U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · IL

Dam East - McNair Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 47 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:09 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 29 of the next 30 nights read 15:09 UTC
A night
$20From, per site
Sites
4847 on recreation.gov
117 ftLongest rig
450 ftElevation
2,084 ftWater · Carlyle Lake
1 miSE of Carlyle, IL
29%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Dam East-McNair Campground is situated on the southern shore of Carlyle Lake, a prime getaway for city-dwellers and families. Located 50 miles east of St. Louis, the area offers the peaceful retreat of a small town combined with the grandeur of Illinois' largest man-made lake. Keep reading

Recreation

The area provides fun both on the water and on shore. Boat ramps and courtesy docks are located nearby, and the vast lake allows for plenty of water sports. Fishing is a popular pastime, and the lake offers year-round varieties of fish such as bluegill, crappie, channel catfish, flathead catfish, white bass, largemouth bass, freshwater drum, carp and walleye. There are multiple playgrounds on-site, as well as a swimming beach. A multi-use biking and walking trail is located a short distance away at the dam.

Facilities

Dam East-McNair Campground has one reservable group picnic shelter that can accommodate up to 80 people, as well as 47 individual campsites (1-32 located within the North and South loops of the campground, 33-47 located within the East Spillway loop below the main dam) that are available to reserve from the current day up to six months in advance. The facility also provides a swimming beach, bathhouses and laundry facilities. McNair has a nature trail and a multi-use trail, and is connected to the Dam East facilities.

Natural Features

Created in 1967, the 26,000-acre lake is recognized as one of the nation's top ten inland sailing lakes and hosts several annual races and regattas. Carlyle Lake is home to an array of wildlife that can be seen throughout the year. Its waters and shores are a resting spot for migratory waterfowl and other birds. There are six established Watchable Wildlife Sites with viewing towers open to the public around the lake. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (618) 594-2484.

Nearby Attractions

The Carlyle Lake Visitor Center, located in the Dam West Recreation Area, has information available and nature exhibits on display, including a 215-gallon aquarium with native fish.

Charges & Cancellations

Camping No Show - Camping no-show customers who do not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by check out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date will be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit their reservation. If the no-show service fee is greater than the reservation amount, the customer will not be charged any additional service fees. Cancellations - A customer who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Dam East - McNair is 100% reservable, and available for same day reservations.

Rule

Dam East Spillway is now its own loop within McNair (Sites 33-47) and is open year-round.

Rule

Campsites are single capacity; no double capacity or buddy sites are available

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

If the Group Area is not reserved, it will be available on a first-come, first-served basis

Rule

The Spillway Loop does not have a shower house, or dump station. Campers are able to use the shower and dumpstation at the entrace of McNair throughout the non-peak season. *Shower House may not be open 7 days/week.

Rule

No personal checks or cash are accepted at this time. Credit/Debit card only.

Rule

Camping No-Show - Camping no-show customers who do not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by check out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date will be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit their reservation. If the no-show service fee is greater than the reservation amount, the customer will not be charged any additional service fees.

Rule

Cancellation Fees - A $10 service fee is withheld from the refund anytime the customer cancels a camping or day use reservation. Depending on when the cancellation is made, it may be considered a late cancellation and additional fees may be forfeited. A customer who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee.

Rule

Check-out time is 4 p.m. / Check-in time is 5 p.m.

Rule

Firewood brought into this facility must be purchased, or collected locally due to invasive insects.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Click here for a virtual tour of Carlyle Lake

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
48 · 1 group
Hookups
47 electric, 21 water
Longest rig
117 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 15 of 48 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 11 of 48 campsite records
Showers
Accessible Showers
ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 11 of 48 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
ACCESSIBLE DRINKING WATER on 11 of 48 campsite records, WATER SPIGOT on 15 of 48 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Water sports
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 25th darkest of 30 in IL
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:09 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 15:03 UTC. See them

OpenBookedClosed

Every one of the 47 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 21 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:09 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the peak season. The off-peak season that follows runs November 1, 2026 through December 31, 2026; recreation.gov releases it on its own schedule, so check there before counting on those nights.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Nov 1 2026 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night$20
McNair Loop$20
Spillway Standard Electric$20
Group area, a night$125
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 3, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Camping No Show - Camping no-show customers who do not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by check out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date will be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit their reservation. Cancellations…” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 15:03 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:09 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

48 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 47 mapped sites
68 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomSOUTH LOOP 15 50 ftSOUTH LOOP 16 50 ftNORTH LOOP 21 51 ft

All 48 sites

48 of 48 sites located
RV / electric46Group1Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 46 of the 48 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

McNair Group Area CCgroup standard electric20/30 amp506 ft599 ft
NORTH LOOP21standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp51 ft223 ft$20
NORTH LOOP22standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp51 ft193 ft$20
NORTH LOOP23standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp56 ft189 ft$20
NORTH LOOP24standard electric97 ft20/30/50 amp65 ft178 ft$20
NORTH LOOP25standard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp65 ft242 ft$20
NORTH LOOP26standard electric100 ft20/30/50 amp161 ft199 ft$20
NORTH LOOP27standard electric57 ft20/30/50 amp69 ft279 ft$20
NORTH LOOP28standard electric58 ft20/30/50 amp69 ft328 ft$20
NORTH LOOP29standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp60 ft272 ft$20
NORTH LOOP30standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp60 ft320 ft$20
NORTH LOOP31standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp108 ft410 ft$20
NORTH LOOP32type not stated74 ft20/30/50 amp473 ft
SOUTH LOOP1standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp59 ft499 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP10standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp61 ft521 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP11standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp63 ft440 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP12standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp61 ft517 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP13standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp63 ft409 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP14standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft494 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP15standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp50 ft460 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP16standard electric117 ft20/30/50 amp50 ft441 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP17standard electric95 ft20/30/50 amp52 ft389 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP18standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp70 ft383 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP19standard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft324 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP2standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft476 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP20standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp70 ft318 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP3standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft424 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP4standard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp56 ft502 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP5standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp71 ft433 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP6standard electric83 ft20/30/50 amp56 ft513 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP7standard electric83 ft20/30/50 amp67 ft444 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP8standard electric88 ft20/30/50 amp67 ft476 ft$20
SOUTH LOOP9standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft474 ft$20
Spillway33standard electric20/30/50 amp104 ft208 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway34standard electric20/30/50 amp104 ft120 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway35standard electric20/30/50 amp71 ft110 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway36standard electric20/30/50 amp70 ft179 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway37standard electric20/30/50 amp77 ft120 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway38standard electric20/30/50 amp58 ft185 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway39standard electric20/30/50 amp130 ft201 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway40standard electric20/30/50 amp57 ft241 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway41standard electric20/30/50 amp57 ft234 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway42standard electric20/30/50 amp81 ft240 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway43standard electric20/30/50 amp93 ft437 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway44standard electric20/30/50 amp93 ft506 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway45standard electric20/30/50 amp106 ft503 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway46standard electric20/30/50 amp95 ft462 ftKaskaskia River$20
Spillway47standard electric20/30/50 amp95 ft541 ftKaskaskia River$20

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 48 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.60833, -89.32500
The phone618-594-5253
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From I-57, take Old U.S. Highway 50 west for 22 miles to the Dam East Entrance road. Turn north and continue through the four-way intersection to the McNair Group Area.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon59°Sunny
Tonight38°Clear
Sunday68°Sunny
Sunday Night41°Clear

NWS forecast for Carlyle, IL

Typical weather

Typical October night 46°F, day 70°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CARLYLE RSVR, IL (USC00111290), 2 miles away and 51 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Mike Bost, official portrait

Dam East - McNair Campground is in Illinois’s 12th congressional district. Its representative, Mike Bost (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Mike Bost

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois

Dear Mike Bost,

I’m a constituent in Illinois’s 12th district. I tried to camp at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 48 campsites the agency files at Dam East - McNair Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 47 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dam East - McNair Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Dam East - McNair Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Dam East - McNair Campground (Illinois) via campanac.com
To Richard J. Durbin

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois

Dear Richard J. Durbin,

I’m a constituent in Illinois. I tried to camp at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 48 campsites the agency files at Dam East - McNair Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 47 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dam East - McNair Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Dam East - McNair Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Dam East - McNair Campground (Illinois) via campanac.com
To Tammy Duckworth

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois

Dear Tammy Duckworth,

I’m a constituent in Illinois. I tried to camp at Dam East - McNair Campground, Illinois, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 47 of the 48 campsites the agency files at Dam East - McNair Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 47 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Dam East - McNair Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Dam East - McNair Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Dam East - McNair Campground (Illinois) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 29 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.