Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 42 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:57 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 12 of the next 12 nights read 15:57 UTC
A night
$30–$35Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4342 on recreation.gov
50 ftLongest rig
480 ftElevation
180 ftWater · an unnamed lake
0.7 miE of Hendersonville, TN
46%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cages Bend Campground is located on the shores of Old Hickory Lake, offering campers the opportunity to enjoy activities with a beautiful scenic backdrop. Water recreation is the major attraction for lake-goers, but with white-tailed deer, migratory song birds and waterfowl abundant in the area, birding and wildlife photography is popular as well. Keep reading

Recreation

Swimming and sailing are popular ways to enjoy the lake, and anglers can find exceptional bank and boat fishing for catfish, crappie and bass.

Facilities

The campground offers a playground for families, a boat ramp for easy lake access, showers for comfort and a group picnic shelter for convenient entertaining. All sites have electric and water hookups and four sites meet accessibility standards. Laundry facilities are also onsite. Two docks are also available for fishing only, one is located inside the campground and the other is beside the boat ramp.

Natural Features

Old Hickory Lake is a 22,500 acre reservoir just northeast of the Nashville metropolitan area. Fed by the Cumberland River, it stretches for 97 miles, offering an ideal home for several birds and animals in its woodland habitat.

Nearby Attractions

Downtown Nashville, known as "the music city," is just over a thirty minute drive from the campground. Visitors looking for more pier fishing opportunities can explore nearby piers at Rockland, Sanders Ferry, Shutes Branch and Bledsoe Creek State Park. History buffs will appreciate a day trip to the Hermitage, an impressive National Historic Landmark where the seventh U.S. President, Andrew Jackson lived. Charges & Cancellations * Once your reservation has been created, there will be a $10.00 fee to cancel and a $10.00 fee to change your site or dates. * Cancellations made the day before, or up to the day after your arrival date will also be charged the first nights use fee. * No-Shows are charged a $20.00 fee plus the first nights use fee. * If your reservation is for 1 night, and you have been charged the first nights use fee, there is no $10.00 serivce fee.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Campsite must be reserved; no walk-ins

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Check-In Time: 3:00 PM Check-Out Time: 12:00 PM

Tents and rigs

Sites
43
Hookups
42 electric, 43 water
Longest rig
50 ft
Paved pads
14 of 43
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Creek
Boating
Fishing
Night sky · 85th darkest of 95 in TN
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:57 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:06 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 42 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 9 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:57 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 28Bookable now through October 28, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$30–$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$30–$35
Standard Electric$30
Standard Electric$35
The agency has already scheduled a change from Nov 1, 2026: $35 to $40 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Oct 28, 2026.
No refunds for recreation use fees may be made at the project.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“* Once your reservation has been created, there will be a $10.00 fee to cancel and a $10.00 fee to change your site or dates. * Cancellations made the day before, or up to the day after your arrival date will also be charged the first nights use fee. * No-Shows are charged a $20.00 fee plus the first nights use fee.…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:06 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:57 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

43 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 42 mapped sites
68 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room12 39 ft13 39 ft20 49 ft

All 43 sites

43 of 43 sites located
RV / electric42Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 42 of the 43 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

CAGES BEND01type not stated38 ft50 amp110 ft
CAGES BEND02standard electric45 ft50 amp348 ft77 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND03standard electric45 ft30/50 amp58 ft156 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND04standard electric45 ft30/50 amp58 ft152 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND05standard electric30 ft30/50 amp50 ft139 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND06standard electric45 ft50 amp50 ft177 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND07standard electric45 ft50 amp72 ft162 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND08standard electric45 ft30/50 amp76 ft62 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND09standard electric45 ft30/50 amp76 ft50 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND10standard electric50 ft50 amp78 ft98 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND11standard electric32 ft50 amp77 ft41 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND12standard electric38 ft50 amp39 ft54 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND13standard electric38 ft50 amp39 ft76 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND14standard electric40 ft50 amp57 ft62 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND15standard electric35 ft50 amp71 ft94 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND16standard electric35 ft50 amp71 ft145 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND17standard electric30 ft50 amp77 ft179 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND18standard electric35 ft50 amp63 ft182 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND19standard electric40 ft50 amp74 ft250 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND20standard electric40 ft50 amp49 ft162 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND21standard electric45 ft50 amp49 ft164 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND22standard electric40 ft30/50 amp86 ft253 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND23standard electric45 ft50 amp78 ft350 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND24standard electric45 ft30/50 ampyes86 ft323 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND25standard electric32 ft50 ampyes85 ft237 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND26standard electric40 ft50 amp65 ft152 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND27standard electric38 ft50 amp87 ft191 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND28standard electric30 ft50 amp66 ft79 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND29standard electric25 ft50 amp66 ft131 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND30standard electric30 ft50 amp81 ft58 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND31standard electric27 ft50 amp74 ft53 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND32standard electric40 ft50 amp65 ft125 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND33standard electric40 ft50 ampyes65 ft98 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND34standard electric45 ft50 amp67 ft143 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND35standard electric32 ft50 ampyes66 ft322 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND36standard electric40 ft50 amp64 ft286 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND37standard electric35 ft50 amp64 ft318 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND38standard electric35 ft50 amp57 ft402 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND39standard electric38 ft50 amp57 ft365 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND40standard electric38 ft50 amp70 ft432 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND41standard electric45 ft50 amp92 ft473 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND42standard electric40 ft30/50 amp71 ft365 ft$30–$35
CAGES BEND43standard electric45 ft50 amp71 ft417 ft$30–$35

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 43 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.30462, -86.51677
The phone615-824-4989
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Nashville, TN, travel North on I-65 and take TN-386/Vietnam Veterans Blvd. Continue to exit 12, Big Station Camp Blvd. Turn right onto Big Station Camp Bldvd. Continue staight across Nashville Pike onto Cages Bend Road. Take Cages Bend Road to Benders Ferry Road. The recreation area will be ahead on the left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight45°Mostly Cloudy
Saturday62°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night38°Clear
Sunday68°Sunny

NWS forecast for Hendersonville, TN

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 72°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: OLD HICKORY WFO, TN (USC00406806), 5 miles away and 110 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

John Rose, official portrait

Cages Bend is in Tennessee’s 6th congressional district. Its representative, John Rose (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To John W. Rose

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cages Bend, Tennessee

Dear John W. Rose,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee’s 6th district. I tried to camp at Cages Bend, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 43 campsites the agency files at Cages Bend, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 42 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cages Bend keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cages Bend. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cages Bend (Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Bill Hagerty

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cages Bend, Tennessee

Dear Bill Hagerty,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Cages Bend, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 43 campsites the agency files at Cages Bend, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 42 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cages Bend keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cages Bend. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cages Bend (Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Marsha Blackburn

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cages Bend, Tennessee

Dear Marsha Blackburn,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Cages Bend, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 43 campsites the agency files at Cages Bend, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 42 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cages Bend keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cages Bend. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cages Bend (Tennessee) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 12 of the next 12 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.