U.S. Forest Service · Targhee National Forest · ID

Warm River

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 14 opens May 14.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
OpenInside the published season, our reading; a database flag says not open
A night
$25–$50Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2524 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1Opens May 1. No closing date published.
45 ftLongest rig
5,300 ftElevation
46 ftWater · Warm River
6.8 miNE of Ashton, ID
23%Tree cover
Opens May 1. No closing date published.Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Warm River Campground is located on its namesake in the Caribou-Targhee National Forest of southwestern Idaho. Visitors love the campground for its river tubing opportunities. Fishing and hiking are popular as well. Keep reading

Recreation

Warm River is a popular location for tubing and fishing. Anglers cast for whitefish, brook, rainbow and cutthroat trout. Numerous hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding trails are in the immediate area, leading to natural springs, waterfalls and old railroad lines and tunnels.

Facilities

The campground offers one large group site that can accommodate up to 100 guests. Several single sites are also available, 11 of which are for tent camping only. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.

Natural Features

The campground is situated along the slow-moving Warm River at an elevation of 5,200 feet. Thickets of willow line the riverbanks and pine trees offer partial shade.

Nearby Attractions

Ashton, Idaho, about 9 miles away, offers gas and grocery services. Island Park is nearby, with numerous lakes, rivers, streams and trails, offering plentiful outdoor activities for visitors of all ages. Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks are within a couple hour's drive as well, with outstanding scenery and wildlife.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Wildlife Caution

Rule

Idaho Off-road Vehicle Safety Message

Rule

A $7 fee for each extra vehicle will be collected at the campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Off-road vehicles not permitted

Rule

Please bring reservation confirmation to the campground

Rule

Walk-in sites may be available

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
25 · 10 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
1 electric, 2 water
Longest rig
45 ft
Paved pads
9 of 25
Accessible sites
8
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…11 of which are for tent camping only. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided.…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…for tent camping only. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. Firewood is…”
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, River, Creek
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Water sports
Night sky · 364th darkest of 523 in ID
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 24 of the 25 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 14, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 14, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$25–$50plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$108DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 14 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$50
Standard Nonelectric$25
Tent Only Nonelectric$25
Standard Electric$31
Standard NonElecetric Double Site$50
Tent Only NonElectric Double Site$50
Group area, a night$100
These are next season’s rates, May 14, 2027 to Sep 29, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$7

“A $7 fee for each extra vehicle will be collected at the campground.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$58
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$108

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$50 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

37 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 24 mapped sites
67 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop TENT 009 46 ftLoop TENT 015 46 ftLoop TENT 014 46 ft

All 37 records

25 of 37 records located
Standard12Tent only10RV / electric1Group1Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 25 of the 37 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 25 of the 37 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

GRPGS-1group standard nonelectric25 ft208 ft34 ft350 ft$100
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record40 ftyes$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX1unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX10unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX11unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX2unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX3unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX4unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX5unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX6unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX7unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX8unnamed record$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX9unnamed record$40
SING001standard nonelectric40 ft68 ft95 ft341 ft$25–$50
SING002standard nonelectric40 ft68 ft42 ft299 ft$25–$50
SING003standard nonelectric35 ft75 ft124 ft266 ft$25–$50
SING004standard nonelectric45 ft81 ft52 ft203 ft$25–$50
SING005standard nonelectric40 ft75 ft130 ft193 ft$25–$50
SING006standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft115 ft115 ft$25–$50
SING022standard nonelectric30 ftyes68 ft66 ft88 ft$25–$50
SING023standard nonelectric30 ftyes56 ft131 ft47 ft$25–$50
SING024standard nonelectric30 ftyes72 ft62 ft141 ft$25–$50
SING025standard nonelectric30 ftyes56 ft135 ft98 ft$25–$50
SING026type not stated30 ft50 ampyes115 ft170 ft$40
SING027standard electric30 ft50 ampyes171 ft59 ft282 ft$31
TENT007tent only nonelectric40 ft67 ft112 ft195 ft$25–$50
TENT008tent only nonelectric40 ft67 ft49 ft249 ft$25–$50
TENT009tent only nonelectric40 ft46 ft108 ft295 ft$25–$50
TENT012tent only nonelectric40 ft60 ft14 ft320 ft$25–$50
TENT013tent only nonelectric40 ft60 ft38 ft346 ft$25–$50
TENT014tent only nonelectric40 ft46 ft76 ft355 ft$25–$50
TENT015tent only nonelectric40 ft46 ft122 ft323 ft$25–$50
TENT016tent only nonelectric40 ft50 ft21 ft401 ft$25–$50
TENT017tent only nonelectric40 ft50 ft55 ft406 ft$25–$50
TENT018tent only nonelectric40 ft52 ft106 ft385 ft$25–$50
WARM019standard nonelectric30 ftyes72 ft90 ft89 ft$25–$50
WARM020standard nonelectric30 ftyes72 ft154 ft92 ft$25–$50

The agency files 12 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 37 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate44.12000, -111.31361
The phone208-558-7658
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight32°Mostly Clear
Saturday60°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night32°Partly Cloudy
Sunday60°Sunny

NWS forecast for Warm River, ID

Typical weather

Typical May night 40°F, day 65°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical May night 40°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ASHTON 1N, ID (USC00100470), 8 miles away and 88 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Mike Simpson, official portrait

Warm River is in Idaho’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Simpson (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Today falls inside the season the agency publishes, and it has posted nothing else. That reading is ours. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Warm River, ID, 0 mi E. Straight line.