U.S. Forest Service · Cibola National Forest · NM

Red Canyon (NM)

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 3 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:33 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 25 of the next 30 nights read 15:33 UTC
A night
$10–$12Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4140 on recreation.gov
7,700 ftElevation
1.5 miWater · an unnamed pond
10.6 miNW of Mountainair, NM
25%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 139th darkest of 164 in NM

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 2 notices

In the agency’s own words

This campground in the Manzano Mountains offers a variety of amenity and site types to fit your needs. Tucked into the pines at 7,600 feet of elevation are a mix of horse corrals, single sites, double sites, all with picnic tables and grills, and a group picnic day use area. Explore both the upper loop, with amenities for horses, and the lower loop with lots of sites to find the campsite that fits your needs. Keep reading

Recreation

Communal areas are available at this campground. The lower loop has a communal fire ring and the upper loop has a large day use area as well as access to trailheads. Horse riding and hiking are popular in this area.

Facilities

All campsites have picnic tables and grills. Many sites also have fire rings. Several sites are "double" sites with multiple sets of amenities. The campgrounds are further equipped with bear safe trash receptacles and vault toilets in shared areas.

Natural Features

Many sites are partial shade due to the tall tree cover across the campground.

What the agency tells you

Rule

During First Come First Serve season of October through March, the campground may close periodically due to unsafe weather conditions. While the campground may be open year-round, these weather conditions may dictate when the campground is accessible and the gate opened. Please call the ranger station ahead of time at 505-847-2990 to see if the gate is open during this time period.

Rule

There is no water at this campground.

Tents and rigs

Sites
41 · 11 equestrian
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with bear safe trash receptacles and vault toilets in shared areas. Natural Features Many sites are…”

Full this Saturdayread 15:33 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Booking windowThrough November 30Bookable now through November 30, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$10–$12plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$32DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$10–$12
Standard Nonelectric$10
Equestrian Nonelectric$12
Group area, a night$15
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Nov 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$20
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$32

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$12 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:33 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

42 records · the site map

All 42 records

1 of 42 records located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 42 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 41 of the 42 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Lower01standard nonelectric$10
Lower02standard nonelectric$10
Lower03standard nonelectric$10
Lower04standard nonelectric$10
Lower05standard nonelectric$10
Lower06standard nonelectric$10
Lower07standard nonelectric$10
Lower08standard nonelectric$10
Lower09standard nonelectric$10
Lower10standard nonelectric$10
Lower11standard nonelectric$10
Lower12standard nonelectric$10
Lower13standard nonelectric$10
Lower14standard nonelectric$10
Lower15standard nonelectric$10
Lower16standard nonelectric$10
Lower17standard nonelectric$10
Lower18standard nonelectric$10
Lower19standard nonelectric$10
Lower20standard nonelectric$10
Lower21standard nonelectric$10
Lower22standard nonelectric$10
Lower23standard nonelectric$10
Lower24standard nonelectric$10
Lower25standard nonelectric$10
Lower26standard nonelectric$10
Lower27standard nonelectric$10
Lower28standard nonelectric$10
Scan and PayEQ ScanPaytype not stated$10–$12
Scan and PayStandard S&Ptype not stated1.5 mi199 ft$10–$12
Upper01equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper02equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper03equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper04equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper05equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper06equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper07equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper08equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper09equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper10equestrian nonelectric$12
Upper11equestrian nonelectric$12
UpperGroup Picnicday use$15

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 42 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight29°Mostly Clear
Saturday57°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night36°Partly Cloudy4% rain
Sunday59°Mostly Sunny7% rain

NWS forecast for Manzano, NM

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Melanie Stansbury, official portrait

Red Canyon (NM) is in New Mexico’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Melanie Stansbury (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Melanie A. Stansbury

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico

Dear Melanie A. Stansbury,

I’m a constituent in New Mexico’s 1st district. I tried to camp at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 41 campsites the agency files at Red Canyon (NM), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Canyon (NM) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Canyon (NM). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Canyon (NM) (Cibola National Forest, New Mexico) via campanac.com
To Ben Ray Luján

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico

Dear Ben Ray Luján,

I’m a constituent in New Mexico. I tried to camp at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 41 campsites the agency files at Red Canyon (NM), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Canyon (NM) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Canyon (NM). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Canyon (NM) (Cibola National Forest, New Mexico) via campanac.com
To Martin Heinrich

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico

Dear Martin Heinrich,

I’m a constituent in New Mexico. I tried to camp at Red Canyon (NM), Cibola National Forest, New Mexico, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 40 of the 41 campsites the agency files at Red Canyon (NM), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Red Canyon (NM) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Red Canyon (NM). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Red Canyon (NM) (Cibola National Forest, New Mexico) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 25 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Manzano, NM, 1.3 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.