U.S. Forest Service · Anadromous Spawning Area Anadromous Spawning Area · ID

Big Creek

1Heads up1 fire 47 mi away
Wildfire
Sheep fire · 47 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 16. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
54 on recreation.gov
5,730 ftElevation
172 ftWater · an unnamed stream
39.1 miNE of McCall, ID
38%Tree cover
Bortle 1Night sky · 5th darkest of 523 in ID

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there

In the agency’s own words

Located next to the Big Creek airstrip this four unit campground offers a good staging place to access the Frank Church-River of No Return Wilderness. It is popular with pilots camping overnight in Big Creek. The campground is near the Big Creek Work Station. The four walk-in campsites are near a small stream, which flows into Big Creek. This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app ht tps://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Recreation

Trailhead access to the Frank Church-River of No Return Wilderness to the north on FR 371. Fishing in Big Creek.

Facilities

Facilities include an accessible toilet and drinking water. Pack in/pack out. No hook-ups.

Tents and rigs

Sites
5
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
“Facilities include an accessible toilet and drinking water.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include an accessible toilet and drinking water. Pack in/pack out. No hook-ups.”

Around the campground

On the water
River, Creek
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:29 UTC

recreation.gov lists 4 of the 5 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$10
Single$10
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:29 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

5 sites · the site map

All 5 sites

1 of 5 sites located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 5 of the 5 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Big Creek1standard nonelectric$10
Big Creek2standard nonelectric$10
Big Creek3standard nonelectric$10
Big Creek4standard nonelectric$10
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated172 ft$10

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate45.12757, -115.32313
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight42°Partly Cloudy
Saturday62°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night36°Patchy Smoke
Sunday61°Sunny

NWS forecast for Yellow Pine, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 30°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: YELLOWPINE, ID (USC00109950), 14 miles away and 680 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Roadless
Big Creek Fringe1,083 acres · 1 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Placer Creek6,947 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Smith Creek2,286 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 5, 2026

Who answers for this land

Russ Fulcher, official portrait

Big Creek is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Yellow Pine, ID, 13.3 mi NE (a census designated place). Straight line.