ReservableBookable through October 30; November 1 opens May 1.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights read 15:57 UTC
A night
$16–$26Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3836 on recreation.gov
36 ftLongest rig
660 ftElevation
under 10 ftWater · Bull Shoals Lake
12.9 miNW of Bull Shoals, AR
n/aTree cover · water-masked cell

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Relax in the shaded campsites at Buck Creek, on the Arkansas side of the massive Bull Shoals Lake. Here, there's plenty of opportunities for water sports, hiking and picnicking. The Peel Ferry, the last remaining state-operated ferry in Arkansas, leaves from Buck Creek. It connects Highway 125 from Arkansas to Missouri for convenient access to the lowers stretches of the lake. Keep reading

Recreation

Bull Shoals Lake has great appeal to jet skiers, water skiers, fishermen, birders, hikers and those who just want to "get away from it all." Fall foliage in the area attracts lots of visitors for an annual celebration called the Flaming Fall Revue.

Facilities

All but two of the 38 sites have electric hookups. The campground caters to kids with a playground and swimming area, and campers with boats can make use of the launch ramp.

Natural Features

Bull Shoals Lake, spanning upwards of 71,000 acres, is fed from the White River. The river flows from northwest Arkansas to south-central Missouri, and then loops back into central Arkansas where it eventually flows into the Mississippi River. The lake is lined with hardwoods and cedar.

Nearby Attractions

Visit the Bull Shoals-White River State Park and explore its two hiking trails. The Big Bluff Trail presents views of the White River below Bull Shoals Dam, and the Lakeside Trail meanders along the shores of the lake.

Charges & Cancellations

Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Off-road vehicles are not permitted

Rule

No livestock at this facility

Rule

No firearms allowed

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
38 · 1 group, 1 cabin
Hookups
36 electric, 37 water
Longest rig
36 ft
Paved pads
37 of 38
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Boating
Swimming
Night sky · 69th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

40 of 72 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:57 UTC

recreation.gov lists 36 of the 38 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 30Bookable now through October 30, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$16–$26plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40–$60DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$16–$26
Tent Site W/ Water$16
30 Amp W/ Water$24
50 Amp W/ Water$26
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24–$34
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40–$60

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $16–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

39 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 34 mapped sites
90 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop CLOO C07 53 ftLoop CLOO C08 53 ftLoop CLOO C11 71 ft

All 39 records

36 of 39 records located
RV / electric33Group1Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 36 of the 39 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

ALOOA01standard electric26 ft30 amp71 ft377 ft$24–$26
ALOOA02standard electric26 ft30 amp71 ft354 ft$24–$26
ALOOA03standard electric26 ft30 amp98 ft324 ft$24–$26
ALOOA05standard electric26 ft30 amp127 ft288 ft$24–$26
ALOOA06standard electric26 ft30 amp98 ft307 ft$24–$26
ALOOA07standard electric32 ft30 amp98 ft259 ft$24–$26
ALOOA08standard electric32 ft30 amp134 ft186 ft$24–$26
ALOOA09type not stated26 ft73 ft
ALOOA11type not stated26 ft94 ft
ALOOA12standard electric26 ft30 amp90 ft187 ft$24–$26
ALOOA13standard electric26 ft30 amp90 ft199 ft$24–$26
BLOOB01standard electric26 ft30 amp100 ft419 ft$24–$26
BLOOB02standard electric26 ft30 amp71 ft504 ft$24–$26
BLOOB03standard electric32 ft30 amp71 ft508 ft$24–$26
BLOOB04standard electric32 ft30 amp80 ft487 ft$24–$26
BLOOB05standard electric32 ft30 amp89 ft470 ft$24–$26
BLOOB06standard electric36 ft30 amp89 ft470 ft$24–$26
BLOOB07standard electric36 ft30 amp$24–$26
BLOOB08standard electric35 ft30 amp$24–$26
BLOOB09standard electric32 ft30 amp91 ft407 ft$24–$26
BLOOB10standard electric36 ft30 amp80 ft567 ft$24–$26
BLOOB11standard electric36 ft30 amp93 ft587 ft$24–$26
BLOOB12standard electric36 ft30 amp90 ft530 ft$24–$26
BLOOB13standard electric36 ft30 amp90 ft508 ft$24–$26
BLOOB14standard electric36 ft30 amp136 ft424 ft$24–$26
BUCK CREEKGS01group shelter electric71 ft337 ft$50
BUCK CREEKGS1day use15 amp$50
CLOOC01standard electric36 ft50 amp99 ft436 ft$24–$26
CLOOC02standard electric26 ft50 amp99 ft407 ft$24–$26
CLOOC03standard electric26 ft50 amp109 ft303 ft$24–$26
CLOOC04standard electric26 ft50 amp107 ft404 ft$24–$26
CLOOC05standard electric26 ft50 amp91 ft325 ft$24–$26
CLOOC06standard electric26 ft50 amp91 ft261 ft$24–$26
CLOOC07standard electric26 ft50 amp53 ft335 ft$24–$26
CLOOC08standard electric26 ft50 amp53 ft290 ft$24–$26
CLOOC09standard electric26 ft50 amp108 ft344 ft$24–$26
CLOOC10standard electric26 ft50 amp88 ft335 ft$24–$26
CLOOC11standard electric36 ft50 amp71 ft301 ft$24–$26
CLOOC12standard electric36 ft50 amp84 ft270 ft$24–$26

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 39 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.49444, -92.79611
The phone417-785-4313
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Mountain Home, AR, take SR 5 N 24 mi. to US 160 JCT. Travel W on US 160 21 mi to Hwy U. Follow SR U 5 mi. S to US 125 for 5.7 mi. to Buck Creek Park Access Road. Follow signs into campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon61°Mostly Cloudy
Tonight41°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday65°Sunny
Saturday Night39°Clear

NWS forecast for Diamond City, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 70°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 23°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LEAD HILL, AR (USC00034106), 8 miles away and 170 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Rick Crawford, official portrait

Buck Creek (MO) is in Arkansas’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Rick Crawford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Diamond City, AR, 6.1 mi ENE. Straight line.