National Park Service · Buffalo National River · AR

Buffalo Point

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 54 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:21 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:21 UTC
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
109All of them booked ahead
65 ftLongest rig
670 ftElevation
841 ftWater · Panther Creek
10.6 miSE of Yellville, AR
46%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Buffalo Point is a convenient, fun-filled destination for families and adventurists of all types. It's perched along the Buffalo National River, providing exciting river sports and hiking opportunities. In peak season, a restaurant is open at the facility, serving up meals for those who want a break from preparing them. Keep reading

Recreation

The wild river is a gathering place for water activities. Many campers spend their days fishing, hiking, canoeing or kayaking. Evenings are ideal for gathering next to the fire to revamp for another great day out on the river.

Facilities

Buffalo Point offers campsites with water, electricity and even a classic pay telephone. It's the only area in the park with a restaurant, open daily from Memorial Day to Labor Day and on weekends only from mid-April to Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day Weekend to mid-October.

Natural Features

The campground is set along Buffalo National River, one of the few free-flowing rivers remaining in the contiguous United States. The river runs 135 miles without dams and cuts through the Arkansas Ozarks and into the White River. The region is surrounded by droves of lush hardwood trees and grassy open meadows.

Nearby Attractions

Two popular attractions within the Buffalo Point Area are the Indian Rockhouse Trail and the Rush Historic District. Rush was a zinc mining community until the zinc market collapsed and the settlement was deserted. Tours about the town's history are available. Buffalo Point is the former Buffalo River State Park developed in the 1930's as project of the Civilian Conservation Corps. Blanchard Springs Caverns, an extraordinary living cave, is a one-hour drive from Buffalo Point.

Charges & Cancellations

Please see the Recreation.gov Rules and Reservation Policies .

What the agency tells you

Rule

Water and electricity is turned off form November 15th to March 14th each year.

Rule

The facility is available for camping free of charge outside of the reservation season.

Rule

Climbing and/or diving from the bluffs is dangerous and highly discouraged.

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

Do not swim alone during high water.

Rule

All park trails are closed to pets with the exception of the Buffalo River Trail, only on the section of trail between Ponca and Steel Creek, the Villines Homestead Trail at Ponca, the Mill Creek Trail (trailhead is at the Pruitt river access area in the Upper District), the Tyler Bend Campground trails (Spring Hollow, Buck Ridge, and Rock Wall in the Middle District), and all three Buffalo Point Campground trails (Forest Trail, Overlook Trail, and Campground Trail in the Lower District). For more information visit the Pets page on the park website.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states.

Rule

Please be aware that some special events held at the pavilions or anywhere in the park (such as weddings, press receptions, concerts, et al) require a Special Use Permit in addition to the pavilion reservation. To obtain a Special Use Permit or additional information, please contact the Commercial Services office at (870) 365-2724. For more information visit the Special Park Uses web page. .

Rule

Please be advised that providing business services within an NPS unit is prohibited per CFR 5.3 without a written Authorization or Permit approved by the Superintendent. This includes services such as RV or tent delivery & set-up, firewood sales and delivery, shuttle (transportation) services, and guided hikes, floats, etc. For a list of approved visitor services and to learn more about working with Buffalo National River, please visit the our Doing Business with the Park web page. .

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
109 · 5 tent-only, 21 walk-in, 5 group
Hookups
82 electric, 82 water
Longest rig
65 ft
Paved pads
83 of 109
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 112 of 112 campsite records
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
SHOWERS on 104 of 112 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 109 of 112 campsite records, WATER SPIGOT on 3 of 112 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Stay limit
30 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River, Meadow
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Hunting
Ranger programs
Swimming
Visitor center
Water sports
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 34th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:21 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

9 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:45 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 54 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 47 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:21 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 15, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay30 nightsthe facility record
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$30
Standard Electric$30
Group areas, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 13, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Please see the Recreation.gov Rules and Reservation Policies.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 9

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first; the nearest 5 of 9. read 16:45 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:21 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

112 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 111 mapped sites
53 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
96%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop D D60 23 ftLoop D D61 23 ftLoop A A18 25 ft

