1Heads up1 fire 12 mi away
Wildfire
Round House fire · 12 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 31, and from April 1 through April 15.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 16 of the next 16 nights read 15:35 UTC
A night
$15–$25Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5248 on recreation.gov
50 ftLongest rig
770 ftElevation
741 ftWater · an unnamed pond
1.9 miNW of Sand Springs, OK
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 2 notices

In the agency’s own words

Nestled along the north shore of Keystone Lake, Walnut Creek Recreation Area is surrounded by sandy beaches, high bluffs, native grasses, rock outcrops and rolling hills, making it the ideal retreat for fun and quiet relaxation. Along with camping, boating, and day use opportunities, the park also includes 17 miles of trail for hiking and equestrian access. Keep reading

Recreation

The park has camping, swimming, boat ramp, and 17 miles of hiking/equestrian trails.

Facilities

The park features 2 dump stations, 30 and 50 amp electrical service at campsites and water hookups. The campground has restroom/shower facility, backstop, and boat ramp. Walnut Creek's Sand Plum Trail is approximately 17 miles in length, crossing flat to rolling terrain, and affords many vistas of Keystone Lake. The trail is available to hikers, equestrians, and mountain bike enthusiasts. Trail users are advised to stay on designated trails; quicksand may occur along lakeshore.

Natural Features

Walnut Creek has numerous sandy beaches, rolling hills, native tall grasses, and pine forest.

Nearby Attractions

Keystone Ancient Forest Woolaroc Museum and Wildlife Preserve

What the agency tells you

Rule

BEGINNING APRIL 1, 2026: Check out time 1:00 PM, Check in time 3:00 PM Prior to April 1, 2026: Check out time is 4:00 PM, Check in time is 6:00 PM Quiet Hours: 10PM to 6AM Entrance gate is locked from 10PM to 6AM. Camping is permitted in designated campsites only. Each campsite is limited to 1 wheeled camping unit and 2 tents, or 3 tents. Camping is limited to 14 days within any 30 day period. Campers must occupy the campsite at least once during each 24 hour period. Campers shall keep their sites free of trash and litter during the period of occupancy and shall remove all personal equipment and clean their sites upon departure. Ground fires are restricted to metal fire rings. These are NOT trash receptacles, please leave them free of food and litter upon departure. All vehicles should have two wheels on pavement at all times; boat trailers are permitted on the grass. Please park extra vehicles in parking lots, not on empty camping pads.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
52 · 1 tent-only
Hookups
46 electric, 49 water, 4 sewer
Longest rig
50 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
49 of 52 sites
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“The campground has restroom/shower facility, backstop, and boat ramp.”
Drinking water
Yes
WATER (SEASONAL) on 9 of 53 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Beach
Backpacking
Biking
Birding
Boating
Hiking
Horseback riding
Jet Skiing
Kayaking
Motor Boat
Mountain biking
Picnicking
Sailing
Scenic drives
Stargazing
Night sky · 93rd darkest of 106 in OK
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

42 of 96 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:35 UTC

recreation.gov lists 48 of the 52 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 1, 2027 through April 15, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 16, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$15–$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38–$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$15–$25
Tent Only Nonelectric$15
RV Electric$25
Standard Electric$25
Group area, a night$30
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23–$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38–$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $15–$25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:35 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

53 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 37 mapped sites
48 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomHitching Post 11 29 ftHitching Post 12 29 ftHitching Post 13 34 ft

All 53 records

40 of 53 records located
RV / electric37Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 47 of the 53 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Hitching Post10standard electric30/50 amp63 ft1,099 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post11standard electric50 ft30/50 amp29 ft1,085 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post12standard electric30/50 amp29 ft1,114 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post13standard electric30/50 amp34 ft1,093 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post14standard electric30/50 amp34 ft1,060 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post15standard electric30/50 amp52 ft1,056 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post16standard electric30/50 amp52 ft1,009 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post17standard electric30/50 amp62 ft949 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post18standard electric30/50 amp96 ft952 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post19standard electric30/50 amp96 ft932 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post20standard electric30/50 amp37 ft859 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post21standard electric30/50 amp37 ft886 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post22type not stated30/50 amp996 ftKeystone Lake
Hitching Post23standard electric30/50 amp46 ft937 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post24standard electric30/50 amp46 ft897 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post25standard electric30/50 amp47 ft860 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post26standard electric30/50 amp49 ft792 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post27standard electric30/50 amp41 ft779 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post28standard electric30/50 amp44 ft757 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post29standard electric30/50 amp39 ft748 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post30standard electric30/50 amp39 ft709 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post31standard electric30/50 amp48 ft673 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post32standard electric30/50 amp62 ft660 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post33standard electric30/50 amp72 ft667 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post34standard electric30/50 amp111 ft660 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post35standard electric30/50 amp38 ft766 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post36standard electric30/50 amp38 ft786 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post37standard electric30/50 amp64 ft819 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post38type not stated30/50 amp866 ftKeystone Lake
Hitching Post39standard electric30/50 amp86 ft880 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post40type not stated30/50 amp923 ftKeystone Lake
Hitching Post8standard electric30/50 amp52 ft1,036 ftKeystone Lake$25
Hitching Post9standard electric30/50 amp52 ft1,063 ftKeystone Lake$25
New Frontier43standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier44standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier45standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier46standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier47standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier48standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier49standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier50standard electric30/50 amp$25
New Frontier51standard electric30/50 amp$25
Sailboat87standard electric30/50 amp34 ft530 ft$25
Sailboat88standard electric30/50 amp34 ft557 ft$25
Sailboat89standard electric30/50 amp43 ft599 ft$25
Sailboat90standard electric30/50 amp60 ft658 ft$25
Sailboat91standard electric30/50 amp57 ft652 ftKeystone Lake$25
Sailboat92standard electric30/50 amp48 ft616 ftKeystone Lake$25
Sailboat93standard electric30/50 amp48 ft610 ftKeystone Lake$25
Sailboat94tent only nonelectric$15
Sailboat95type not stated30/50 amp
Sailboat96type not stated30/50 amp
SailboatGS1day use30 amp$30

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 53 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.25278, -96.27997
The phone918-865-2621
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From 412 take the 209th Street Exit West of Sand Springs, Drive about 8 mile and turn South on to County Road 1521 just past Prue, OK. Drive about 2 miles to the park entrance.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today58°Mostly Sunny
Tonight39°Mostly Clear
Saturday59°Sunny
Saturday Night40°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Prue, OK

Typical weather

Typical October night 50°F, day 74°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MANNFORD 6 NW, OK (USC00345522), 11 miles away and 60 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Frank Lucas, official portrait

Walnut Creek is in Oklahoma’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Frank Lucas (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 16 of the next 16 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Prue, OK, 0.4 mi WNW. Straight line.