U.S. Forest Service · George Washington National Forest · WV

Trout Pond Recreation Area

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:55 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenInside the published season, our reading
A night
$25–$47Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5047 on recreation.gov
Season
– October 31Closes October 31. No opening date published.
99 ftLongest rig
1,980 ftElevation
583 ftWater · an unnamed stream
6.9 miN of Basye, VA
82%Tree cover
Closes October 31. No opening date published.Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Trout Pond Recreation Area boasts two bodies of water, Rock Cliff Lake and Trout Pond. Relax on a sandy mountain beach or fish for stocked trout while relaxing along the cool waters of Rock Cliff Lake. Trout Pond, home to native Brook trout, is the only natural lake in West Virginia. A designated swimming area, easy lakeside trails, and a children's playground make this a perfect family destination. Keep reading

Recreation

A trail surrounding the entire lake provides bank fishing access at Rock Cliff Lake. All types of boating from motor to sailboats are welcome. Hike the Trout Pond Loop trail, an easy 4-mile excursion, with an optional 2-mile side route, to an overlook of Rockcliff Lake. For a more challenging hike, a connecting trail provides a steep climb up Long and Devil's Hole Mountains.

Facilities

Campsites come with a campfire ring and picnic table, and some of have electric hookups. Hot showers and flush toilets are an easy walk away from each site. The day-use area includes a white-sand swim beach, boat ramp, showers, playground and 30 picnic sites.

Natural Features

Rock Cliff Lake is a 17-acre man-made lake with a maximum depth of 36 feet and an average depth of 12 feet. Trout Pond, the naturally formed lake, was created by a sinkhole that filled with mountain stream water and run-off from Long Mountain. Trout Pond can vary in waterflow. Please visit the Forest Service website for our most up to date conditions. Contact Info This location has limited staffing. Please call (540) 984-4101 for general information. Charges & Cancellations group shelter nonelectric 1-50 people $65, 51-100 people $100, standard non electric is $19.00 per night

What the agency tells you

Rule

No gasoline-powered boats allowed on lake

Rule

This facility has first-come, first-serve single sites

Rule

A life jacket is required for all boaters

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

Please check-in with campground host upon arrival

Rule

No off-road vehicles allowed

Rule

No dogs allowed on beach

Rule

No alcoholic beverages

Rule

Entrance gates locked from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m.

Rule

For more information on George Washington and Jefferson National Forests, click here

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
50
Hookups
11 electric
Longest rig
99 ft
Accessible sites
50
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…have electric hookups. Hot showers and flush toilets are an easy walk away from each site. The day-use…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Hot showers and flush toilets are an easy walk away from each site.”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Beach
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 49th darkest of 69 in WV
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:55 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 29 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:55 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 27Bookable now through October 27, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 3, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 3, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$25–$47plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$102DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, May 3 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$47
Standard Nonelectric$25
Standard Electric$32
Doub$40
Standard Nonelectric-$27$40
Standard Electric-$30$47
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 4, 2026 to Oct 27, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$55
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$102

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$47 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“group shelter nonelectric 1-50 people $65, 51-100 people $100, standard non electric is $19.00 per night” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:55 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

52 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 35 mapped sites
80 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
96%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop SING 036 34 ftLoop SING 048 34 ftLoop SING 004 50 ft

All 52 records

35 of 52 records located
Standard24RV / electric11
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 35 of the 52 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 50 of the 52 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

