ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 25 opens June 25.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$34–$65Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4130 on recreation.gov
82 ftLongest rig
9,710 ftElevation
628 ftWater · Virginia Creek
26.8 miNE of Yosemite Valley, CA
51%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Trumbull Lake Campground is located next to its scenic namesake at an elevation of 9,980 feet. The lake is one of ten alpine lakes in the area. Visitors enjoy fishing, canoeing and exploring local trails. Keep reading

Recreation

Trumbull Lake offers canoeing and fishing for rainbow, brown and brook trout in a beautiful natural setting.

Facilities

This campground contains several single-family sites, a few double sites and one triple site, all with picnic tables, food storage lockers and campfire rings with grills. A few sites closer to the water have partial lake views. picnic tables, food storage lockers and campfire rings with grills. A few sites closer to the water have partial lake views. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. Firewood is available for purchase from the host. Roads and parking spurs are dirt. Check in for campsites is 2pm, check out is noon.

Natural Features

The campground is situated on the shores of quiet Trumbull Lake, a 100-acre lake surrounded by towering peaks and glacier-carved cirques. A dense forest of lodgepole pine covers the campground, providing ample shade in most campsites. Aspens and summer wildflowers dot the landscape.

Nearby Attractions

The Virginia Lakes area is very close, offering additional canoeing and fishing. The Virginia Lake Trail, for hiking and horseback riding, provides access into the adjacent Hoover Wilderness Area and Yosemite National Park. Bodie State Park.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Caution: Black bears frequent the area; all food must be kept in approved containers

Rule

Opening and closing dates depend heavily upon weather conditions

Rule

A fee for extra vehicles will be collected at the campground

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

This campground has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

Click here for more info about the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forests

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
41
Hookups
None
Longest rig
82 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…to the water have partial lake views. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided.…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…have partial lake views. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. Firewood is…”
Bear boxes
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Boating
Fishing
Night sky · 111th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 6 days ago, 13 km away
Patchy color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (13 km) · Oct 10, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 30 of the 41 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 25, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 25, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$34–$65plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$76–$138DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Jun 25 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$34–$65
RV Nonelectric$34
Standard Nonelectric$34
Standard Nonelectric-Double Sites$50
Standard Nonelectric-Triple Site$65
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Sep 8, 2026 to Oct 11, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$42–$73
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$76–$138

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $34–$65 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

42 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 24 mapped sites
79 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop BDBL 006 49 ftLoop TRUM 007 49 ftLoop TRUM 013 52 ft

All 42 records

24 of 42 records located
Standard23RV / electric1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 24 of the 42 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 41 of the 42 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

BDBL002standard nonelectric37 ft99 ft571 ftLittle Valley64 ft$34–$65
BDBL006standard nonelectric18 ft49 ft736 ftLittle Valley236 ft$34–$65
BDBL009standard nonelectric42 ft122 ft524 ftTrumbull Lake599 ft$34–$65
MANAGEMENT SITES20type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES21type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES25type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES26type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES28type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES29type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES31type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES33type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES35type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES36type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITES45type not stated$34
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record45 ft$34
TRPL040standard nonelectric27 ft83 ft353 ftTrumbull Lake1,057 ft$34–$65
TRUM001standard nonelectric40 ft246 ft519 ft246 ft$34–$65
TRUM003standard nonelectric53 ft129 ft657 ftLittle Valley177 ft$34–$65
TRUM004standard nonelectric47 ft82 ft668 ftLittle Valley162 ft$34–$65
TRUM005standard nonelectric82 ft129 ft771 ftLittle Valley269 ft$34–$65
TRUM007standard nonelectric58 ft49 ft768 ftLittle Valley278 ft$34–$65
TRUM008standard nonelectric38 ft137 ft649 ftTrumbull Lake463 ft$34–$65
TRUM010rv nonelectric26 ft122 ft402 ftTrumbull Lake716 ft$34
TRUM011standard nonelectric27 ft95 ft282 ftTrumbull Lake846 ft$34–$65
TRUM012standard nonelectric52 ft80 ft191 ftTrumbull Lake970 ft$34–$65
TRUM013standard nonelectric46 ft52 ft182 ftTrumbull Lake1,038 ft$34–$65
TRUM014standard nonelectric26 ft52 ft191 ftTrumbull Lake1,084 ft$34–$65
TRUM015standard nonelectric32 ft57 ft229 ftTrumbull Lake1,106 ft$34–$65
TRUM016standard nonelectric39 ft58 ft278 ftTrumbull Lake979 ft$34–$65
TRUM017standard nonelectric60 ft64 ft297 ftTrumbull Lake886 ft$34–$65
TRUM018standard nonelectric29 ft68 ft356 ftTrumbull Lake798 ft$34–$65
TRUM019standard nonelectric40 ft$34–$65
TRUM027standard nonelectric$34–$65
TRUM030standard nonelectric$34–$65
TRUM032standard nonelectric$34–$65
TRUM034standard nonelectric$34–$65
TRUM037standard nonelectric$34–$65
TRUM038standard nonelectric38 ft83 ft215 ftTrumbull Lake1,191 ft$34–$65
TRUM039standard nonelectric32 ft72 ft283 ftTrumbull Lake1,125 ft$34–$65
TRUM041standard nonelectric30 ft58 ft313 ftTrumbull Lake921 ft$34–$65
TRUM042standard nonelectric42 ft66 ft363 ftTrumbull Lake832 ft$34–$65
TRUM043standard nonelectric32 ft78 ft434 ftTrumbull Lake728 ft$34–$65

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 42 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.05056, -119.25722
The phone760-932-7092
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today51°Sunny
Tonight32°Mostly Clear
Saturday52°Sunny
Saturday Night30°Clear

NWS forecast for Virginia Lakes, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Watch
Yosemite National Parkdefunding · 21 mi
Watch
Bodie Hillsmining · 22 mi
Roadless
Hoover - Virginia Lks5,050 acres · 1 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Hoover - Mt.olsen624 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Olsen2,161 acres · 2 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 3, 2026

Who answers for this land

Kevin Kiley, official portrait

Trumbull Lake is in California’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Kevin Kiley (I), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (13 km) · Oct 10, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: inside Virginia Lakes, CA (a census designated place). Straight line.