ReservableOut of season; bookable April 16 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$16–$26Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7862 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
880 ftElevation
327 ftWater · Pomme de Terre Lake
11.6 miNE of Humansville, MO
33%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Wheatland Park sits along the sparkling shores of Pomme de Terre Lake, known as the "gem of the Ozarks," for its deep, clear waters. The phrase "Pomme de Terre" is French for potato or "apple of the earth." Most likely, the river was named by early French trappers and fur traders, who discovered plants resembling potatoes on the riverbanks. Keep reading

Recreation

Pomme de Terre Lake is popular among water skiers and anglers. A number of coves on the lake provide seclusion for ideal fishing conditions, regardless of power boating on other areas of the lake. Largemouth bass, crappie and white bass are common catches, but it is the stocked muskie fishing that is particularly popular as muskie are rare to the region.

Facilities

Wheatland Park has 35 campsites with electric and water hookups and 6 sites with electric hookups only. The accessible group picnic shelter fits up to 75 guests and has electricity. Additional amenities include two shower houses, a boat ramp, courtesy dock, playground and a swim beach.

Natural Features

Pomme de Terre Lake is located in the rugged, tree-topped hills of the west-central Missouri Ozarks. The lake is long and winding with 7,790 surface acres and 113 miles of shoreline.

Nearby Attractions

An excellent golf course and one of the country's best dirt race tracks are near Wheatland Park.

What the agency tells you

Rule

There is no limited Camping Season this Fall/Winter in Wheatland Park. During the off-season, there is a limited camping season that only has electricity available. $10 per night, Dates: March 15 - April 15, October 1 - November 30.

Rule

All reservations must be made through the Recreation.gov website or app. Search for Recreation.gov on the Apple Store or Play Store to download the app for free. Reservations can also be made by calling the Recreation.gov reservation line at (877) 444-6777.

Rule

All campers must check in at the Park Attendant Booth during booth hours when arriving. Booth hours are posted on the booth and are subject to change.

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

America the Beautiful Passes must be verified when camping. A physical or digital pass must be presented with identification upon checking in. Failure to do so may result in the removal of your pass from a reservation.

Rule

Campsites 18, 25, 28, 29, 31, and 82 have two pedestals. The second pedestal acts as another campsite, can only be used if the campground is full, and must be purchased separately. This can be done at the Park Attendant Booth during booth hours.

Rule

There is no first-come-first-serve window. All reservations can be made from the current day up to six months in advance. Campers are still limited to camping 14 consecutive days at a campground.

Rule

Reservation tags will no longer be posted. With current day reservations available, it is the camper’s responsibility to check if a campsite has been reserved.

Rule

Current “first-come-first-served” campsites have become “by reservation." These campsites are now reservable online or over the phone through Recreation.gov.

Rule

Cash and checks will no longer be accepted. Recreation.gov and their reservation line will take credit and debit cards.

Rule

Additional fees will be charged for additional camping units

Rule

Please wear a lifejacket when participating in water activities

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
78
Hookups
61 electric, 41 water
Longest rig
45 ft
Paved pads
20 of 78
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Additional amenities include two shower houses, a boat ramp, courtesy dock, playground and a swim beach.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
28 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Swimming
Night sky · 79th darkest of 118 in MO
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 62 of the 78 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowFrom April 16Out of season now. Bookable for April 16, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay28 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$16–$26plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$60DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 16 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$26
Nonelectric (PREMIUM)$16
Tent Only Nonelectric (BASIC)$16
Electric (BASIC)$24
Electric & Water$26
Group areas, a night$20–$30
These are next season’s rates, Apr 16, 2027 to Sep 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$34
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$60

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

79 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 62 mapped sites
56 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop WPAR 71 28 ftLoop WPAR 72 28 ftLoop WPAR 73 31 ft

All 79 records

79 of 79 records located
RV / electric61Type not stated17Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 79 of the 79 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 61 of the 79 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

