Arapaho Bay
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $29–$58Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 8379 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices
In the agency’s own words
The Arapaho Bay Campground is located in the Arapaho National Recreation Area on Lake Granby, southeast of Grand Lake. Visitors enjoy the area for its great boating, fishing and hiking opportunities. Keep reading
Recreation
Lake Granby is part of the Arapaho National Recreation Area. It offers boating, sailing, swimming and fishing. Anglers cast for kokanee salmon and a variety of trout, including rainbow, brown, mackinaw and cutthroat. National Fishing Week is held the first week of June each year. Numerous hiking and horseback riding trails are located within the Arapaho National Recreation Area, including the Roaring Fork Trail, Monarch Lake Trail and the East Shore Trail (which is part of the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail).
Facilities
The campground offers three loops of single- and double-family sites, a few of which are accessible. Each site is equipped with a picnic table, campfire ring and tent pad. Vault toilets, drinking water is available in the Big Rock Loop and trash collection are provided.
Natural Features
The campground is situated on Arapaho Bay, on the eastern tip of Lake Granby, at an elevation of 8,300 feet. Afternoon thunder showers should be expected during the summer months. Due to the mountain pine beetle infestation and consequent hazardous tree removal, the campground offers little to no shade. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (530) 529-0578.
Nearby Attractions
Rocky Mountain National Park's west entrance is just north of Grand Lake. With lush valleys and craggy peaks reaching elevations over 14,000 feet, visitors are provided opportunities for countless breathtaking experiences and adventures. Scenic driving, hiking, backpacking, fishing, horseback riding and wildlife viewing are popular activities in the park.
Charges & Cancellations
Modifications for this campground must be made through Recreation.gov or by calling the call center at 1-877-444-6777 PRIOR to your reservation start date. Customers and contact center agents cannot modify reservations on or after the check-in date.
What the agency tells you
You must stay in the campsite you reserved. Site-swapping is not allowed.
No RV water connections or utility hookups are available.
This is bear country! For bear and human safety, keep a clean campsite and do not place food or other attractants in your tent. For more information about visiting bear country, contact Colorado Parks and Wildlife at http://wildlife.state.co.us
Everything else this campground posts · 12
Boats are subject to inspection to prevent the spread of zebra and quagga mussels
An additional fee will be charged for admission to the Arapaho National Recreation Area; fees are $5 for one day, $10 for three days, $15 for a week or $30 for a year-long membership and can be purchased from the Forest Service or local vendors; Golden Eagle, Age and Access passports are valid for admission; call (970) 887-4100 for more information
Sites may be available on a first-come, first-served basis during and outside the reservation season
https://www.fs.usda.gov/r02/arp for more information on the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests
Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
All campsites must be occupied within 26 hours of the beginning of the reservation. If not present the site will be rented by first come first serve basis.
EXTRA VEHICLE FEES: One vehicle is included in your reservation. Any additional vehicles will be charged $8.00 per vehicle per night and will be collected by the camp host if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On. One vehicle consists of one camper being towed by vehicle, or any other vehicle towed behind camper. One van or one truck with camper attached counts as one vehicle. Extra vehicles must fit on the parking spur at your site.
Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.
Tents must fit on pads provided. RVs, trailers or other vehicles must fit on the parking spur. Driving or parking off road is not permitted. The parking length ranges from 20 to 40 feet.
Pets must be on a hand-held leash.
Modifications for this campground must be made through Recreation.gov PRIOR to your reservation start date. Customers and contact center agents cannot modify reservations on or after the check-in date.
Check-Out is at 12 P.M. Check-In is at 2 P.M.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 83 · 9 tent-only
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 45 ft
- Accessible sites
- 2
- Pets
- Allowed
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…table, campfire ring and tent pad. Vault toilets, drinking water is available in the Big Rock Loop…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…ring and tent pad. Vault toilets, drinking water is available in the Big Rock Loop and trash…”
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, Coast
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Sailing
- Swimming
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 451st darkest of 522 in CO
- Bortle 4
- Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 17 km away
- Peak color
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 79 of the 83 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 16
What you actually pay
“Any additional vehicles will be charged $8.00 per vehicle per night and will be collected by the camp host if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $29–$58 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Modifications for this campground must be made through Recreation.gov or by calling the call center at 1-877-444-6777 PRIOR to your reservation start date. Customers and contact center agents cannot modify reservations on or after the check-in date.” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 7
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
85 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 79 mapped sitesAll 85 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 83 of the 85 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 83 of the 85 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| BIG ROCK | 001 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 136 ft | 419 ft | 370 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 002 | type not stated | 40 ft | 446 ft | 342 ft | $29 | ||
| BIG ROCK | 003 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 39 ft | 674 ft | 129 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 004 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 39 ft | 678 ft | 100 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 005 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 41 ft | 640 ft | 80 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 006 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 45 ft | 599 ft | 78 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 007 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 61 ft | 543 ft | 113 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 008 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 132 ft | 533 ft | 239 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 009 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 72 ft | 662 ft | 107 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 010 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 44 ft | 699 ft | 55 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 011 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 69 ft | 658 ft | 100 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 012 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 44 ft | 655 ft | 31 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 013 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 80 ft | 601 ft | 159 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 014 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 111 ft | 618 ft | 258 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 015 | standard nonelectric | 34 ft | 49 ft | 760 ft | 149 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 016 | standard nonelectric | 36 ft | 49 ft | 731 ft | 151 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 017 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 41 ft | 840 ft | 41 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 018 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 41 ft | 799 ft | 78 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 019 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 50 ft | 784 ft | 128 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 020 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 49 ft | 743 ft | 153 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 021 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 49 ft | 755 ft | 166 ft | $29–$58 | |
| BIG ROCK | 022 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 115 ft | 628 ft | 236 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MANAGEMENT | 057 | type not stated | 187 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 84 ft | $29 | |||
