Oakland Park
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $24–$26Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 3231 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices
In the agency’s own words
Kick back and relax at one of Oakland's 32 campsite with electric and water hookups. Visit the easily accessible marina or get on the lake to fish or participate in water sport activities on Bull Shoals Lake. Keep reading
Recreation
The lake is a water sports paradise. Marinas offer boat rentals, supplies and guides for hire. Year-round fishing tournaments keep fishermen active as they seek out 12-pound bass and other species ranging from pan fish to walleye. The lake holds several state fishing records and the nearby White River is a premier trout fishery in the central United States.
Facilities
Oakland Park offers 32 campsites, all with water and electric hookups, and one group shelter. Amenities like hot showers, flush toilets, a dump station, boat ramp, swimming area and playground make this campground popular among boaters, fishermen and families.
Natural Features
Bull Shoals Lake, spanning upwards of 71,000 acres, is fed from the White River. The river flows from northwest Arkansas to south-central Missouri, and then loops back into central Arkansas where it eventually flows into the Mississippi River. The lake is lined with hardwoods and cedar.
Nearby Attractions
Cruise around the lake to see nearly 20 other public parks and hundreds of miles of undeveloped land and coves around the lake, which include additional swim areas and 11 marinas. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (870) 425-2700.
Charges & Cancellations
Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee.
What the agency tells you
Campground attendants are on duty from noon until 6pm Thursday - Sunday
Please check in at the entrance station; check-in time is 4 p.m. and check-out time is 3 p.m.
One RV and one tent or two tents per site.
Everything else this campground posts · 4
Off-road vehicles not permitted.
Livestock not permitted.
Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.
STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 32
- Hookups
- 30 electric, 32 water
- Longest rig
- 45 ft
- Paved pads
- All
- Accessible sites
- 31
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
Facilities
- Toilets
- Flush Toilets
- “…shelter. Amenities like hot showers, flush toilets, a dump station, boat ramp, swimming area and…”
- Showers
- Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
- “Amenities like hot showers, flush toilets, a dump station, boat ramp, swimming area and playground make this campground popular among boaters, fishermen and families.”
- Dump station
- Yes
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Playground
- Yes
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River
- Boating
- Swimming
- Water access
- Night sky · 71st darkest of 158 in AR
- Bortle 4
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 31 of the 32 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 14
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Cancellations up to 2 days before a reservation start date incur a $10.00 cancellation fee.” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
33 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 31 mapped sitesAll 33 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 30 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| Oakland Park | 1 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | 105 ft | 304 ft | $24–$26 | |
| Oakland Park | 10 | standard electric | 42 ft | 50 amp | yes | 60 ft | 251 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 11 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 39 ft | 220 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 12 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 44 ft | 198 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 13 | type not stated | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 137 ft | ||
| Oakland Park | 14 | type not stated | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 169 ft | ||
| Oakland Park | 15 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 75 ft | 228 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 16 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 39 ft | 253 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 17 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 58 ft | 288 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 18 | standard electric | 32 ft | 50 amp | yes | 62 ft | 326 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 19 | standard electric | 32 ft | 50 amp | yes | 59 ft | 341 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 2 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | yes | 45 ft | 253 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 20 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 35 ft | 268 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 21 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 35 ft | 237 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 22 | standard electric | 32 ft | 30 amp | yes | 59 ft | 363 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 23 | standard electric | 40 ft | 30 amp | yes | 61 ft | 379 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 24 | standard electric | 25 ft | 50 amp | yes | 62 ft | 319 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 25 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | yes | 61 ft | 404 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 26 | standard electric | 25 ft | 50 amp | yes | 62 ft | 345 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 27 | standard electric | 45 ft | 30 amp | yes | 61 ft | 448 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 28 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | yes | 55 ft | 404 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 29 | standard electric | 45 ft | 30 amp | yes | 46 ft | 410 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 3 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | yes | 45 ft | 240 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 30 | standard electric | 25 ft | 30 amp | yes | 55 ft | 371 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 31 | standard electric | 32 ft | 30 amp | yes | 46 ft | 388 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 32 | standard electric | 45 ft | 30 amp | yes | 75 ft | 428 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 4 | standard electric | 36 ft | 30 amp | yes | 53 ft | 242 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 5 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 53 ft | 254 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 6 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | yes | 92 ft | 350 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 7 | standard electric | 30 ft | 50 amp | yes | 24 ft | 362 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 8 | standard electric | 30 ft | 50 amp | yes | 24 ft | 353 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | 9 | standard electric | 30 ft | 50 amp | yes | 66 ft | 296 ft | $24–$26 |
| Oakland Park | GS-1 | day use | 30 amp | yes | 79 ft | 457 ft | $50 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
25 of 33 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Lakeview Park6.4 mi
Highway 125 Park Bull Shoals8.7 mi
Theodosia Park9.1 mi
Buck Creek (MO)10 mi
Lead Hill17 mi
Cranfield Park17 miFrom Mountain Home, AR, take Hwy. 5 N 14.2 miles. Turn left on AR 202 W for 9.6 miles and arrive at park entrance.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Oakland, AR
Typical weather
Typical October night 48°F, day 71°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Oakland Park is in Arkansas’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Rick Crawford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →