U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · OK

Short Mountain Cove

ReservableBookable through October 31; an off-peak season follows March 1 to March 31.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 16 of the next 16 nights read 15:35 UTC
A night
$23–$25Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
42All of them booked ahead
470 ftElevation
63 ftWater · Robert S Kerr Reservoir
6.7 miS of Sallisaw, OK
53%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 46th darkest of 106 in OK

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Short Mountain Cove sits along the shady banks of Robert S. Kerr Reservoir. Keep reading

Recreation

With over 250 miles of shoreline and 43,000 surface acres, R.S. Kerr has long been recognized for its outstanding fishing. Crappie, sand bass, catfish, and black bass in the lake reach record size. Boating and kayaking are popular activities in the area. A boat ramp is provided at the campground for easy access to the water. A variety of hiking trails wind throughout the hills and along the shoreline, offering additional activities for campers.

Facilities

Short Mountain Cove contains 42 campsites, 2 playgrounds, a basketball goal, boat ramp and courtesy dock.

Natural Features

Robert S. Kerr Reservoir is located within the Cookson Hills, on the Arkansas River in Sequoyah, Le Flore, Haskell, and Muskogee counties in eastern Oklahoma, US. It is about eight miles south of the nearest major town, Sallisaw, Oklahoma. The reservoir is impounded by Robert S. Kerr Lock and Dam at river mile 336.2 (km 541.1) on the Arkansas River, just a few miles below its confluence with the Canadian River. The lock and dam are part of the McClellan-Kerr Arkansas River Navigation System, which provides for barge navigation on the Arkansas River and some of its tributaries. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (918) 487-5252.

What the agency tells you

Rule

- Gates open at 6AM and close at 10PM - Check out Time 3PM, Check in Time 6PM - Quiet Hours: 10PM to 6AM - Camping is permitted in designated campsites only.  - Each campsite is limited to 1 wheeled camping unit with up to 3 tents.  - Camping is limited to 14 consecutive days within any 30 day period. This applies to all members of the camping party and the camping unit. - Campers must occupy the campsite at least once during each 24 hour period. Abandoned personal property may be subject to impoundment after 24 hours. - Each campsite may not have its own water spigot, some share with adjacent sites. - Campers shall keep their sites free of trash and litter during the period of occupancy and shall remove all personal equipment and clean their sites upon departure. - Fires must be contained within the fire ring or grill provided. These are NOT trash receptacles, please leave them free of food and litter upon departure.  - Pets must remain restrained on a leash or penned at all times. Pets are NOT allowed on swim beaches or in bathrooms. - Grey water and sewage must be properly disposed of in the provided dump station receptacle. Disposal of any water or waste on the ground is prohibited.   - Fireworks are prohibited. - Fishing and hunting are regulated by federal and state laws.

Rule

Once you have reserved and are occupying your campsite, if a Gate Attendant is on duty (Friday - Wednesday 4PM - 10PM), please take the time to check-in with them, otherwise a volunteer will check you in during their daily patrol of the campground. Thank you.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Tents and rigs

Sites
42
Hookups
41 electric, 42 water
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Beach
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

55 of 82 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:35 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the peak season. The off-peak season that follows runs March 1, 2027 through March 31, 2027; recreation.gov releases it on its own schedule, so check there before counting on those nights.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$23–$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$54–$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$23–$25
30 Amp Electric and Water$23
50 Amp Electric$25
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$31–$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$54–$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $23–$25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:35 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

43 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 41 mapped sites
78 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room15 29 ft16 29 ft28 63 ft

All 43 records

42 of 43 records located
RV / electric41Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 41 of the 43 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

01standard electric50 amp77 ft178 ft$23–$25
02standard electric50 amp76 ft111 ft$23–$25
03standard electric50 amp76 ft55 ft$23–$25
04type not stated50 amp106 ft
05standard electric50 amp99 ft162 ft$23–$25
06standard electric50 amp77 ft188 ft$23–$25
07standard electric50 amp77 ft224 ft$23–$25
08standard electric50 amp77 ft170 ft$23–$25
09standard electric50 amp77 ft105 ft$23–$25
10standard electric50 amp107 ft155 ft$23–$25
11standard electric50 amp107 ft59 ft$23–$25
12standard electric50 amp74 ft265 ft$23–$25
13standard electric50 amp74 ft217 ft$23–$25
14standard electric50 amp166 ft51 ft$23–$25
15standard electric50 amp29 ft248 ft$23–$25
16standard electric50 amp29 ft220 ft$23–$25
17standard electric50 amp162 ft78 ft$23–$25
18standard electric30 amp94 ft191 ft$23–$25
19standard electric30 amp94 ft213 ft$23–$25
20standard electric30 amp100 ft123 ft$23–$25
21standard electric30 amp130 ft235 ft$23–$25
22standard electric30 amp104 ft124 ft$23–$25
23standard electric30 amp78 ft78 ft$23–$25
24standard electric30 amp78 ft75 ft$23–$25
25standard electric30 amp111 ft216 ft$23–$25
26standard electric30 amp115 ft47 ft$23–$25
27standard electric30 amp78 ft87 ft$23–$25
28standard electric30 amp63 ft110 ft$23–$25
29standard electric30 amp99 ft206 ft$23–$25
30standard electric30 amp78 ft280 ft$23–$25
31standard electric30 amp78 ft358 ft$23–$25
32standard electric30 amp79 ft436 ft$23–$25
33standard electric50 amp63 ft110 ft$23–$25
34standard electric50 amp70 ft145 ft$23–$25
35standard electric50 amp70 ft203 ft$23–$25
36standard electric50 amp111 ft313 ft$23–$25
37standard electric50 amp90 ft416 ft$23–$25
38standard electric50 amp71 ft502 ft$23–$25
39standard electric50 amp64 ft560 ft$23–$25
40standard electric50 amp118 ft479 ft$23–$25
41standard electric50 amp64 ft589 ft$23–$25
42standard electric50 amp72 ft617 ft$23–$25
PS1day use15 ampyes$50

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 43 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today60°Mostly Sunny
Tonight45°Partly Cloudy
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night43°Clear

NWS forecast for Cowlington, OK

Typical weather

Typical October night 50°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SALLISAW 2 NW, OK (USC00347862), 9 miles away and 190 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Josh Brecheen, official portrait

Short Mountain Cove is in Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Josh Brecheen (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 16 of the next 16 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Cowlington, OK, 0.4 mi N. Straight line.