U.S. Forest Service · San Bernardino National Forest · CA

Applewhite Campground (CA)

5Heads up5 fires, nearest 21 mi
Wildfire
Orange 2 fire · 21 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Assist/Bdu/82A fire · 21 mi away · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Juniper fire · 21 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Lac-374626 fire · 22 mi away · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
Scenic fire · 24 mi away · updated Oct 14, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:27 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 28 of the next 30 nights read 15:27 UTC
A night
$15–$20Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4442 on recreation.gov
15 ftLongest rig
3,310 ftElevation
470 ftWater · North Fork Lytle Creek
3.1 miNW of San Bernardino, CA
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Located three miles north of the Lytle Creek Ranger Station, the campground provides an easy get-away. Trees surround the campsites and Lytle Creek flows across the street at Applewhite Picnic Area. Please use caution crossing the road. This site is accessible. There is a $5 charge for an additional vehicle which must be paid on site. Keep reading

Recreation

Ample opportunities for short, day hikes in the Lytle Creek area as well as OHV opportunities in the nearby Cajon Pass area. Flowing waters of Lytle Creek nearby offer a relaxing place to enjoy the cool waters.

Facilities

The campground offers dozens of single-family campsites, available mostly for tent camping. Some sites can accommodate RV/camper camping without water or electric hookups. The parking aprons are paved, but can be quite narrow. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Accessible flush toilets and water spigots are provided. CHECK-IN TIME IS 2:00 PM. CHECK-OUT TIME IS 12:00 PM. There is a Maximum of eight (8) people and two (2) vehicles allowed per campsite. Quiet hours are from 10:00 PM - 6:00 AM.

Natural Features

Across the road from the campground is Lytle Creek, which offers a cooling place to relax and recreate. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (909) 866-8550.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Check-in time is 2:00 pm. Check-out time is 12:00 pm. There is a two (2) vehicle and eight (8) person maximum limit per site. Quiet hours are 10:00 pm - 6:00 am. These rules are strictly enforced.

Rule

Pets allowed on leash only; must clean up after your pet.

Rule

Dump stations and electric/water hookups are not provided. Do not drain your wastewater onto the ground.

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

All vehicles must park on the pavement within your site.

Rule

Speed limit is 5 MPH. Please watch for children.

Rule

Operation of green or red sticker vehicles within the campground are not permitted. Maps of the OHV areas are available at the Lytle Creek Ranger Station for free. Closest OHV areas are about 20 minutes away in the Cajon Pass. Must have current registration and operating spark arrestor. You are required by the California Vehicle Code to have a spark arrestor, maintained and in effective working order, whenever you are operating your OHV on any forest-covered land, brush-covered land, or grass-covered land.

Rule

Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $5 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicles in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered to be one vehicle and the third and fourth are also considered to be one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles. Fee is collected at the campground for extra vehicles if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On. Extra vehicles must fit on the spur at your site.

Rule

Do not trust reservations on First Come First Serve sites. They do not show when they are occupied.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
44
Hookups
None
Longest rig
15 ft
Paved pads
36 of 44
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…and campfire ring with grill. Accessible flush toilets and water spigots are provided. CHECK-IN TIME IS…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…with grill. Accessible flush toilets and water spigots are provided. CHECK-IN TIME IS 2:00 PM. CHECK-OUT…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Night sky · 1197th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 6
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:27 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:24 UTC. See them

OpenBookedClosed

Every one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 26 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 15:27 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$15–$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$38–$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$15–$20
Standard Nonelectric$15
Double Sites$20
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $5 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$23–$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$38–$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $15–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:24 UTC

  • Lake CampgroundSan Gabriel Mountains National Monument · 16 mi · 1 of 12 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 15:27 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

44 sites

All 44 sites

SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 42 of the 44 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Applewhite Lower Loop14type not stated
Applewhite Lower Loop15standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop16standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop17standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop18standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop19standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop20standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop21standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop22standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop23standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop24standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop25standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop26standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop27standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop28standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop29standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop30standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop31standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop32standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop33standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop34standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop35standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop36standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop37standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop38standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop39standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop40standard nonelectric15 ft$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop41standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop42standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop43standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Lower Loop44type not stated
Applewhite Upper Loop1standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop10standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop11standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop12standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop13standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop2standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop3standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop4standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop5standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop6standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop7standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop8standard nonelectric$15–$20
Applewhite Upper Loop9standard nonelectric$15–$20

25 of 44 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight58°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Saturday77°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night58°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Sunday76°Sunny

NWS forecast for Lytle Creek, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 79°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 33°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

110°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: VICTORVILLE, CA (USC00049325), 22 miles away and 430 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Roadless
Cucamonga B11,933 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Cajon7,548 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
San Sevaine6,866 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Judy Chu, official portrait

Applewhite Campground (CA) is in California’s 28th congressional district. Its representative, Judy Chu (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Judy Chu

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Judy Chu,

I’m a constituent in California’s 28th district. I tried to camp at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Applewhite Campground (CA), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Applewhite Campground (CA) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Applewhite Campground (CA). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Applewhite Campground (CA) (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Applewhite Campground (CA), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Applewhite Campground (CA) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Applewhite Campground (CA). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Applewhite Campground (CA) (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Applewhite Campground (CA), San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 44 campsites the agency files at Applewhite Campground (CA), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Applewhite Campground (CA) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Applewhite Campground (CA). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Applewhite Campground (CA) (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 28 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: inside Lytle Creek, CA (a census designated place). Straight line.