Bumblebee Campground
2Heads up2 fires, nearest 41 mi
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $24–$48Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 2413 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices
In the agency’s own words
Bumblebee Campground is located in a beautiful meadow with no standing trees, near the Little North Fork Coeur D'Alene River. It makes a perfect fishing and seasonal hunting base camp. Swimming and floating the river are popular activities as well. Keep reading
Recreation
Bumblebee's creekside location creates easy access for floating, swimming and wading. Trout fishing is available about a half-mile from the campground in the Little North Fork of Coeur d'Alene River. Rainbow and cutthroat trout are the most common catches. About 15 miles from the campground is the 803 Motorized Trail System, which provides dedicated off-road trails and open roads in the Steamboat Creek area.
Facilities
Bumblebee is comprised of two loops, each with vault toilets. One hand-pump for drinking water is available at the group site (both single-site campers and group campers share this spigot). Roads are paved and campsite parking spurs are sealed gravel. Several single-family campsites are available. A group site can accommodate up to 100 people.
Natural Features
The campground sits next to Bumblebee Creek near the Little North Fork Coeur D'Alene River at an elevation of 2,200 feet. Coeur d'Alene National Forest spans 726,819 acres and is one of three forests comprising the Idaho Panhandle National Forests. The majority of Idaho's waters are located in this northern region.
Nearby Attractions
The town of Coeur d'Alene is a delightful place to explore. Visitors can go paddle boating or parasailing on Lake Coeur d'Alene, or even take a trip around the lake on a seaplane. A variety of shops and restaurants are available.
Charges & Cancellations
A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation. Late cancellations are subject to additional fees. For full details see NRRS Reservation Policy.
What the agency tells you
Extra Vehicles: One vehicle is included in your single campsite fee. Each additional vehicle will be charged a per day fee. If that fee is not paid with your reservation, it will be collected on site (cash or check only). Maximum two vehicles per site.
Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from area after eating
SCRS & Recreation.gov policy states we will keep your reserved site until check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. If you haven't occupied it at any time during this period, your reservation is null and void and will be given to first come first serve campers. Your reservation will be a no show and no refund will be given.
Everything else this campground posts · 3
The 14 day stay limit is strictly enforced. Camping for a period longer than 14 days during any 30-consecutive day period is prohibited. If you have booked back-to-back reservations, you will be asked to cancel all days after the first 14.
Click here to learn more about Idaho Panhandle National Forest
Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 24 · 1 group
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 80 ft
- Paved pads
- All
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Little
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…is comprised of two loops, each with vault toilets. One hand-pump for drinking water is available at…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…with vault toilets. One hand-pump for drinking water is available at the group site (both single-site…”
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Creek, Meadow
- Biking
- Hiking
- Swimming
- Night sky · 497th darkest of 523 in ID
- Bortle 3
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 13 of the 24 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 14
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$48 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation.” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
24 sites · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 13 mapped sitesAll 24 sites
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 24 of the 24 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 13 of the 24 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| NORT | 002 | type not stated | 840 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 923 ft | |||
| NORT | 003 | type not stated | 824 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 881 ft | |||
| NORT | 004 | type not stated | 813 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 748 ft | |||
| NORT | 005 | type not stated | 750 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 661 ft | |||
| NORT | 006 | type not stated | 763 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 735 ft | |||
| NORT | 007 | type not stated | 625 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 731 ft | |||
| NORT | 008 | type not stated | 702 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 805 ft | |||
| NORT | 009 | type not stated | 594 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 884 ft | |||
| NORT | 010 | type not stated | 700 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 953 ft | |||
| NORT | 011 | type not stated | 767 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 842 ft | |||
| NORT | GS001 | group standard area nonelectric | 35 ft | 400 ft | 867 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 823 ft | $112 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 013 | standard nonelectric | 80 ft | 146 ft | 833 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 444 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 014 | standard nonelectric | 52 ft | 111 ft | 854 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 315 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 015 | type not stated | 939 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 334 ft | |||
| SOUTH LOOP | 016 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 97 ft | 928 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 205 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 017 | standard nonelectric | 97 ft | 1,002 ftLittle North Fork Coeur d'Alene River | 203 ft | $24–$48 | |
| SOUTH LOOP | 018 | standard nonelectric | 124 ft | 1,256 ft | 155 ft | $24–$48 | |
| SOUTH LOOP | 019 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 124 ft | 1,232 ft | 179 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 020 | standard nonelectric | 10 ft | 92 ft | 1,391 ft | 298 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 021 | standard nonelectric | 92 ft | 1,348 ft | 306 ft | $24–$48 | |
| SOUTH LOOP | 022 | standard nonelectric | 79 ft | 1,486 ft | 411 ft | $24–$48 | |
| SOUTH LOOP | 023 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 79 ft | 1,469 ft | 435 ft | $24–$48 |
| SOUTH LOOP | 024 | standard nonelectric | 89 ft | 1,646 ft | 587 ft | $24–$48 | |
| SOUTH LOOP | 025 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 89 ft | 1,726 ft | 649 ft | $24–$48 |
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Honeysuckle CampgroundCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 12 mi
Kit Price CampgroundCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 12 mi
Magee Rangers CabinCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 15 mi
Kit PriceCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 15 mi
Spyglass Ground HouseCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 15 mi
Devil's Elbow CampgroundCoeur d'Alene National Forest · 15 miTake the Kingston Exit off Interstate 90 and take Forest Road 9 North for 5.4 miles. Turn left onto Bumblebee cutoff and head 3 miles to the campground sign at the junction with Forest Road 796. Turn right onto Forest Road 796 and go 0.1 miles to the campground. Single sites are on the loop to the right and the group site is the loop on the left.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Pinehurst, ID
Typical weather
Typical October night 33°F, day 58°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Bumblebee Campground is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →