ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 15. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$3From, per site
Sites
2510 on recreation.gov
180 ftElevation
152 ftWater · Sam Rayburn Reservoir
15.1 miNE of Huntington, TX
76%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 38th darkest of 154 in TX

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Recreation

Boat ramp,Tent camping,Picnic tables,Parking Natural Features ocated in the heart of east Texas, the 153,179-acre Angelina National Forest is located in Angelina, Nacogdoches, San Augustine and Jasper counties. The forest lies in the Neches River Basin and on the north and south shores of Sam Rayburn Reservoir, a 114,500-acre lake on the Angelina River formed by the construction of Sam Rayburn Dam in the early 1960's.

Nearby Attractions

Lake Sam Rayburn

Tents and rigs

Sites
25
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:41 UTC

recreation.gov lists 10 of the 25 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 15, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$3plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$14DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$3
ScanPay 1$3
ScanPay 2$3
ScanPay 3$3
ScanPay 4$3
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$11
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$14

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $3 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:41 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

26 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 9 mapped sites
106 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room01 81 ft03 81 ft02 94 ft

All 26 records

9 of 26 records located
Standard9
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 10 of the 26 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric$3
Townsend01standard nonelectric81 ft427 ft$3
Townsend02standard nonelectric95 ft505 ft$3
Townsend03standard nonelectric81 ft446 ft$3
Townsend04standard nonelectric107 ft321 ft$3
Townsend05standard nonelectric109 ft155 ft$3
Townsend06standard nonelectric106 ft101 ft$3
Townsend07standard nonelectric106 ft35 ft$3
Townsend08standard nonelectric117 ft106 ft$3
Townsend09standard nonelectric180 ft214 ft$3
Townsend10day use
Townsend11type not stated
Townsend12type not stated
Townsend13type not stated
Townsend14type not stated
Townsend15type not stated
Townsend16type not stated
Townsend17type not stated
Townsend18type not stated
Townsend19type not stated
Townsend20type not stated
Townsend21type not stated
Townsend22type not stated

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 26 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today72°Mostly Sunny12% rain
Tonight52°Mostly Clear3% rain
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night49°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Broaddus, TX

Typical weather

Typical October night 53°F, day 80°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 35°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SAN AUGUSTINE, TX (USC00417951), 16 miles away and 115 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Nathaniel Moran, official portrait

Townsend is in Texas’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Nathaniel Moran (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Broaddus, TX, 3.7 mi NW. Straight line.