ReservableBookable through October 31; an off-peak season follows March 1 to March 31.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 16 of the next 16 nights read 15:22 UTC
A night
$23–$25Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
27All of them booked ahead
490 ftElevation
473 ftWater · Robert S Kerr Reservoir
3.8 miS of Sallisaw, OK
59%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 47th darkest of 106 in OK

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Applegate Cove sits along the shady banks of Robert S. Kerr Reservoir. Keep reading

Recreation

With over 250 miles of shoreline and 43,000 surface acres, R.S. Kerr has long been recognized for its outstanding fishing. Crappie, sand bass, catfish, and black bass in the lake reach record size. Boating and kayaking are popular activities in the area. A boat ramp is provided at the campground for easy access to the water. A variety of hiking trails wind throughout the hills and along the shoreline, offering additional activities for campers.

Facilities

Applegate Cove contains 27 campsites, two playgrounds, a boat ramp and courtesy dock.

Natural Features

Robert S. Kerr Reservoir is located within the Cookson Hills, on the Arkansas River in Sequoyah, Le Flore, Haskell, and Muskogee counties in eastern Oklahoma, US. It is about eight miles south of the nearest major town, Sallisaw, Oklahoma. The reservoir is impounded by Robert S. Kerr Lock and Dam at river mile 336.2 (km 541.1) on the Arkansas River, just a few miles below its confluence with the Canadian River. The lock and dam are part of the McClellan-Kerr Arkansas River Navigation System, which provides for barge navigation on the Arkansas River and some of its tributaries. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (918) 487-5252.

What the agency tells you

Rule

- Gates open at 6AM and close at 10PM - Check out Time 3PM, Check in Time 6PM - Quiet Hours: 10PM to 6AM - Camping is permitted in designated campsites only.  - Each campsite is limited to 1 wheeled camping unit with up to 3 tents.  - Camping is limited to 14 consecutive days within any 30 day period. This applies to all members of the camping party and the camping unit. - Campers must occupy the campsite at least once during each 24 hour period. Abandoned personal property may be subject to impoundment after 24 hours. - Each campsite may not have its own water spigot, some share with adjacent sites.  - Campers shall keep their sites free of trash and litter during the period of occupancy and shall remove all personal equipment and clean their sites upon departure. - Fires must be contained within the fire ring or grill provided. These are NOT trash receptacles, please leave them free of food and litter upon departure.  - Pets must remain restrained on a leash or penned at all times. Pets are NOT allowed on swim beaches or in bathrooms. - Grey water and sewage must be properly disposed of in the provided dump station receptacle. Disposal of any water or waste on the ground is prohibited.   - Fireworks are prohibited. - Fishing and hunting are regulated by federal and state laws.

Rule

When you have reserved and are occupying your campsite, a volunteer will check you in during their daily rounds. Thank you.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
27
Hookups
26 electric, 27 water
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Beach
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

15 of 54 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:22 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the peak season. The off-peak season that follows runs March 1, 2027 through March 31, 2027; recreation.gov releases it on its own schedule, so check there before counting on those nights.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$23–$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$54–$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$23–$25
30 Amp Electric and Water$23
50 Amp$25
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$31–$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$54–$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $23–$25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:22 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

28 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 26 mapped sites
65 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room20 48 ft22 48 ft24 49 ft

All 28 records

27 of 28 records located
RV / electric26Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 26 of the 28 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

01standard electric50 amp96 ft494 ft$23–$25
02standard electric50 amp67 ft479 ft$23–$25
03standard electric50 amp105 ft599 ft$23–$25
04standard electric50 amp65 ft518 ft$23–$25
05standard electric50 amp65 ft562 ft$23–$25
06standard electric50 amp99 ft691 ft$23–$25
07standard electric50 amp99 ft635 ft$23–$25
08standard electric50 amp95 ft704 ft$23–$25
09standard electric50 amp95 ft616 ft$23–$25
10standard electric50 amp63 ft561 ft$23–$25
11standard electric50 amp63 ft550 ft$23–$25
12standard electric50 amp80 ft490 ft$23–$25
13standard electric50 amp104 ft423 ft$23–$25
14type not stated30 amp427 ft
15standard electric30 amp113 ft402 ft$23–$25
16standard electric30 amp113 ft417 ft$23–$25
17standard electric30 amp68 ft456 ft$23–$25
18standard electric30 amp64 ft403 ft$23–$25
19standard electric30 amp59 ft362 ft$23–$25
20standard electric30 amp48 ft433 ft$23–$25
21standard electric30 amp59 ft310 ft$23–$25
22standard electric30 amp48 ft401 ft$23–$25
23standard electric30 amp51 ft258 ft$23–$25
24standard electric30 amp49 ft345 ft$23–$25
25standard electric30 amp51 ft216 ft$23–$25
26standard electric30 amp49 ft316 ft$23–$25
27standard electric30 amp57 ft193 ft$23–$25
PS1day use15 ampyes$50

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 28 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.36119, -94.82457
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Head south on US-59 out of Sallisaw, OK for 7 miles, turn right at Pier 7 General Store onto E1140 Rd for 2.4 miles, where road forks, keep left towards Applegate Cove Marina and you will dead end at your destination of Applegate Cove Campground

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight45°Partly Cloudy
Saturday63°Sunny
Saturday Night45°Clear
Sunday66°Sunny

NWS forecast for Brent, OK

Typical weather

Typical October night 50°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SALLISAW 2 NW, OK (USC00347862), 7 miles away and 170 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Josh Brecheen, official portrait

Applegate Cove is in Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Josh Brecheen (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 16 of the next 16 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: inside Brent, OK (a census designated place). Straight line.