U.S. Forest Service · Dixie National Forest · UT

White Bridge

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 5 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:51 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights; a database flag says not open read 15:51 UTC
A night
$30–$60Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2928 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
7,860 ftElevation
108 ftWater · Panguitch Creek
8.5 miSW of Panguitch, UT
31%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

White Bridge Campground is located just 12 miles southwest of Panguitch, Utah and 55 miles northeast of Cedar City. Visitors enjoy fishing, canoeing on nearby Panguitch Lake and exploring local trails. Keep reading

Recreation

Campers enjoy fishing for rainbow trout in Panguitch Creek. Hiking and biking are popular activities around the campground. The Panguitch Lake ATV Trail System offers 100+ miles of trails and can be accessed nearby.

Facilities

White Bridge offers several family campsites. The sites along the creek have natural shade, while the sites across the loop road are more open and equipped with picnic shelters for shade. Flush and vault toilets are provided, as is drinking water and a dump station. OHV/ATV's including street legal are allowed in the campground for ingress and egress only (to and from your campsite to the road). Joy riding in the campground is not allowed.

Natural Features

The campground is situated high on the Colorado Plateau at an elevation of 7,900 feet. Panguitch Creek runs alongside the campground. Cottonwoods line the creek and aspens, pinion and juniper dot the sagebrush-covered landscape.

Nearby Attractions

White Bridge is just 6 miles from Panguitch Lake. Some of the state's largest rainbow trout are fished from the lake each year, and aptly so; "Panguitch" comes from the Paiute word meaning "big fish." Anglers will also find brook, cutthroat and brown trout. Canoeing is a popular activity on this small body of water. Boat ramps are located on the south shore and at Wildlife Point. Cedar Breaks National Monument, with hiking trails and guided tours, is 16 miles from White Bridge. Just outside Cedar Breaks is the Ashdown Gorge Wilderness Area, where hikers will find 10 miles of trails and the Twisted Forest, a stand of ancient bristlecone pine. Bryce Canyon National Park is just over an hour away, with breathtaking scenery and excellent hiking opportunities.

What the agency tells you

Rule

CHECK IN: Begins at 2 PM. CHECK OUT: By 11 AM.

Rule

A daily fee will be charged and collected at the campground for extra vehicles. Come prepared to pay onsite.

Rule

OHV/ATV's including street legal are allowed in the campground for ingress and egress only ( to and from your site to the road). Joy riding in the campground is not allowed.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

For information about ATV policies, call the Cedar City Ranger District at 435-865-3200

Rule

Check with Utah Dept. of Natural Resources for fishing, lake conditions, and vessel size allowed.

Rule

Food services, lodging, and boat rentals available at commercial facilities around Panguitch Lake

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Any accepted senior passes must be entered for the discount at the time of booking for single sites only.

Rule

Customer Service Please Contact 801-226-3564 or Help.Dixie.CedarCity@AmericanLL.com

Rule

Click here to learn more about the Dixie National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
29
Hookups
None
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
11 of 29
Accessible sites
None listed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…picnic shelters for shade. Flush and vault toilets are provided, as is drinking water and a dump…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…and vault toilets are provided, as is drinking water and a dump station. OHV/ATV's including street…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 152nd darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 24 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (24 km) · Oct 4, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:51 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:31 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 5 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 15 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:51 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 30Bookable now through October 30, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 28, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 28, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$60plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$128DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAmerican Land & LeisureA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 28 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$60
Standard Nonelectric-Sngl$30
Standard Nonelectric Double$60
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$68
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$128

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$60 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:31 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:51 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

29 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 28 mapped sites
67 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop WHIT 004 44 ftLoop WHIT 005 44 ftLoop WHIT 020 49 ft

All 29 sites

29 of 29 sites located
Standard28Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 28 of the 29 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

WHIT001standard nonelectric35 ft145 ft35 ft$30–$60
WHIT002standard nonelectric29 ft114 ft23 ft$30–$60
WHIT003standard nonelectric50 ft60 ft32 ft$30–$60
WHIT004standard nonelectric60 ft44 ft11 ft$30–$60
WHIT005standard nonelectric60 ft44 ftunder 10 ft$30–$60
WHIT006standard nonelectric40 ft52 ftunder 10 ft$30–$60
WHIT007standard nonelectric50 ft52 ftunder 10 ft$30–$60
WHIT008standard nonelectric60 ft62 ftunder 10 ft$30–$60
WHIT009standard nonelectric42 ft71 ft109 ft$30–$60
WHIT010standard nonelectric45 ft66 ftunder 10 ft$30–$60
WHIT011standard nonelectric35 ft71 ft141 ft$30–$60
WHIT012standard nonelectric39 ft59 ft94 ft$30–$60
WHIT013standard nonelectric35 ft66 ft18 ft$30–$60
WHIT014standard nonelectric35 ft59 ft94 ft$30–$60
WHIT015standard nonelectric37 ft55 ft27 ft$30–$60
WHIT016standard nonelectric55 ft55 ft11 ft$30–$60
WHIT017standard nonelectric34 ft81 ft156 ft$30–$60
WHIT018standard nonelectric37 ft91 ft83 ft$30–$60
WHIT019standard nonelectric60 ft50 ft19 ft$30–$60
WHIT020standard nonelectric47 ft49 ft33 ft$30–$60
WHIT021standard nonelectric34 ft49 ft38 ft$30–$60
WHIT022standard nonelectric60 ft97 ft149 ft$30–$60
WHIT023standard nonelectric30 ft78 ft141 ft$30–$60
WHIT024standard nonelectric39 ft78 ft64 ft$30–$60
WHIT025standard nonelectric50 ft84 ft42 ft$30–$60
WHIT026standard nonelectric52 ft82 ft70 ft$30–$60
WHIT027standard nonelectric40 ft84 ft41 ft$30–$60
WHIT028standard nonelectric60 ft157 ft55 ft$30–$60
WHIT029type not stated30 ftunder 10 ft

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 29 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon56°Sunny
Tonight33°Clear
Saturday56°Sunny
Saturday Night37°Mostly Cloudy5% rain

NWS forecast for Panguitch, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 34°F, day 64°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 18°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ALTON, UT (USC00420086), 22 miles away and 762 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bunker Creek7,474 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Celeste Maloy, official portrait

White Bridge is in Utah’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Celeste Maloy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Celeste Maloy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah

Dear Celeste Maloy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 29 campsites the agency files at White Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. White Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run White Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about White Bridge (Dixie National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 29 campsites the agency files at White Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. White Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run White Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about White Bridge (Dixie National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at White Bridge, Dixie National Forest, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 29 campsites the agency files at White Bridge, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. White Bridge keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run White Bridge. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about White Bridge (Dixie National Forest, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (24 km) · Oct 4, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.