ReservableOut of season, no booking; January 1 opens July 1.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
129 on recreation.gov
Season
April 1 – November 30Open April 1 through November 30
9,250 ftElevation
3.1 miWater · an unnamed pond
8.3 miSE of Meadow Lake, NM
0%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 146th darkest of 164 in NM
Open April 1 through November 30Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

With great views of Manzano Mountains, Rio Grande and Estancia Valleys, and unique camping structures, this 8-unit site at 9200 ft is a popular destination. Capilla Peak has access to Manzano Mountain Wilderness and Hawkwatch's raptor counting station. Note that none of the campsites have designated parking spurs and are NOT suitable for large trailers or RVs. This campground is a mix of first-come, first-served and reservation sites. An additional day use picnic pavilion is available for reservation and located at this site. Mobile payment may be available at this location, but you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Facilities

A separate day use picnic pavilion is also located on site. This site is available for reservation on Recreation.gov.

Natural Features

Great views of the Manzano Mountain Wilderness and Wilderness access. Note that all campsites are very exposed, and inclement weather is common at this high elevation. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (505) 847-2990.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No potable water on site.

Rule

The road to this campsite is not suitable for all vehicles. High clearance is recommended.

Rule

All campsites are exposed to the elements and variable weather should be expected at this high elevation site.

Tents and rigs

Sites
12
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:46 UTC

recreation.gov lists 9 of the 12 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On January 1, 2027 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through July 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Jul 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$10
ScanPay 1$10
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Oct 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:46 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

12 sites · the site map

All 12 sites

1 of 12 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 12 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 12 of the 12 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Capilla Peak01standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak02standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak03standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak04standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak05standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak06standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak07standard nonelectric$10
Capilla Peak08standard nonelectric$10
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated$10
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated$10
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated$10
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric3.1 mi348 ft$10

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today48°Sunny11% rain
Tonight26°Mostly Clear
Saturday52°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night35°Partly Cloudy4% rain

NWS forecast for Torreon, NM

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Melanie Stansbury, official portrait

Capilla Peak is in New Mexico’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Melanie Stansbury (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Torreon, NM, 3.5 mi WSW (a census designated place). Straight line.