CATB 009 32 ftLoop CATB 007 61 ft

All 50 records

35 of 50 records located
Standard10RV / electric20Walk, hike or boat in2Group2Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 47 of the 50 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

CATB001rv electric44 ft50 amp138 ft1,099 ft$38
CATB002rv electric53 ft50 amp$38
CATB003rv electric58 ft50 ampyes138 ft1,019 ft$38
CATB004rv electric102 ft50 amp$38
CATB005rv electric50 ft50 amp72 ft875 ft$38
CATB006rv electric55 ft50 ampyes$38
CATB007rv electric65 ft50 ampyes61 ft915 ft$38
CATB008rv electric54 ft15 amp$38
CATB009rv electric72 ft50 amp32 ft965 ft$38
CATB010rv electric49 ft50 amp$38
CATB011rv electric70 ft15 ampyes$38
Dogwood024standard electric35 ft50 amp75 ft1,017 ft$33–$49
Dogwood025standard electric35 ft50 amp68 ft1,102 ft$33–$49
Dogwood026walk to35 ft65 ft1,166 ft$24
Dogwood027walk to35 ft65 ft1,162 ft$24
Dogwood028standard nonelectric35 ft75 ft1,087 ft$24–$37
Dogwood029standard nonelectric35 ft143 ft924 ft$24–$37
Dogwood030standard nonelectric35 ft143 ft1,031 ft$24–$37
Dogwood031standard nonelectric35 ft75 ft941 ft$24–$37
Dogwood032standard nonelectric35 ft75 ft987 ft$24–$37
Dogwood033standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft914 ft$24–$37
Dogwood034standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft861 ft$24–$37
Dogwood035standard nonelectric25 ft75 ft991 ft$24–$37
Dogwood036standard nonelectric25 ft75 ft1,015 ft$24–$37
Dogwood037standard nonelectric35 ft152 ft885 ft$24–$37
ESHLGS1day use30 amp$59
GGRPGS4group standard electric35 ft50 amp300 ft956 ft$80
JackPine001standard electric20 ft15 amp87 ft1,041 ft$33–$49
JackPine002standard electric40 ft15 amp$33–$49
JackPine003standard electric20 ft15 amp87 ft1,120 ft$33–$49
JackPine004standard electric40 ft15 amp$33–$49
JackPine005type not stated20 ft100 amp867 ft
JackPine006rv electric20 ft15 amp$38
JackPine007rv electric20 ft100 amp32 ft934 ft$38
JackPine008rv electric35 ft15 amp$38
JackPine009standard electric20 ft15 amp126 ft1,123 ft$33–$49
JackPine010standard electric20 ft15 amp$33–$49
JackPine011walk to10 ft15 amp$24
JackPine012walk to10 ft15 amp$24
JackPine015standard electric35 ft50 amp147 ft880 ft$33–$49
JackPine016standard electric35 ft50 amp87 ft1,009 ft$33–$49
JackPine017rv electric35 ft50 amp83 ft1,078 ft$38
JackPine018standard electric35 ft50 amp83 ft1,155 ft$33–$49
JackPine019standard electric35 ft50 amp137 ft1,037 ft$33–$49
JackPine020standard electric35 ft50 amp91 ft1,208 ft$33–$49
JackPine021standard electric35 ft50 amp122 ft1,160 ft$33–$49
JackPine022standard electric35 ft50 amp111 ft1,203 ft$33–$49
JackPine023standard electric35 ft30 amp68 ft1,092 ft$33–$49
PGRPGS5group standard electric35 ft300 ft874 ft$80
WESTGS2day use$50

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 50 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.13306, -86.63306
The phone812-843-4891
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From St. Croix, Indiana, travel south on State Route 37 about 5 miles to the Tipsaw Lake sign. Turn right and continue about 3 miles to the campground. Tipsaw Lake is only 3 miles from Interstate 64.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today58°Sunny
Tonight35°Clear then Areas Of Frost
Sunday64°Areas Of Frost then Sunny
Sunday Night38°Clear

NWS forecast for Leopold, IN

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 71°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SAINT MEINRAD, IN (USC00127724), 10 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mogan Ridge8,435 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mark Messmer, official portrait

Tipsaw Lake is in Indiana’s 8th congressional district. Its representative, Mark Messmer (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 9 of the next 9 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Leopold, IN, 3 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.