Aspen Grove (Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest, UT)
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $30.41–$74.45Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 5853 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 13 notices
In the agency’s own words
Aspen Grove Campground is located near Soldier Creek Dam above the Soldier Creek section of beautiful Strawberry Reservoir. Visitors flock to Strawberry for its excellent fishing, boating and trail opportunities. Keep reading
Recreation
Strawberry Reservoir offers excellent boating, water skiing and canoeing. Anglers fish for rainbow trout, cutthroat trout and Kokanee salmon. Aspen Grove Day Use Area is less than 1/4 mile below the campground. A boat ramp, boat rentals, slips, a fish cleaning station and small general store are on-site. The 12-mile Strawberry Narrows Trail begins at the day-use area. This scenic trail offers views of the reservoir and is open to hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding.
Facilities
The campground offers several single and double-family sites, three of which are accessible. Improvements include paved roads and spurs, cement pads, tables and fire circles. There is no phone service. You must stay on the site you reserve; no site swapping is allowed. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided.
Natural Features
The campground lies in an aptly named mountain setting at an elevation of 7,800 feet. Aspen Grove's Loop A is situated among dense stands of aspen, which offer nice shade and stunning fall colors. Loop B is much more open, covered only with sagebrush and grasses. There is no shade on this loop. The campground offers views of the reservoir. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (385) 273-1100.
Nearby Attractions
The Strawberry OHV Trail System offers 75 miles of trails. Hikers and mountain bikers enjoy the extensive trail system as well. Strawberry Visitor Center has interpretive displays, a working fish trap and egg collection station and a nature trail.
Charges & Cancellations
Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July 2018.
What the agency tells you
Campground is in Bear Country Store food and trash securely to avoid attracting wildlife -Failure to comply may result in fines up to $5,000, removal from your site and/or imprisonment Remember, a fed bear is a dead bear
Dogs or Domestic Pets Owners must -Control dogs by a leash not to exceed six feet (6’) at all times -Clean up dog feces immediately -Limit two dogs per site Do not allow dogs to -Threaten or attack people/animals -Interfere with people, vehicles, or property -Cause damage to vegetation or harass wildlife
Campground Etiquette and Rules Gates open at 7am, Gates close at 10pm Quiet Hours are 10pm to 6am No generators after 10pm Camping is allowed only within the designated space provided. Do not go beyond the boundaries of your site Max occupancy is 8 people per single site Reserved sites will be held until 12pm on the day following your scheduled arrival date Horses/Off-road vehicles are prohibited in the campground Leave No Trace -Put all trash in dumpsters, if provided, or properly stored in your vehicle or bear box -Remove all personal property and trash when leaving -Unclean sites will be reported to the District Ranger LEO -Leaving food/trash in an unoccupied site may result in a $5,000 fine This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility; bring trash bags Cleaning fish or bathing where drinking water is supplied is strictly prohibited Fireworks or other explosives are prohibited. Discharging of a firearm in the campground is not allowed No fighting or boisterous behavior. Be courteous to your fellow visitor. Keep noise at a reasonable level No amplified music is allowed in USDA Forest Service campgrounds and facilities Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle Camping fees include Boat-Launch. Motorized boats are permitted
Everything else this campground posts · 10
There is a 2-night minimum stay on weekends; 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends
Trailers/Campers and RVs: Hooking up to spigots or to the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited
Advance reservations/First Come First Served (FF) sites For reservable sites, reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance You must claim a FF site in person on the day you wish to check-in A site listed as FF does not guarantee availability, Recreation.gov does not update FF occupancy The only way to know if an FF site is available is to arrive at the campground on the day you plan to check-in Availability cannot be predicted Many sites are in remote locations, we cannot contact camp hosts about availability Recommended arrival times vary by day. Weekends and holidays typically fill more quickly To claim an FF site, you must be present, occupy the site, and pay at that time There is no waiting list for FF sites
Extra Vehicle -$10 per vehicle, per day (paid on-site cash/check) Firewood -$9
If you booked at a discount without a Senior or Access pass, you'll need to pay the difference in cash/check upon arrival. Only Senior or Access passes qualify for discounts and proof of ownership upon arrival is required
Please understand that camping is an outdoor experience; we do not give refunds for weather or natural conditions Cancellations within 24 hours prior to arrival date will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Site Cancellations within 14 days will forfeit entire use fee No-shows, early departures, or cancellations after the arrival date are not entitled to a refund Failure to arrive at the campsite by 12pm the day after scheduled arrival and does not cancel the reservation, will forfeit site and first-night use fee
For more information on visiting Bear Country visit wildawareutah.org wildlife.utah.gov For campground Rules and Regulations visit gocamputah.com/rules
Click herefor more info about the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest For more info, please call Heber Ranger District at 435-654-0470 or Utah Recreation at 385-273-1100 Visit our website gocamputah.comor Facebook facebook.com/letsgocamputah To reserve a site call Recreation.gov reservation line 1-877-444-6777
Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood within 10 miles of your destination and burning it on-site. For more info click here
Please note: Utah Recreation is not responsible for accident or injury to any person or property resulting from the use of this facility and is not responsible for the loss of money or valuables of any kind. The user of this permit assumes full and complete responsibility for the conduct and actions of all members in their party
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 58 · 3 tent-only, 2 cabin
- Hookups
- 3 electric
- Longest rig
- 60 ft
- Paved pads
- All
- Accessible sites
- 2
- Pets
- Allowed at 55 of 58 sites
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Flush Toilets
- “…reserve; no site swapping is allowed. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Natural Features…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…swapping is allowed. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Natural Features The campground lies…”
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Store
- Nearby
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Reservoir, Creek
- Biking
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Picnicking
- Night sky · 327th darkest of 458 in UT
- Bortle 3
- Fall color · reported 10 days ago, 39 km away
- Past peak
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 53 of the 58 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 18
What you actually pay
“Cash, Check, or Scan & Pay 41 single sites - $34.00 , capacity - 8 people + 1 vehicle 2 single site w/electricity/water/sewer - $51.00 , capacity - 8 people 9 double sites - $66.00 , capacity - 16 people + 2 vehicles…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30.41–$74.45 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees - Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. - Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservat…” · this campground’s own no-show terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 7
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
59 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 53 mapped sitesAll 59 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 53 of the 59 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 55 of the 59 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| A | 001 | standard nonelectric | 47 ft | 52 ft | 2,967 ft | 303 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 002 | yurt | 18 ft | 96 ft | 2,939 ft | 354 ft | $105.53 | ||
| A | 003 | standard nonelectric | 37 ft | 64 ft | 3,025 ft | 227 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 004 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 75 ft | 3,036 ft | 271 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 005 | yurt | 18 ft | 64 ft | 3,108 ft | 163 ft | $105.53 | ||
| A | 006 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 68 ft | 3,116 ft | 199 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 007 | standard electric | 41 ft | 50 amp | 56 ft | 3,183 ft | 90 ft | $45.61–$74.45 | |
| A | 008 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 67 ft | 3,191 ft | 139 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 009 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 43 ft | 3,263 ft | 99 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 010 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 43 ft | 3,312 ft | 104 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 011 | standard nonelectric | 32 ft | 77 ft | 3,369 ft | 146 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 012 | tent only nonelectric | 20 ft | 80 ft | 3,417 ft | 238 ft | |||
| A | 013 | tent only nonelectric | 20 ft | 71 ft | 3,503 ft | 277 ft | |||
| A | 014 | tent only nonelectric | 20 ft | 71 ft | 3,541 ft | 311 ft | |||
| A | 015 | standard nonelectric | 36 ft | 69 ft | 3,294 ft | 119 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 016 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 89 ft | 3,383 ft | 204 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 017 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 69 ft | 3,247 ft | 76 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 018 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 104 ft | 3,234 ft | 207 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 019 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 56 ft | 3,143 ft | 140 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 020 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 95 ft | 3,051 ft | 199 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 021 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 47 ft | 3,055 ft | 207 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 022 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 87 ft | 2,978 ft | 261 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| A | 023 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 47 ft | 2,995 ft | 253 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 030 HOST | host pad | 40 ft | $30.14–$104.59 | |||||
| B | 031 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | 55 ft | 2,854 ft | 432 ft | $45.61–$74.45 | |
| B | 032 | standard electric | 40 ft | 30 amp | 55 ft | 2,785 ft | 478 ft | $45.61–$74.45 | |
| B | 033 | standard nonelectric | 56 ft | yes | 73 ft | 2,713 ft | 553 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | |
| B | 034 | standard nonelectric | 33 ft | yes | 75 ft | 2,665 ft | 541 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | |
| B | 035 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 73 ft | 2,633 ft | 522 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 036 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 75 ft | 2,585 ft | 466 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 037 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 77 ft | 2,551 ft | 444 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 038 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 71 ft | 2,515 ft | 388 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 039 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 77 ft | 2,490 ft | 374 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 040 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 59 ft | 2,402 ft | 289 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 041 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 61 ft | 2,448 ft | 320 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 042 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 61 ft | 2,386 ft | 265 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 043 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 59 ft | 2,326 ft | 231 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 044 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 72 ft | 2,255 ft | 159 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 045 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 77 ft | 2,265 ft | 160 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 046 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | 82 ft | 2,179 ft | 79 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 047 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 72 ft | 2,202 ft | 95 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 048 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 72 ft | 2,122 ft | 88 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 049 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | 72 ft | 2,055 ft | 112 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 050 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 89 ft | 2,035 ft | 72 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 051 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 79 ft | 1,963 ft | 162 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 052 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 71 ft | 1,920 ft | 230 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 053 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 78 ft | 1,868 ft | 240 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 054 | standard nonelectric | 47 ft | 67 ft | 1,846 ft | 297 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 055 | standard nonelectric | 43 ft | 78 ft | 1,792 ft | 317 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 056 | standard nonelectric | 44 ft | 67 ft | 1,783 ft | 358 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 057 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 87 ft | 1,675 ft | 412 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 058 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 79 ft | 1,666 ft | 459 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 059 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 79 ft | 1,602 ft | 497 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| B | 060 | standard nonelectric | 43 ft | 155 ft | 1,481 ft | 650 ft | $30.41–$59.02 | ||
| S&P | Double Nonelectric | type not stated | 40 ft | $30.14–$104.59 | |||||
| S&P | Double w/electric | type not stated | 40 ft | 30 amp | $30.14–$104.59 | ||||
| S&P Electric | Standard Electric | type not stated | 36 ft | 30 amp | $30.14–$104.59 | ||||
| S&P Yurt | Glamping | type not stated | 18 ft | $30.14–$104.59 | |||||
| S&P, Single | Single Standard Nonelectric | type not stated | 47 ft | $30.14–$104.59 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
25 of 59 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Soldier CreekUinta National Forest · 2.4 mi
Soldier Creek Long TermUinta National Forest · 2.4 mi
Soldier Creek Vacation CabinUinta National Forest · 4.2 mi
RenegadeUinta National Forest · 6.2 mi
Renegade Long TermUinta National Forest · 6.2 miFrom Heber City, Utah, take Highway 40 east for 33 miles. Turn south on Forest Road 090 and travel 5 miles. Campground is 1 mile past Soldier Creek Dam.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Independence, UT
Typical weather
Typical October night 29°F, day 50°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical December night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Aspen Grove (Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest, UT) is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →