National Park Service · Buffalo National River · AR

Tyler Bend Campground

2Heads uppark alerts
Information
Reservations Only at Buffalo Point - Starting March 15, 2027 Starting March 15, 2027, reservations will be required for all campsites at Buffalo Point Campground, including A & E Loops. Reservations must be made through Recreation.gov (www.recreation.gov) or by calling 877-444-6777. Reservations can…
Park Closure
South Woolum Road Closed, Alternate Route Available In the interest of safety, the South Woolum Road has been closed. The Woolum launch and campground remain open.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through November 15, and from March 15 through April 15.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:24 UTC
A night
$20From, per site
Sites
43All of them booked ahead
620 ftElevation
450 ftWater · an unnamed pond
6.8 miNW of Marshall, AR
9%Tree cover
Bortle 3Night sky · 31st darkest of 158 in AR

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Campers will delight in the picturesque river views at Tyler Bend. Located 11 miles (18 km) northwest of Marshall, Arkansas, Tyler Bend is set on a quiet, peaceful section of the great Buffalo National River. Known as the middle river region, the campground offers tranquil views of the river beside pastures. Keep reading

Recreation

Small-mouth bass, catfish and sunfish are the most popular fish to catch on the Buffalo River, but visitors should be aware that an Arkansas fishing license is required to fish anywhere on the river. The middle river location also allows for extended seasons for kayaking and tubing. If there's enough rain, the sports can go through mid- to late summer. Get a dose of history by hiking to the Collier Homestead, a restored Ozark dwelling from the 1930's. The homestead remembers one of the homes built by settlers in response to the Homestead Act of 1862. For current paddling conditions, please check with an outfitter (visit our Guided Services web page ), call the Tyler Bend Visitor Center at 870-439-2502, or check the Buffalo National River Float Guide Dashboard Facilities The Tyler Bend Visitor Center is open year-round and has interesting exhibits on the history of flora and fauna in the Buffalo National River area. It's the primary visitor center for the region and provides several educational programs in the auditorium. The campground has 10 walk-in and 28 drive-in sites available, plus a day-use pavilion and five group sites.

Natural Features

The Buffalo National River flows free over swift running rapids and quiet pools for its 135-mile (217 km) length. One of the few remaining rivers in the lower 48 states without dams, the Buffalo cuts its way through massive limestone bluffs traveling eastward through the Arkansas Ozarks and into the White River.

Nearby Attractions

The Buffalo River Trail is accessible from the Collier trailhead parking area. This trail joins the Ozark Highlands Trail at Woolum, 14 miles (22.5 km) upstream from Tyler Bend.

Charges & Cancellations

Rules and Reservation Policies

What the agency tells you

Rule

The facility is available for camping free of charge outside of the reservation season, generally November 15th to March 14th every year.

Rule

The Tyler Bend Pavilion has electricity, water, and flush restrooms available.

Rule

All campers must register at the registration station, located near the entrance to the drive-in loop, upon arrival.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

Generators are only allowed to operate from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm.

Rule

Climbing and/or diving from the bluffs is dangerous and highly discouraged.

Rule

Do not swim alone during high water.

Rule

All park trails are closed to pets with the exception of the Buffalo River Trail, only on the section of trail between Ponca and Steel Creek, the Villines Homestead Trail at Ponca, the Mill Creek Trail (trailhead is at the Pruitt river access area in the Upper District), the Tyler Bend Campground trails (Spring Hollow, Buck Ridge, and Rock Wall in the Middle District), and all three Buffalo Point Campground trails (Forest Trail, Overlook Trail, and Campground Trail in the Lower District). For more information visit the Pets page on the park website.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states.

Rule

Please be aware that some special events held at the pavilions or anywhere in the park (such as weddings, press receptions, concerts, et al) require a Special Use Permit in addition to the pavilion reservation. To obtain a Special Use Permit or additional information, please contact the Commercial Services office at (870) 365-2724.for more information vist the Special Park Uses page on the park website.

Rule

Please be advised that providing business services within an NPS unit is prohibited per CFR 5.3 without a written Authorization or Permit approved by the Superintendent. This includes services such as RV or tent delivery & set-up, firewood sales and delivery, shuttle (transportation) services, and guided hikes, floats, etc. For a list of approved visitor services and to learn more about doing business at Buffalo National River, visit the Doing Business With The Park web page.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
43 · 15 tent-only, 5 group
Hookups
None
Paved pads
15 of 43
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
SHOWERS on 43 of 44 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Stay limit
30 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
River Trips
Swimming
Visitor center
Cell signal · Cell signal · Park Service says
Yes
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

9 of 86 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:24 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 15, 2027 through April 15, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 16, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay30 nightsthe facility record
A night$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Tent Only Nonelectric$20
Group areas, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 13, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
Fees for the walk-in sites and drive-in sites (non-electric) are $20 a night for up to 6 people per site.
Fees for the Group Tent Only Area (non-electric) are $50 a night for 10 to 25 people per group site.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Rules and Reservation Policies” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:24 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

44 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 43 mapped sites
95 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomMain Loop Site# 05 39 ftMain Loop Site# 09 39 ftMain Loop Site# 06 44 ft

All 44 records

44 of 44 records located
Standard27Tent only10Group5Type not stated1Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 44 of the 44 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 42 of the 44 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Group SitesG1group tent only area nonelectric127 ft386 ftBuffalo River423 ft$50
Group SitesG2group tent only area nonelectric127 ft355 ftBuffalo River297 ft$50
Group SitesG3group tent only area nonelectric127 ft302 ftBuffalo River174 ft$50
Group SitesG4group tent only area nonelectric159 ft263 ftBuffalo River134 ft$50
Group SitesG5group tent only area nonelectric159 ft201 ftBuffalo River291 ft$50
Main LoopSite# 01type not stated460 ft335 ft
Main LoopSite# 02standard nonelectric82 ft515 ftBuffalo River410 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 03standard nonelectric62 ft441 ftBuffalo River431 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 04standard nonelectric53 ft388 ftBuffalo River450 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 05standard nonelectric39 ft363 ftBuffalo River446 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 06standard nonelectric44 ft349 ftBuffalo River432 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 07standard nonelectric118 ft428 ft314 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 08standard nonelectric95 ft406 ftBuffalo River359 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 09standard nonelectric39 ft336 ftBuffalo River458 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 10standard nonelectric104 ft302 ftBuffalo River462 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 11standard nonelectric95 ft323 ftBuffalo River436 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 12standard nonelectric110 ft213 ftBuffalo River545 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 13standard nonelectric78 ft206 ftBuffalo River580 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 14standard nonelectric74 ft282 ftBuffalo River503 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 15standard nonelectric83 ft210 ftBuffalo River595 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 16standard nonelectric74 ft321 ftBuffalo River482 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 17standard nonelectric83 ft253 ftBuffalo River590 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 18standard nonelectric91 ft337 ftBuffalo River555 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 19standard nonelectric99 ft394 ft424 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 20standard nonelectric82 ft408 ft480 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 21standard nonelectric82 ft328 ft413 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 22standard nonelectric89 ft216 ft296 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 23standard nonelectric89 ft278 ft313 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 24standard nonelectric102 ft145 ft173 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 25standard nonelectric95 ft247 ft235 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 26standard nonelectric115 ft282 ft203 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 27standard nonelectric109 ft306 ft185 ft$20
Main LoopSite# 28standard nonelectric109 ft385 ft259 ft$20
PavilionPavilionday use484 ft471 ftBuffalo River139 ft$50
Tent onlyWalk-in: Atent only nonelectric71 ft278 ftBuffalo River588 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Btent only nonelectric71 ft285 ftBuffalo River627 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Ctent only nonelectric79 ft205 ftBuffalo River716 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Dtent only nonelectric79 ft216 ftBuffalo River761 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Etent only nonelectric134 ft265 ftBuffalo River813 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Ftent only nonelectricyes95 ft313 ftBuffalo River890 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Gtent only nonelectric95 ft345 ftBuffalo River938 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Htent only nonelectric100 ft362 ftBuffalo River1,015 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Itent only nonelectric97 ft411 ftBuffalo River1,063 ft$20
Tent onlyWalk-in: Jtent only nonelectric97 ft445 ftBuffalo River1,129 ft$20

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 44 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.98667, -92.76389
The phone870-439-2502
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Springfield, Missouri take U.S. Highway 65 south for 109 miles (175 km); then turn right at Ranger Road (follow signs) and drive another 2 miles (3.2 km) to visitor center and campground.

From Little Rock, Arkansas take Interstate 40 West for 34 miles (55 km), then exit "U.S. 65/Skyline Drive." From here continue on U.S. Highway 65 north for 74 miles (119 km) and turn left at Ranger Road (follow signs) to the visitor center and campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today63°Mostly Sunny
Tonight39°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday62°Sunny
Saturday Night35°Clear

NWS forecast for Gilbert, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GILBERT, AR (USC00032794), 3 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Rick Crawford, official portrait

Tyler Bend Campground is in Arkansas’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Rick Crawford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“the agency's own site records list "CELL PHONE SERVICE" on 39 of 44 campsites here”

Nearest place of any size: Gilbert, AR, 2.3 mi W. Straight line.