Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 58 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 14:46 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 12 of the next 29 nights read 14:46 UTC
A night
$30–$35Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6059 on recreation.gov
97 ftLongest rig
450 ftElevation
645 ftWater · an unnamed lake
0 miN of Mount Juliet, TN
39%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cedar Creek Campground on Old Hickory Lake in north-central Tennessee, offers 60 campsites and limitless options for activities like boating, hiking, fishing and relaxing on the swim beach. A picnic shelter located in the day use area may also be reserved on weekdays throughout the summer. The lake is named after the 7th U.S. President, Andrew Jackson, a Tennessee-native who earned the nickname "Old Hickory," because of his tough, aggressive personality. Keep reading

Recreation

Sailing, swimming and fishing are popular activities for visitors interested in water sports, while birders and wildlife viewers will delight in the abundance of migratory songbirds, waterfowl and white-tailed deer. Wild turkeys and rabbits also frequent the area.

Facilities

Modern amenities such as laundry facilities and hot showers are available for a more comfortable camping experience. Sites also come with water and electric hookups for added convenience. Families will enjoy the playground, and visitors looking to entertain will find the group picnic shelter, which accommodates up to 50 guests, to be an excellent gathering spot. Parking, however, is not guaranteed.

Natural Features

Old Hickory Lake is a 22,500 acre reservoir, primarily fed by the waters of the Cumberland River. The lake is surrounded by shady wooded areas and grassy flatlands, and offers an impressive 440 miles of scenic shoreline.

Nearby Attractions

Cedar Creek is just beyond the Nashville metropolitan area. Head to the "Music City" to tour the Country Music Hall of Fame or explore former President, Andrew Jackson's early 19th century home, "The Hermitage," a National Historic Landmark. Also located just minutes from the park is the Shutes Branch Mountain Bike Trail. Charges & Cancellations * Once your reservation has been created, there will be a $10.00 fee to cancel and a $10.00 fee to change your site or dates. * Cancellations made the day before, or up to the day after your arrival date will also be charged the first nights use fee. * No-Shows are charged a $20.00 fee plus the first nights use fee. * If your reservation is for 1 night, and you have been charged the first nights use fee, there is no $10.00 service fee.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Group shelter is for day-use only and may be reserved during most weekdays; however, this does not reserve parking nor pay for the use fee of the park.

Rule

There is a $5.00/vehicle or $2.00/walk-in for day-use facilities; parking is limited

Rule

Parking spaces may not be reserved

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
60
Hookups
58 electric, 60 water
Longest rig
97 ft
Paved pads
3 of 60
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Facilities Modern amenities such as laundry facilities and hot showers are available for a more comfortable camping experience.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Swimming
Night sky · 86th darkest of 95 in TN
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 14:46 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedClosed

Every one of the 58 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 27 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 14:46 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 28Bookable now through October 28, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 1, 2027 through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$30–$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$30–$35
Standard Electric$30
Standard Electric$35
Group area, a night$50
The agency has already scheduled a change from Nov 1, 2026: $35 to $40 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Oct 28, 2026.
No refunds for recreation use fees may be made at the project.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“* Once your reservation has been created, there will be a $10.00 fee to cancel and a $10.00 fee to change your site or dates. * Cancellations made the day before, or up to the day after your arrival date will also be charged the first nights use fee. * No-Shows are charged a $20.00 fee plus the first nights use fee.…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 14:46 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

61 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 59 mapped sites
52 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room21 36 ft36 36 ft22 40 ft

All 61 records

61 of 61 records located
RV / electric58Type not stated2Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 58 of the 61 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

