U.S. Forest Service · Los Padres National Forest · CA

Fremont Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 45 mi
Wildfire
Cornell fire · 45 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Pinos fire · 45 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 3 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:32 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$40From, per site
Sites
1514 on recreation.gov
Season
January 1 – December 31Open January 1 through December 31
34 ftLongest rig
1,010 ftElevation
1,572 ftWater · Santa Ynez RiverOcean · 8.1 mi · to the Pacific Ocean
4.9 miNW of Eastern Goleta Valley, CA
40%Tree cover
Open January 1 through December 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Fremont Campground is a family-friendly facility located just off California's western coast. It provides access to a variety of hiking, biking and horseback riding trails, as well as some off-road vehicle trails, in a scenic area. Keep reading

Recreation

The Santa Ynez River is popular for a variety of water-related recreation. It can be accessed at nearby White Rock Day Use Area. Cachuma Lake Recreation Area, a no-body-contact reservoir, is also nearby. It offers boating, kayaking and fishing opportunities. Visitors enjoy access to a variety of hiking, biking and horseback riding trails. The Aliso National Recreation Trail is a popular, 2.5-mile loop available close to the campground. Also nearby is the 18-mile Santa Cruz Trail, which provides access to a variety of other trails in the area. The Camuesa OHV Route and its connectors are within 10 miles.

Facilities

The campground offers more than a dozen sites for tent or RV camping. Some sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Large accessible sites are also available. Each site is equipped with a table, campfire ring with grill and a pedestal grill. Accessible flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.

Natural Features

The campground is located in the Lower Santa Ynez Recreation Area of the Santa Barbara Ranger District. It is situated in an forest of mostly oak trees in hilly terrain at an elevation of about 1,000 feet. The campground is full of lush greenery and is shady.

Nearby Attractions

The large city of Santa Barbara is located about 18 miles from the campground. The coast is not far beyond that.

What the agency tells you

Rule

In order to contact our offices, please use the email: customerservice@pmcparks.com or view our website: CampOne.Com for answers to frequently asked questions.

Rule

Fire restrictions (on all campfires and charcoal fires) may be imposed at any time, due to hot, dry weather conditions; check www.campone.com for current fire restrictions.

Rule

Poison oak is abundant in the area; use caution.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

All single campsite reservations are good for 6 people and 1 vehicle.

Rule

Maximum number of people per single site is 8 ($10.00 additional charge per person per night after 6 people.) Maximum number of vehicles per single site is 1 ($10.00 additional charge for 2nd vehicle per night and parked at Paradise campground 1/2 mile down the road). Extra Vehicle and person fees will be charged at the facility.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Los Padres National Forest.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
15 · 7 walk-in
Hookups
None
Longest rig
34 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…grill and a pedestal grill. Accessible flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Firewood is…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…grill. Accessible flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Firewood is available for purchase…”
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Coast
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Horseback riding
Swimming
Night sky · 953rd darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 8 days ago, 25 km away
No change
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (25 km) · Oct 9, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:32 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 3 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 13 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:32 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$92DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$40
Standard Nonelectric$40
Friday and Saturday, added$2
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
All single campsite reservations are good for 6 people and 1 vehicle.
Maximum number of people per single site is 8 ($10.00 additional charge per person per night after 6 people).
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Maximum number of vehicles per single site is 2 ($10.00 additional charge for 2nd vehicle per night).” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$92

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking, plus the agency’s published $2 weekend rate on Friday and Saturday. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:32 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

15 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 14 mapped sites
38 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room001 4 ft005 4 ft013 20 ft

5 sites share one published coordinate and are left out of the rankings.

All 15 sites

15 of 15 sites located
Standard7Walk, hike or boat in7Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 14 of the 15 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND001walk to4 ft1,735 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND002walk to45 ft1,800 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND003walk to37 ft1,790 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND004type not stated30 ft1,738 ft
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND005standard nonelectric32 ft4 ft1,734 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND006standard nonelectric34 ft1,790 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND007standard nonelectric24 ft79 ft1,753 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND008standard nonelectric30 ft1,740 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND009standard nonelectric30 ft61 ft1,843 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND010standard nonelectric20 ft1,740 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND011walk to1,793 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND012walk to51 ft1,843 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND013walk to20 ft1,755 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND014walk to38 ft1,727 ft$40
AREA FREMONT CAMPGROUND015standard nonelectric30 ft1,740 ft$40

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight63°Mostly Clear
Saturday96°Sunny
Saturday Night56°Mostly Clear
Sunday90°Sunny

NWS forecast for Eastern Goleta Valley, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 43°F, day 84°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 33°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CACHUMA LAKE, CA (USC00041253), 10 miles away and 221 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Los Padres National Forestlogging, drilling, rollback
Roadless
Tequepis9,080 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Little Pine1,315 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Santa Cruz21,182 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Salud Carbajal, official portrait

Fremont Campground is in California’s 24th congressional district. Its representative, Salud Carbajal (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Salud O. Carbajal

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Salud O. Carbajal,

I’m a constituent in California’s 24th district. I tried to camp at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 15 campsites the agency files at Fremont Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fremont Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fremont Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fremont Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 15 campsites the agency files at Fremont Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fremont Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fremont Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fremont Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Fremont Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 15 campsites the agency files at Fremont Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 3 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fremont Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fremont Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fremont Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (25 km) · Oct 9, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.