ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 16. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$10–$15Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
108 on recreation.gov
5,700 ftElevation
23 ftWater · an unnamed stream
23.3 miNE of McCall, ID
38%Tree cover
Bortle 1Night sky · 39th darkest of 523 in ID

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there

In the agency’s own words

Forested campground situated along the Secesh River at an elevation of 5,650'. This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app ht tps://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Recreation

Local activities include fly fishing, mountain biking, and hiking. The Secesh River Trail #080 and Loon Lake Trail #081 both comprise a portion of the popular Loon Lake Loop and depart directly from the campground. The historic town of Warren as well as Burgdorf Hot Springs are within easy driving distance.

Facilities

Each of nine sites includes a picnic table, fire ring, and several are equipped for stock use. There is typically potable water available June - September. There are no hookups or trash receptacles. Please pack out your trash.

Tents and rigs

Sites
10
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Hot springs, Lake, River
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 8 of the 10 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$10–$15plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$38DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$10–$15
Single$10
Double$15
These are next season’s rates, Jun 1, 2027 to Sep 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$23
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$38

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

10 sites · the site map

All 10 sites

1 of 10 sites located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 10 of the 10 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Chinook10standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook11standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook2standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook3standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook6standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook7standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook8standard nonelectric$10–$15
Chinook9standard nonelectric$10–$15
S&PDoubletype not stated$10–$15
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated23 ft$10–$15

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate45.21405, -115.80870
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From McCall, follow the Warren Wagon Road (21) north for 36 miles. Turn right at the Chinook Campground sign and follow Forest Road #378 for one mile to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon64°Mostly Sunny
Tonight42°Partly Cloudy
Saturday61°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night35°Partly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Yellow Pine, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 30°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: YELLOWPINE, ID (USC00109950), 23 miles away and 650 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Chimney Rock8,539 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Crystal Mountain13,012 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Secesh248,390 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Russ Fulcher, official portrait

Chinook is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Yellow Pine, ID, 22.8 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.