All 112 records

112 of 112 records located
RV / electric82Walk, hike or boat in21Group5Type not stated1Day use3
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 112 of the 112 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 108 of the 112 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Group SitesG1group tent only area nonelectric251 ft506 ftBuffalo River390 ft$50
Group SitesG2group tent only area nonelectric143 ft896 ftBuffalo River2,925 ft$50
Group SitesG3group tent only area nonelectric143 ft1,035 ftBuffalo River2,988 ft$50
Group SitesG4group tent only area nonelectric182 ft1,201 ftBuffalo River2,963 ft$50
Group SitesG5group tent only area nonelectric191 ft1,163 ftBuffalo River2,662 ft$50
Loop AA01standard electric32 ft53 ft299 ftBuffalo River241 ft$30
Loop AA02standard electric27 ft50 amp53 ft352 ftBuffalo River205 ft$30
Loop AA03standard electric24 ft50 amp100 ft447 ftBuffalo River124 ft$30
Loop AA04standard electric27 ft50 amp51 ft503 ftBuffalo River106 ft$30
Loop AA05standard electric24 ft50 amp51 ft509 ftBuffalo River157 ft$30
Loop AA06standard electric27 ft50 ampyes51 ft578 ftBuffalo River193 ft$30
Loop AA07standard electric24 ft50 amp51 ft561 ftBuffalo River214 ft$30
Loop AA08standard electric27 ft50 amp47 ft513 ftBuffalo River161 ft$30
Loop AA09standard electric30 ft50 amp47 ft502 ftBuffalo River207 ft$30
Loop AA10standard electric25 ft50 amp40 ft455 ftBuffalo River197 ft$30
Loop AA11standard electric25 ft50 amp40 ft415 ftBuffalo River220 ft$30
Loop AA12standard electric28 ft50 amp34 ft333 ftBuffalo River246 ft$30
Loop AA13standard electric26 ft50 amp34 ft344 ftBuffalo River256 ft$30
Loop AA14standard electric28 ft50 amp31 ft268 ftBuffalo River311 ft$30
Loop AA15standard electric30 ft50 amp31 ft287 ftBuffalo River308 ft$30
Loop AA16standard electric24 ft50 amp50 ft225 ftBuffalo River378 ft$30
Loop AA17standard electric25 ft50 amp50 ft179 ftBuffalo River418 ft$30
Loop AA18standard electric24 ft50 amp25 ft141 ftBuffalo River420 ft$30
Loop AA19standard electric33 ft50 amp25 ft147 ftBuffalo River412 ft$30
Loop AA20standard electric24 ft50 amp40 ft222 ftBuffalo River333 ft$30
Loop AA21standard electric26 ft50 amp40 ft189 ftBuffalo River348 ft$30
Loop AA22standard electric25 ft50 amp47 ft192 ftBuffalo River325 ft$30
Loop BB23standard electric55 ft50 amp37 ft297 ftBuffalo River222 ft$30
Loop BB24standard electric61 ft50 amp37 ft270 ftBuffalo River231 ft$30
Loop BB25standard electric49 ft50 amp77 ft193 ftBuffalo River215 ft$30
Loop BB26standard electric43 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft192 ftBuffalo River26 ft$30
Loop BB27type not stated47 ft50 amp176 ftBuffalo River72 ft
Loop BB28standard electric56 ft50 amp80 ft209 ftBuffalo River82 ft$30
Loop BB29standard electric43 ft50 amp72 ft127 ftBuffalo River83 ft$30
Loop BB30standard electric50 ft50 amp37 ft134 ftBuffalo River101 ft$30
Loop BB31standard electric47 ft50 amp37 ft122 ftBuffalo River134 ft$30
Loop BB32standard electric53 ft50 amp53 ft158 ftBuffalo River144 ft$30
Loop BB33standard electric26 ft50 amp84 ft114 ftBuffalo River228 ft$30
Loop BB34standard electric51 ft50 amp39 ft139 ftBuffalo River323 ft$30
Loop BB35standard electric39 ft50 amp39 ft178 ftBuffalo River317 ft$30
Loop BB36standard electric54 ft50 amp65 ft232 ftBuffalo River279 ft$30
Loop BB37standard electric41 ft50 amp81 ft262 ftBuffalo River208 ft$30
Loop BB38standard electric55 ft50 amp80 ft287 ftBuffalo River103 ft$30
Loop CC39standard electric50 ftElectricity Hookup53 ft354 ftBuffalo River909 ft$30
Loop CC40standard electric43 ft50 amp53 ft362 ftBuffalo River957 ft$30
Loop CC41standard electric42 ft50 amp48 ft444 ftBuffalo River974 ft$30
Loop CC42standard electric48 ft50 amp166 ft198 ftBuffalo River1,049 ft$30
Loop CC43standard electric41 ft50 amp48 ft443 ftBuffalo River1,020 ft$30
Loop CC44standard electric40 ft50 amp65 ft367 ftBuffalo River1,033 ft$30
Loop CC45standard electric46 ft50 amp65 ft373 ftBuffalo River1,092 ft$30
Loop CC46standard electric35 ft50 amp64 ft440 ftBuffalo River1,157 ft$30
Loop CC47standard electric40 ft50 amp48 ft377 ftBuffalo River1,161 ft$30
Loop CC48standard electric46 ft50 amp48 ft370 ftBuffalo River1,208 ft$30
Loop CC49standard electric39 ft50 amp72 ft430 ftBuffalo River1,244 ft$30
Loop CC50standard electric47 ft50 amp60 ft361 ftBuffalo River1,284 ft$30
Loop CC51standard electric49 ft50 amp60 ft353 ftBuffalo River1,342 ft$30
Loop CC52standard electric26 ft50 amp55 ft401 ftBuffalo River1,424 ft$30
Loop CC53standard electric37 ft50 amp55 ft361 ftBuffalo River1,400 ft$30
Loop CC54standard electric50 ft50 amp86 ft336 ftBuffalo River1,498 ft$30
Loop DD55standard electric48 ft50 ampyes57 ft344 ftBuffalo River1,647 ft$30
Loop DD56standard electric48 ft50 amp57 ft333 ftBuffalo River1,704 ft$30
Loop DD57standard electric42 ft50 amp62 ft290 ftBuffalo River1,789 ft$30
Loop DD58standard electric39 ft50 amp32 ft250 ftBuffalo River1,851 ft$30
Loop DD59standard electric45 ft50 amp32 ft234 ftBuffalo River1,883 ft$30
Loop DD60standard electric34 ft50 amp23 ft228 ftBuffalo River1,945 ft$30
Loop DD61standard electric43 ft50 amp23 ft221 ftBuffalo River1,968 ft$30
Loop DD62standard electric53 ft50 amp51 ft202 ftBuffalo River2,030 ft$30
Loop DD63standard electric65 ft50 amp51 ft192 ftBuffalo River2,079 ft$30
Loop DD64standard electric47 ft50 amp49 ft165 ftBuffalo River2,161 ft$30
Loop DD65standard electric61 ft50 amp49 ft150 ftBuffalo River2,210 ft$30
Loop DD66standard electric40 ft50 amp49 ft283 ftBuffalo River2,057 ft$30
Loop DD67standard electric49 ft50 amp26 ft336 ftBuffalo River2,027 ft$30
Loop DD68standard electric44 ft50 amp26 ft360 ftBuffalo River2,013 ft$30
Loop DD69standard electric39 ft50 amp77 ft395 ftBuffalo River1,936 ft$30
Loop DD70standard electric28 ft50 amp57 ft449 ftBuffalo River1,796 ft$30
Loop DD71standard electric24 ft50 amp57 ft447 ftBuffalo River1,746 ft$30
Loop DD72standard electric37 ft50 amp44 ft378 ftBuffalo River1,804 ft$30
Loop DD73standard electric43 ft50 amp44 ft335 ftBuffalo River1,818 ft$30
Loop DD74standard electric41 ft50 amp63 ft292 ftBuffalo River1,879 ft$30
Loop DD75standard electric46 ft50 amp51 ft281 ftBuffalo River1,965 ft$30
Loop DD76standard electric53 ft50 amp49 ft274 ftBuffalo River2,015 ft$30
Loop EE77standard electric24 ft50 amp44 ft221 ftBuffalo River2,330 ft$30
Loop EE78standard electric31 ft50 amp55 ft157 ftBuffalo River2,381 ft$30
Loop EE79standard electric25 ft50 amp55 ft113 ftBuffalo River2,415 ft$30
Loop EE80standard electric29 ft50 amp60 ft127 ftBuffalo River2,477 ft$30
Loop EE81standard electric21 ft50 amp43 ft186 ftBuffalo River2,476 ft$30
Loop EE82standard electric36 ft50 amp43 ft184 ftBuffalo River2,518 ft$30
Loop EE83standard electric23 ft50 amp44 ft225 ftBuffalo River2,374 ft$30
Pavilions 1-3P1day use191 ft1,325 ftBuffalo River2,798 ft$50
Pavilions 1-3P2day use212 ft144 ftBuffalo River384 ft$50
Pavilions 1-3P3day use92 ft347 ftBuffalo River788 ft$50
Tent onlyWalk-in: Awalk to36 ft170 ftBuffalo River216 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Bwalk to36 ft134 ftBuffalo River249 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Cwalk to60 ft126 ftBuffalo River231 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Dwalk to59 ft124 ftBuffalo River230 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Ewalk to59 ft118 ftBuffalo River248 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Fwalk to37 ft143 ftBuffalo River252 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Gwalk to37 ft151 ftBuffalo River268 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Hwalk to52 ft148 ftBuffalo River300 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Iwalk to98 ft99 ftBuffalo River393 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Jwalk to122 ft113 ftBuffalo River523 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Kwalk to97 ft105 ftBuffalo River628 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Lwalk to57 ft149 ftBuffalo River678 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Mwalk to57 ft145 ftBuffalo River731 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Nwalk to59 ft168 ftBuffalo River824 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Owalk to38 ft194 ftBuffalo River865 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Pwalk to38 ft212 ftBuffalo River891 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Qwalk to68 ft279 ftBuffalo River862 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Rwalk to85 ft229 ftBuffalo River669 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Swalk to69 ft293 ftBuffalo River469 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Twalk to69 ft266 ftBuffalo River413 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Uwalk to183 ft331 ftBuffalo River183 ft$20

The agency files 3 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 112 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.08537, -92.56565
The phone870-449-4311
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Springfield, MO: Take Highway 65 South through Branson to Harrison. Stay on Highway 65 through Harrison, turn left on Highway 62 and travel to Yellville. At Yellville turn right on Highway 14 East. Travel 17 miles (27 km) to Highway 268 East. Turn left on 268 to Buffalo Point.

From Little Rock, AR: Take Highway 65 North to Marshall, at Marshall turn right on Highway 27 North about 11 miles (18 km) to Harriet. Turn left on Highway 14 West and travel about 14 miles (22.5 km) to Highway 268 East. Turn right on Highway 268 to Buffalo Point.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight41°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night36°Clear
Sunday66°Sunny

NWS forecast for Buffalo City, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GILBERT, AR (USC00032794), 11 miles away and 64 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Rick Crawford, official portrait

Buffalo Point is in Arkansas’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Rick Crawford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Eric A. "Rick" Crawford

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas

Dear Eric A. "Rick" Crawford,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas’s 1st district. I tried to camp at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 109 sites at Buffalo Point are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buffalo Point keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buffalo Point. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buffalo Point (Buffalo National River, Arkansas) via campanac.com
To John Boozman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas

Dear John Boozman,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 109 sites at Buffalo Point are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buffalo Point keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buffalo Point. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buffalo Point (Buffalo National River, Arkansas) via campanac.com
To Tom Cotton

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas

Dear Tom Cotton,

I’m a constituent in Arkansas. I tried to camp at Buffalo Point, Buffalo National River, Arkansas, and couldn’t.

All 109 sites at Buffalo Point are reservable, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buffalo Point keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buffalo Point. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buffalo Point (Buffalo National River, Arkansas) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Buffalo City, AR, 8.8 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.