CEDAR CREEK01standard electric48 ft50 amp58 ft560 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK02standard electric42 ft50 amp53 ft587 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK03standard electric51 ft50 amp42 ft630 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK04standard electric51 ft50 amp42 ft603 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK05type not stated57 ft50 amp560 ft
CEDAR CREEK06standard electric58 ft50 amp56 ft531 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK07standard electric49 ft50 amp47 ft549 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK08standard electric53 ft50 amp47 ft582 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK09standard electric47 ft50 amp47 ft642 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK10standard electric43 ft50 amp47 ft632 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK11standard electric60 ft50 amp50 ft513 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK12standard electric76 ft50 amp44 ft474 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK13standard electric60 ft50 amp44 ft429 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK14standard electric54 ft50 amp55 ft372 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK15standard electric54 ft50 amp43 ft354 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK16standard electric44 ft50 amp43 ft374 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK17standard electric42 ft50 amp47 ft440 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK18standard electric67 ft50 amp47 ft474 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK19standard electric56 ft50 amp48 ft519 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK20standard electric62 ft50 amp57 ft549 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK21standard electric57 ft50 amp37 ft471 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK22standard electric57 ft50 amp40 ft426 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK23standard electric57 ft50 amp53 ft393 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK24standard electric54 ft50 amp47 ft390 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK25standard electric54 ft50 amp47 ft394 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK26standard electric47 ft50 amp50 ft386 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK27standard electric60 ft50 amp45 ft412 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK28standard electric67 ft50 amp45 ft453 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK29standard electric62 ft50 amp56 ft523 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK30standard electric52 ft50 amp46 ft437 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK31standard electric58 ft50 amp46 ft393 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK32standard electric54 ft50 amp52 ft358 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK33standard electric55 ft50 amp52 ft335 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK34standard electric60 ft50 amp53 ft348 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK35standard electric54 ft50 amp49 ft395 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK36standard electric54 ft50 amp37 ft445 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK37standard electric57 ft50 amp51 ft490 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK38standard electric56 ft50 amp51 ft518 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK39standard electric71 ft50 amp60 ft452 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK40standard electric71 ft50 amp53 ft419 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK41standard electric71 ft50 amp53 ft377 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK42standard electric85 ft50 amp75 ft303 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK43standard electric61 ft50 amp56 ft252 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK44standard electric60 ft50 amp55 ft237 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK45standard electric55 ft50 amp55 ft262 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK46standard electric66 ft50 amp59 ft307 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK47standard electric69 ft50 amp51 ft353 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK48standard electric66 ft50 amp51 ft404 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK49standard electric71 ft50 amp79 ft212 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK50standard electric60 ft50 amp79 ft134 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK51standard electric87 ft50 amp60 ft286 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK52standard electric60 ft50 amp113 ft116 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK53standard electric95 ft50 amp113 ft224 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK54standard electric64 ft50 amp126 ft141 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK55standard electric97 ft50 amp102 ft251 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK56Astandard electric69 ft50 amp102 ft158 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK56Bstandard electric65 ft50 amp104 ft146 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK57standard electric45 ft50 amp111 ft223 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK58standard electric45 ft50 amp175 ft197 ft$30–$35
CEDAR CREEK59type not stated45 ft50 amp296 ft
CEDAR CREEKP Sday use15 ampyes185 ft297 ft$50

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 61 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.27676, -86.51077
The phone615-754-4947
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Nashville, TN. Travel East on I-40 to exit 221A. Continue onto TN-45/Old Hickory Blvd. Turn right onto US-70/Lebanon Pike. Turn left onto Nonaville Road and travel until reaching a 4-way stop. Turn right at the 4-way stop onto Saundersville Road. The recreation area will be at the end of the road.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon61°Sunny
Tonight39°Clear
Sunday69°Sunny
Sunday Night40°Clear then Patchy Frost

NWS forecast for Mount Juliet, TN

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 72°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: OLD HICKORY WFO, TN (USC00406806), 4 miles away and 140 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

John Rose, official portrait

Cedar Creek (TN) is in Tennessee’s 6th congressional district. Its representative, John Rose (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To John W. Rose

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee

Dear John W. Rose,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee’s 6th district. I tried to camp at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 60 campsites the agency files at Cedar Creek (TN), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 58 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cedar Creek (TN) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cedar Creek (TN). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cedar Creek (TN) (Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Bill Hagerty

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee

Dear Bill Hagerty,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 60 campsites the agency files at Cedar Creek (TN), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 58 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cedar Creek (TN) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cedar Creek (TN). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cedar Creek (TN) (Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Marsha Blackburn

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee

Dear Marsha Blackburn,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Cedar Creek (TN), Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 60 campsites the agency files at Cedar Creek (TN), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 58 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Cedar Creek (TN) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Cedar Creek (TN). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Cedar Creek (TN) (Tennessee) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 12 of the next 29 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.