U.S. Forest Service · Willamette National Forest · OR

Dolly Varden

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 22 opens May 22.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$8–$18Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
96 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 1,000 ft · 76% tree cover · Fall Creek within reach · Bortle 3 sky
1,000 ftElevation
264 ftWater · Fall Creek
8.2 miNE of Lowell, OR
76%Tree cover
Bortle 3Night sky · 687th darkest of 770 in OR

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

This first camp along the Fall Creek drainage on Forest Service Road 18 provides convenient access to the beginning of the 13.7-mile Fall Creek National Recreation Trail. The partially reservable campground offers 5 tent-only sites. Three sites are along the creek on the north side of Forest Road 18, and two walk-in only sites are across the road. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (801) 226-3564.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Customer Service Contact 801-226-3564 or Help.Willamette.MiddleFork@AmericanLL.com

Tents and rigs

Sites
9 · 5 tent-only
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 6 of the 9 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 22, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 22, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$8–$18plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$24–$44DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itAmerican Land & LeisureA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 22 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$8–$18
ScanPay 2$8
ScanPay 1$18
Tent Only (Walk-in) Nonelectric$18
Tent Only Nonelectric$18
These are next season’s rates, May 22, 2027 to Sep 19, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$16–$26
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$24–$44

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $8–$18 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

9 sites · the site map

All 9 sites

1 of 9 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 6 of the 9 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Dolly Varden001tent only nonelectric$18
Dolly Varden002tent only nonelectric$18
Dolly Varden003tent only nonelectric$18
Dolly Varden004tent only nonelectric$18
Dolly Varden005tent only nonelectric$18
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardstandard nonelectric264 ft$8–$18

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight47°Mostly Cloudy2% rain
Saturday62°Partly Sunny12% rain
Saturday Night43°Patchy Fog1% rain
Sunday63°Mostly Sunny

NWS forecast for Lowell, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 63°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 37°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LOOKOUT PT DAM, OR (USC00355050), 8 miles away and 288 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Val Hoyle, official portrait

Dolly Varden is in Oregon’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Val Hoyle (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.