DOUB014standard electric99 ft20/30 ampyes71 ft746 ft336 ft$32–$47
DOUB033standard nonelectric99 ftyes122 ft119 ft78 ft$25–$40
DOUB034standard nonelectric99 ftyes$25–$40
PICA00Aday use20 ampyes
PICB00Bday useyes$25–$47
S&PDouble Electric S&Ptype not stated45 ft15 ampyes$25–$47
S&PDouble S&Ptype not stated45 ftyes$25–$47
S&PElectric S&Ptype not stated30 ft15 ampyes$25–$47
S&PStandard S&Ptype not stated45 ftyes$25–$47
Sing016standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing018standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing023standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing024standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing025standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing027standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing029standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing030standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing031standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
Sing043standard nonelectric45 ftyes$25–$40
SING001standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes73 ft246 ft400 ft$32–$47
SING002standard electric30 ft20/30 ampyes73 ft216 ft362 ft$32–$47
SING004standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes50 ft381 ft272 ft$32–$47
SING006standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes50 ft388 ft255 ft$32–$47
SING008standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes57 ft482 ft163 ft$32–$47
SING010standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes57 ft519 ft146 ft$32–$47
SING011standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes90 ft756 ft236 ft$32–$47
SING012standard electric30 ft20/30 ampyes90 ft812 ft326 ft$32–$47
SING013standard electric45 ft20/30 ampyes99 ft826 ft426 ft$32–$47
SING015standard nonelectric45 ftyes71 ft702 ft266 ft$25–$40
SING017standard nonelectric45 ftyes69 ft641 ft167 ft$25–$40
SING019standard nonelectric35 ftyes69 ft603 ft102 ft$25–$40
SING020standard nonelectric35 ftyes110 ft487 ft72 ft$25–$40
SING021standard nonelectric35 ftyes95 ft443 ft86 ft$25–$40
SING022standard nonelectric45 ftyes95 ft493 ft121 ft$25–$40
SING026standard nonelectric40 ftyes115 ft463 ft235 ft$25–$40
SING028standard nonelectric45 ftyes118 ft357 ft349 ft$25–$40
SING032standard nonelectric99 ftyes118 ft256 ft278 ft$25–$40
SING035standard nonelectric99 ftyes86 ft100 ft100 ft$25–$40
SING036standard nonelectric45 ftyes34 ft167 ft78 ft$25–$40
SING037standard nonelectric45 ftyes86 ft179 ft174 ft$25–$40
SING038standard nonelectric40 ftyes63 ft70 ft271 ft$25–$40
SING039standard nonelectric99 ftyes136 ft115 ft406 ft$25–$40
SING040standard nonelectric35 ftyes63 ft132 ft257 ft$25–$40
SING041standard electric99 ft20/30 ampyes98 ft544 ft209 ft$32–$47
SING042standard nonelectric30 ftyes124 ft545 ft320 ft$25–$40
SING044standard nonelectric40 ftyes74 ft397 ft264 ft$25–$40
SING045standard nonelectric35 ftyes83 ft334 ft280 ft$25–$40
SING046standard nonelectric40 ftyes68 ft242 ft168 ft$25–$40
SING047standard nonelectric40 ftyes74 ft329 ft252 ft$25–$40
SING048standard nonelectric30 ftyes34 ft201 ft109 ft$25–$40
SING049standard nonelectric40 ftyes80 ft290 ft194 ft$25–$40
SING050standard nonelectric99 ftyes82 ft232 ft135 ft$25–$40

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 52 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.95278, -78.73472
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Strasburg, VA, follow State Route 55 west for 18 miles to Wardensville, WV. Turn left on SR 23/10, and travel for about 6 miles. Turn right on CR 16, and travel for 6 miles. Turn left onto Forest Service Road 500, and drive about 1 mile to the Trout Pond Recreation Area entrance.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight42°Rain Showers Likely66% rain
Saturday48°Rain Showers Likely then Partly Sunny63% rain
Saturday Night31°Clear then Widespread Frost
Sunday53°Widespread Frost then Sunny

NWS forecast for Basye, VA

Typical weather

Typical October night 43°F, day 67°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical October night 43°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LURAY 5 E, VA (USC00445096), 28 miles away and 580 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Big Schloss12,375 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Big Schloss8,375 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Riley Moore, official portrait

Trout Pond Recreation Area is in West Virginia’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Riley Moore (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Riley M. Moore

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia

Dear Riley M. Moore,

I’m a constituent in West Virginia’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 50 campsites the agency files at Trout Pond Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trout Pond Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trout Pond Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trout Pond Recreation Area (George Washington National Forest, West Virginia) via campanac.com
To James C. Justice

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia

Dear James C. Justice,

I’m a constituent in West Virginia. I tried to camp at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 50 campsites the agency files at Trout Pond Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trout Pond Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trout Pond Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trout Pond Recreation Area (George Washington National Forest, West Virginia) via campanac.com
To Shelley Moore Capito

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia

Dear Shelley Moore Capito,

I’m a constituent in West Virginia. I tried to camp at Trout Pond Recreation Area, George Washington National Forest, West Virginia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 50 campsites the agency files at Trout Pond Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Trout Pond Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Trout Pond Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Trout Pond Recreation Area (George Washington National Forest, West Virginia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Today falls inside the season the agency publishes, and it has posted nothing else. That reading is ours.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.