| MANAGEMENT | XXX | unnamed record | 45 ft | yes | $29 | |||
| MANAGEMENT | xxx2 | unnamed record | $29 | |||||
| MORA | 023 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 138 ft | 158 ft | 285 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 024 | standard nonelectric | 36 ft | 108 ft | 119 ft | 418 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 025 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 74 ft | 216 ft | 425 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 026 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 78 ft | 252 ft | 481 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 027 | rv nonelectric | 20 ft | 74 ft | 287 ft | 391 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 028 | tent only nonelectric | 185 ft | 569 ft | 133 ft | $29 | ||
| MORA | 029 | type not stated | 20 ft | 659 ft | 152 ft | $29 | ||
| MORA | 030 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 132 ft | 751 ft | 158 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 031 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 78 ft | 909 ft | 251 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 032 | standard nonelectric | 32 ft | 71 ft | 889 ft | 236 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 033 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 127 ft | 773 ft | 114 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 034 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 71 ft | 863 ft | 235 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 035 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 63 ft | 764 ftGrouse Creek | 431 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 036 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 59 ft | 703 ftGrouse Creek | 438 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 037 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 59 ft | 651 ftGrouse Creek | 410 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 038 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 69 ft | 704 ftGrouse Creek | 290 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 039 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 69 ft | 725 ftGrouse Creek | 223 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 040 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 98 ft | 685 ft | 133 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 041 | standard nonelectric | 37 ft | 58 ft | 519 ft | 171 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 042 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 42 ft | 461 ft | 190 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 043 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 42 ft | 428 ft | 149 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 044 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 62 ft | 378 ft | 89 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 045 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 86 ft | 317 ft | 15 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 046 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 97 ft | 401 ft | 107 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 047 | rv nonelectric | 30 ft | 84 ft | 247 ft | 93 ft | $29 | |
| MORA | 048 | standard nonelectric | 42 ft | 113 ft | 300 ftGrouse Creek | 152 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 049 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 84 ft | 201 ftGrouse Creek | 176 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 050 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 118 ft | 224 ftGrouse Creek | 262 ft | $29–$58 | |
| MORA | 051 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 129 ft | 109 ft | 538 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 052 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 134 ft | 135 ft | 274 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 053 | standard nonelectric | 42 ft | 54 ft | 333 ft | 204 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 054 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 54 ft | 362 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 199 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 055 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 100 ft | 187 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 91 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 056 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 75 ft | 285 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 103 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 058 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 55 ft | 112 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 129 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 059 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 55 ft | 57 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 180 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 060 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 88 ft | 83 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 146 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 061 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 112 ft | 242 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 140 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 062 | tent only nonelectric | 19 ft | 118 ft | 358 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 261 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 063 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 75 ft | 343 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 129 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 064 | tent only nonelectric | 22 ft | 112 ft | 349 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 179 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 065 | tent only nonelectric | 22 ft | 86 ft | 500 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 239 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 066 | tent only nonelectric | 22 ft | 86 ft | 564 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 155 ft | $29 | |
| ROARING FORK | 067 | type not stated | 35 ft | 418 ft | 124 ft | $29 | ||
| ROARING FORK | 068 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 64 ft | 490 ft | 190 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 069 | standard nonelectric | 20 ft | 64 ft | 534 ft | 241 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 070 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | 209 ft | 778 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 72 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 072 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 129 ft | 703 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 206 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 073 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 67 ft | 656 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 322 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 074 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 67 ft | 653 ftRoaring Fork Arapaho Creek | 388 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 075 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 83 ft | 628 ft | 361 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 076 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 83 ft | 545 ft | 282 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 077 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 87 ft | 449 ft | 178 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 078 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 87 ft | 369 ft | 93 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 079 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 59 ft | 342 ft | 52 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 080 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 59 ft | 318 ft | 83 ft | $29–$58 |
| ROARING FORK | 081 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 84 ft | 251 ft | 176 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 082 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 53 ft | 214 ft | 130 ft | $29–$58 | |
| ROARING FORK | 083 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 70 ft | 207 ft | 96 ft | $29–$58 |
| ROARING FORK | 084 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 53 ft | 163 ft | 156 ft | $29–$58 |
The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.
25 of 85 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Where it is
AA Bar Ranch (AA Barn) Group Picnic SiteArapaho National Recreation Area · 7.2 mi
Green RidgeArapaho National Recreation Area · 7.6 mi
Cutthroat Bay GroupArapaho National Recreation Area · 8.0 mi
Stillwater (Colorado)Arapaho National Recreation Area · 8.4 mi
PawneeRoosevelt National Forest · 10 miFrom the intersection of U.S. Highways 40 and 34 in Granby, head north on Highway 34 for about 5 miles to County Road 6. Go east for 9 miles to the campground.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Granby, CO
Typical weather
Typical October night 27°F, day 55°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Arapaho Bay is in Colorado’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Joe Neguse (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →