ReservableBookable through April 16; tomorrow opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:04 UTC
A night
$14–$28Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
47All of them booked ahead
156 ftLongest rig
210 ftElevation
404 ftWater · Sam Rayburn Reservoir
0.3 miW of Sam Rayburn, TX
46%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Twin Dikes Park is located on the waters of the Sam Rayburn Reservoir, in the Piney Woods of southeast Texas. The region lies in the migration path of warblers, vireos, and other species of neotropical migrants, so spring is an opportune time for birders to visit the park. Keep reading

Recreation

The lake is a highly popular recreation destination for boating and fishing. Game fish include largemouth bass, bluegill and channel catfish. The abundance of bass in the lake, has inspired more than 300 annual tournaments.

Facilities

The park features 48 campsites with 30 to 50 amp electric hookups, hot showers, a group picnic shelter and boat ramp.

Natural Features

Twin Dikes is on the southern shore of Sam Rayburn Reservoir, in the Big Thicket region of Texas, the densest portion of the Piney Woods, a region characterized by temperate coniferous forests. The 114,000-acre lake was impounded in 1965 along the Angelina River, and has an average depth of 80 feet with average clarity.

Nearby Attractions

The 20,700-acre Bannister Wildlife Management Area is on the northern peninsula of the lake. Hikers and bikers can come here to explore the designated Eastern Wild Turkey restoration site.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Camping is permitted at designated campsites only.

Rule

Camping fees are charged on a per site basis.

Rule

All park users (including campers) must register with the attendant prior to occupying a site.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

No golf carts or ATVs/UTVs allowed.

Rule

Use of developed sites for any reason (including picnicking) will require a camping fee.

Rule

The number of persons allowed per site is limited to ten (10).

Rule

Occupancy at each campsite is limited to two tents, or one tent and one trailer (including pop-up trailers, self-contained RVs and truck-mounted campers).

Rule

The number of vehicles per site shall be limited to two (2) per site. This does not include the camping unit. An extra vehicle tag may be purchased. America the Beautiful and Golden Age Passes do not allow entry into the park to visit a camp site.

Rule

Fires must be confined to fire rings.

Rule

All waste water, including gray water, must be properly disposed of at the park dump stations.

Rule

Quiet hours shall be observed between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Check-in time is 3:00 p.m. and check-out time is 2:00 p.m.

Rule

All pets must be on a leash under six feet in length.

Rule

Generators shall not be operated between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.

Rule

Fireworks are prohibited.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
47 · 17 tent-only, 3 cabin
Hookups
23 electric, 24 water, 4 sewer
Longest rig
156 ft
Paved pads
30 of 47
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Facilities The park features 48 campsites with 30 to 50 amp electric hookups, hot showers, a group picnic shelter and boat ramp.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River
Boating
Fishing
Hunting
Night sky · 57th darkest of 154 in TX
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

19 of 70 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:04 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$14–$28plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$64DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$28
Standard Nonelectric$14
Tent Only Nonelectric$14
Standard Electric 30 Amp$26
Standard Electric 30 Amp And Sewer$28
Standard Electric 50 Amp$28
Group areas, a night$30–$38
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$36
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$64

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$28 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:04 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

48 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 42 mapped sites
94 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
96%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop LOOA 13 44 ftLoop LOOA 14 44 ftLoop LOOB 21 51 ft

All 48 records

43 of 48 records located
Standard6Tent only17RV / electric15Cabin or shelter3Type not stated1Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 46 of the 48 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

LOOA01tent only nonelectric198 ft207 ft$14
LOOA02tent only nonelectric46 ft140 ft157 ft$14
LOOA03tent only nonelectric94 ft190 ft$14
LOOA04standard electric59 ft30 amp94 ft263 ft$26–$28
LOOA05standard electric63 ft30 amp82 ft299 ft$26–$28
LOOA06tent only nonelectric75 ft181 ft$14
LOOA07standard electric59 ft30 amp66 ft303 ft$26–$28
LOOA08tent only nonelectric75 ft193 ft$14
LOOA09tent only nonelectric72 ft254 ft$14
LOOA10tent only nonelectric72 ft324 ft$14
LOOA12standard electric65 ft50 amp65 ft393 ft$26–$28
LOOA13standard electric64 ft30 amp44 ft381 ft$26–$28
LOOA14standard electric79 ft30 amp44 ft369 ft$26–$28
LOOADU1day use15 amp120 ft393 ft$30
LOOAS1overnight shelter electric76 ft30 amp61 ft384 ft$38
LOOAS2overnight shelter electric58 ft30 amp61 ft371 ft$38
LOOAS3overnight shelter electric86 ft30 amp86 ft373 ft$38
LOOB15standard electric67 ft50 amp114 ft458 ft$26–$28
LOOB16type not stated77 ft50 amp382 ft
LOOB17standard electric71 ft50 amp62 ft397 ft$26–$28
LOOB18standard nonelectric156 ft123 ft281 ft$14
LOOB19standard electric75 ft50 amp62 ft370 ft$26–$28
LOOB21standard electric68 ft30 amp51 ft411 ft$26–$28
LOOB22standard electric97 ft30 amp51 ft432 ft$26–$28
LOOB23standard electric91 ft30 amp88 ft448 ft$26–$28
LOOB26tent only nonelectric103 ft262 ft$14
LOOB27standard nonelectric53 ft103 ft229 ft$14
LOOB28standard electric50 ft30 amp88 ft409 ft$26–$28
LOOB29standard nonelectric27 ft135 ft178 ft$14
LOOB30standard electric74 ft30 amp135 ft321 ft$26–$28
LOOB31standard electric89 ft30 amp162 ft378 ft$26–$28
LOOB32standard nonelectric104 ft133 ft256 ft$14
LOOB33standard nonelectric105 ft83 ft296 ft$14
LOOB34standard nonelectric145 ft83 ft305 ft$14
LOOB44standard electric82 ft50/50/30 amp$26–$28
LOOB45standard electric86 ft50/50/30 amp$26–$28
LOOB46standard electric71 ft50/50/30 amp$26–$28
LOOB47standard electric71 ft50/50/30 amp$26–$28
LOOB48standard electric72 ft50/50/30 amp$26–$28
LOOC35tent only nonelectric136 ft514 ft$14
LOOC36tent only nonelectric136 ft515 ft$14
LOOC37tent only nonelectric192 ft428 ft$14
LOOC38tent only nonelectric135 ft360 ft$14
LOOC39tent only nonelectric135 ft398 ft$14
LOOC40tent only nonelectric181 ft323 ft$14
LOOC41tent only nonelectric161 ft324 ft$14
LOOC42tent only nonelectric161 ft420 ft$14
LOOC43tent only nonelectric161 ft562 ft$14

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 48 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate31.07250, -94.05944
The phone409-384-5716
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Jasper, TX, take US 96 north 13 miles. Go west on Recreation Rd, (FM 255) for 5 miles to the park entrance.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon74°Sunny
Tonight55°Mostly Clear
Saturday69°Sunny
Saturday Night53°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Sam Rayburn, TX

Typical weather

Typical October night 59°F, day 81°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 41°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SAM RAYBURN DAM, TX (USC00417936), 3 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Brian Babin, official portrait

Twin Dikes is in Texas’s 36th congressional district. Its representative, Brian Babin (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.