U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · KY

Waitsboro Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 14:51 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 2 of the next 2 nights read 14:51 UTC
A night
$16–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2322 on recreation.gov
70 ftLongest rig
740 ftElevation
57 ftWater · Lake Cumberland
0.7 miS of Somerset, KY
31%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Waitsboro Campground is at 500 Waitsboro Road and is situated on beautiful Lake Cumberland in southern Kentucky. Click here for the Lake Cumberland virtual tour. Keep reading

Recreation

Lake Cumberland is the largest man-made lake east of the Mississippi River. Its large surface acreage and over 1,200 miles of shoreline provide a myriad of recreational activities. The lake has an abundance of largemouth, smallmouth, white and Kentucky bass, bluegill, crappie, rockfish and walleye, making it a favorite among anglers. The Black Walnut Nature Trail, located near the lake office, is a self-guided educational trail. The trail is open Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4pm EST.

Facilities

The campground offers 17 RV sites, all with electric hookups, and five tent-only sites. Eight of Waitsboro's sites are on the waterfront, making them prime locations for weekend recreation. Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, laundry facilities and a dump station. A day-use area with a group picnic shelter and a parking area is also available.

Natural Features

The campground overlooks the main body of the lake, offering sweeping scenic views. Dense stands of mature hardwoods forest the site, offering scenic views, pleasant shade and wildlife habitat. Because of the temperate climate and relatively long recreation season, the lake provides varied outdoor recreational opportunities for millions of visitors each year.

Nearby Attractions

General Burnside Island State Park is nearby. It was named after Civil War General Ambrose Burnside, who led patrols along the Cumberland River, circling this 400-acre island to keep watch for Confederate soldiers. Visitors come today to enjoy boating, fishing, golfing and picnicking on Kentucky's only island state park. Burnside Marina is 10 minutes away, with boat rentals, a restaurant and general store.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Check in time is 3:00 PM Eastern. Check out time is 12:00 PM Eastern.

Rule

Off-road vehicles not permitted.

Rule

Golf carts, scooters and moped vehicles are not authorized on project roadways unless handicap credentials can be established.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

America the Beautiful discount cards do not apply to group sites or shelters. Discount cards good for standard sites.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
23 · 4 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
18 electric, 21 water
Longest rig
70 ft
Paved pads
5 of 23
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 20 of 24 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 20 of 24 campsite records
Showers
Accessible Showers
ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 20 of 24 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
“…include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, laundry facilities and a dump station. A day-use…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Store
Nearby
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Night sky · 60th darkest of 60 in KY
Bortle 4
Cell signal · Cell signal · Army Corps says
Yes
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 14:51 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

4 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:43 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 18Bookable now through October 18, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 13, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 13, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$16–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, May 13 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$16
Tent Only Nonelectric$16
Standard Electric$22
Tent Only Electric$22
Standard Electric$30
Group areas, a night$35–$42
These are next season’s rates, Oct 5, 2026 to Oct 18, 2026. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 4

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:43 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 14:51 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

24 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 22 mapped sites
60 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
50%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop WAIT 08 41 ftLoop WAIT 12 41 ftLoop WAIT 17 41 ft

All 24 records

24 of 24 records located
Tent only4RV / electric16Group1Type not stated2Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 21 of the 24 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

WAIT01standard electric60 ft50 ampyes48 ft25 ft$22–$30
WAIT02standard electric50 ft50 amp44 ft48 ft$22–$30
WAIT03standard electric25 ft50 amp44 ft39 ft$22–$30
WAIT04standard electric53 ft50 amp51 ft41 ft$22–$30
WAIT05tent only nonelectric60 ft22 ft$16
WAIT06standard electric35 ft50 amp76 ft23 ft$22–$30
WAIT07standard electric27 ft50 amp76 ft32 ft$22–$30
WAIT08standard electric50 amp41 ft26 ft$22–$30
WAIT09type not stated45 ft50 ampunder 10 ft
WAIT10type not stated60 ft30 amp53 ft
WAIT11standard electric50 amp46 ft81 ft$22–$30
WAIT12standard electric50 amp41 ft57 ft$22–$30
WAIT13standard electric29 ft50 amp60 ft75 ft$22–$30
WAIT14tent only electric50 amp62 ft96 ft$22
WAIT15standard electric30 ft50 amp96 ft79 ft$22–$30
WAIT16standard electric25 ft50 amp65 ft86 ft$22–$30
WAIT17standard electric25 ft50 amp41 ft115 ft$22–$30
WAIT18standard electric70 ft50 amp41 ft140 ft$22–$30
WAIT19standard electric25 ft50 amp66 ft124 ft$22–$30
WAIT20tent only nonelectric24 ft66 ft190 ft$16
WAIT21tent only nonelectric20 ft99 ft110 ft$16
WAIT22standard electric50 ft50 amp99 ft152 ft$22–$30
WAIT9Ggroup standard electric50 amp46 ft36 ft$42
WAITA100day use1795 ft42 ft$35

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.00361, -84.62306
The phone606-561-5513
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today57°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Tonight35°Clear then Patchy Fog1% rain
Sunday66°Areas Of Frost then Sunny2% rain
Sunday Night34°Clear then Areas Of Frost1% rain

NWS forecast for Burnside, KY

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 71°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SOMERSET 2 N, KY (USC00157510), 8 miles away and 280 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Hal Rogers, official portrait

Waitsboro Campground is in Kentucky’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Hal Rogers (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Harold Rogers

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky

Dear Harold Rogers,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky’s 5th district. I tried to camp at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 22 of the 23 campsites the agency files at Waitsboro Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Waitsboro Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Waitsboro Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Waitsboro Campground (Kentucky) via campanac.com
To Mitch McConnell

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky

Dear Mitch McConnell,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky. I tried to camp at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 22 of the 23 campsites the agency files at Waitsboro Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Waitsboro Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Waitsboro Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Waitsboro Campground (Kentucky) via campanac.com
To Rand Paul

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky

Dear Rand Paul,

I’m a constituent in Kentucky. I tried to camp at Waitsboro Campground, Kentucky, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 22 of the 23 campsites the agency files at Waitsboro Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Waitsboro Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Waitsboro Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Waitsboro Campground (Kentucky) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 2 of the next 2 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“the agency's own site records list "CELL PHONE SERVICE" on 22 of 24 campsites here”

Nearest place of any size: inside Burnside, KY. Straight line.