WPAR01standard electric35 ft30 amp65 ft638 ft1,583 ft$24–$26
WPAR02standard electric30 ft30 ampyes78 ft690 ft1,592 ft$24–$26
WPAR03standard electric35 ft30 amp55 ft569 ft1,630 ft$24–$26
WPAR04standard electric40 ft30 amp55 ft515 ft1,666 ft$24–$26
WPAR05standard electric30 ft30 amp76 ft449 ft1,697 ft$24–$26
WPAR06standard electric40 ft30 amp74 ft364 ft1,774 ft$24–$26
WPAR07standard electric40 ft30 amp59 ft323 ft1,774 ft$24–$26
WPAR08standard electric30 ft30 amp74 ft400 ft1,712 ft$24–$26
WPAR09standard electric40 ft50 amp52 ft236 ft1,808 ft$24–$26
WPAR10standard electric35 ft30 amp40 ft283 ft1,793 ft$24–$26
WPAR11type not stated35 ft50 amp195 ft1,850 ft
WPAR12standard electric35 ft30 amp40 ft247 ft1,833 ft$24–$26
WPAR13standard electric40 ft50 amp87 ft128 ft1,916 ft$24–$26
WPAR14standard electric35 ft30 amp49 ft199 ft1,881 ft$24–$26
WPAR15standard electric40 ft50 amp86 ft112 ft1,929 ft$24–$26
WPAR16type not stated35 ft50 amp178 ft1,864 ft
WPAR17standard electric35 ft50 amp55 ft235 ft1,807 ft$24–$26
WPAR18standard electric35 ft50 amp52 ft205 ft1,834 ft$24–$26
WPAR19standard electric30 ft50 amp53 ft281 ft1,759 ft$24–$26
WPAR20type not stated28 ftunder 10 ft2,052 ft
WPAR21type not stated25 ft64 ft2,037 ft
WPAR22standard electric30 ft30 amp59 ft109 ft1,981 ft$24–$26
WPAR23standard electric40 ft50 amp86 ft68 ft1,979 ft$24–$26
WPAR24standard electric35 ft50 amp67 ft153 ft1,894 ft$24–$26
WPAR25standard electric35 ft50 amp38 ft220 ft1,828 ft$24–$26
WPAR26standard electric35 ft50 amp38 ft228 ft1,792 ft$24–$26
WPAR27standard electric30 ft30 amp50 ft144 ft1,932 ft$24–$26
WPAR28standard electric40 ft30 amp36 ft169 ft1,857 ft$24–$26
WPAR29standard electric35 ft30 amp36 ft134 ft1,837 ft$24–$26
WPAR30standard electric35 ft30 amp50 ft98 ft1,916 ft$24–$26
WPAR31standard electric35 ft30 amp46 ft91 ft1,805 ft$24–$26
WPAR33type not stated45 ft30 amp130 ft1,771 ft
WPAR35type not stated45 ft30 amp166 ft1,760 ft
WPAR37standard electric30 ft50 amp53 ft292 ft1,708 ft$24–$26
WPAR38standard electric45 ft30 amp99 ft397 ft1,525 ft$24–$26
WPAR44type not stated40 ft30 amp571 ft1,343 ft
WPAR45standard electric40 ft30 amp70 ft744 ft1,295 ft$24–$26
WPAR46standard electric35 ft30 amp62 ft709 ft1,364 ft$24–$26
WPAR47standard electric40 ft30 amp86 ft812 ft1,342 ft$24–$26
WPAR48standard electric35 ft30 amp47 ft734 ft1,406 ft$24–$26
WPAR49standard electric30 ft30 amp62 ft638 ft1,354 ft$24–$26
WPAR50standard electric35 ft30 amp63 ft582 ft1,403 ft$24–$26
WPAR51standard electric35 ft30 amp62 ft646 ft1,409 ft$24–$26
WPAR52standard electric30 ft30 amp90 ft492 ft1,464 ft$24–$26
WPAR53standard electric30 ft30 amp56 ft570 ft1,484 ft$24–$26
WPAR54standard electric35 ft30 amp60 ft484 ft1,624 ft$24–$26
WPAR55standard electric30 ft30 amp56 ft549 ft1,537 ft$24–$26
WPAR56standard electric40 ft30 amp60 ft534 ft1,596 ft$24–$26
WPAR57standard electric40 ft30 amp64 ft602 ft1,506 ft$24–$26
WPAR58standard electric40 ft30 amp61 ft592 ft1,563 ft$24–$26
WPAR59standard electric35 ft30 amp64 ft656 ft1,476 ft$24–$26
WPAR60standard electric45 ft30 amp61 ft645 ft1,536 ft$24–$26
WPAR61standard electric30 ft30 amp47 ft715 ft1,445 ft$24–$26
WPAR62type not stated626 ft771 ft
WPAR63type not stated553 ft820 ft
WPAR64type not stated517 ft896 ft
WPAR65type not stated544 ft980 ft
WPAR66type not stated587 ft1,065 ft
WPAR67type not stated570 ft1,154 ft
WPAR68standard electric30 ft30 amp71 ft324 ft1,605 ft$24–$26
WPAR69standard electric40 ft30 amp45 ft317 ft1,677 ft$24–$26
WPAR70standard electric35 ft30 amp42 ft332 ft1,719 ft$24–$26
WPAR71standard electric35 ft30 amp28 ft332 ft1,761 ft$24–$26
WPAR72standard electric40 ft30 amp28 ft319 ft1,789 ft$24–$26
WPAR73standard electric35 ft30 amp31 ft297 ft1,819 ft$24–$26
WPAR74standard electric35 ft30 amp40 ft265 ft1,854 ft$24–$26
WPAR75standard electric30 ft30 amp43 ft220 ft1,898 ft$24–$26
WPAR76standard electric40 ft30 amp43 ft192 ft1,939 ft$24–$26
WPAR77standard electric40 ft30 amp44 ft157 ft1,981 ft$24–$26
WPAR78standard electric40 ft30 amp38 ft120 ft2,022 ft$24–$26
WPAR79standard electric35 ft30 amp38 ft98 ft2,061 ft$24–$26
WPAR80standard electric35 ft30 amp62 ft197 ft2,008 ft$24–$26
WPAR81standard electric25 ft30 amp62 ft213 ft1,950 ft$24–$26
WPAR82standard electric30 ft30 amp76 ft235 ft1,877 ft$24–$26
WPAR83type not stated35 ft30 amp230 ft1,806 ft
WPAR84type not stated208 ft1,155 ft
WPAR85type not stated270 ft1,059 ft
WPAR86type not stated285 ft983 ft
WPARS1day use15 ampyes135 ft175 ft1,804 ft$20–$30

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 79 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.87556, -93.37444
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Springfield, MO, take Highway 13 North to Bolivar, MO, then travel on Highway 83 northeast past Elkton, MO to Highway 254. Follow Highway 254 E to The Triangle and take CR205 South. Follow signs to park.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight38°Mostly Clear
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night40°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny

NWS forecast for Wheatland, MO

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 70°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BOLIVAR 1 NE, MO (USC00230789), 18 miles away and 107 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Mark Alford, official portrait

Wheatland Park is in Missouri’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Mark Alford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Wheatland, MO, 3.8 mi SSE. Straight line.