2Heads up2 fires, nearest 44 mi
Wildfire
Cornell fire · 44 mi away · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Pinos fire · 44 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 35 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:42 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:42 UTC
A night
$40From, per site
Sites
3837 on recreation.gov
35 ftLongest rig
930 ftElevation
1,081 ftWater · Santa Ynez RiverOcean · 8.0 mi · to the Pacific Ocean
4.8 miN of Eastern Goleta Valley, CA
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Los Prietos Campground is situated in the Los Padres National Forest and provides access to a variety of outdoor adventures, including water-related recreation and hiking. The family-friendly campground is green and lush and is a great place to camp in the mountains of western California. Keep reading

Recreation

The Santa Ynez River is popular for a variety of water-related recreation. The river can be accessed at White Rock Day Use Area, less than a half-mile from the campground. Cachuma Lake Recreation Area is no-body-contact reservoir about 10 miles northwest of the campground. It offers boating, fishing and kayaking. Anglers will find an abundance of annually stocked trout. Carp and bass are also common catches. Visitors enjoy a variety of hiking, biking and horseback riding trails. The Aliso National Recreation Trail is a popular, 2.5-mile loop that begins near the campground. Also nearby is the 18-mile Santa Cruz Trail, which provides access to a variety of other trails in the area. The Camuesa OHV Route and its connecting trails are available within 10 miles of the campground.

Facilities

The campground offers dozens of single-family sites for tent or RV camping. No utility hookups are available at the campground. Each site is equipped with a table, campfire ring with grill and a pedestal grill. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Trash collection bins are available throughout the campground.

Natural Features

The campground is nestled on the side of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Beautiful, mature oak trees provide ample shade, and abundant vegetation blankets the ground. The sites are roomy and allow for some privacy and separation.

Nearby Attractions

The campground is located 19 miles from Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean.

What the agency tells you

Rule

In order to contact our offices, please use the email: customerservice@pmcparks.com or view our website: CampOne.Com for answers to frequently asked questions.

Rule

Poison oak is abundant in the area; use caution

Rule

Additional fees will be collected for extra vehicles at the campground

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Click here for more information on the Los Padres National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Campsite reservation fee covers 6 people and 1 vehicle. Maximum number of people per site is 8 ($10.00 additional charge per person, per night after 6 people). Maximum number of vehicles per site is 2 ($10.00 additional charge for 2nd vehicle per night).

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
38 · 8 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
35 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…ring with grill and a pedestal grill. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Trash collection…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…and a pedestal grill. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Trash collection bins are available…”

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Coast
Biking
Fishing
Swimming
Night sky · 959th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 7 days ago, 26 km away
No change
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (26 km) · Oct 9, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:42 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 35 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 34 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:42 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 15, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 16, 2027.recreation.gov
A night$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$92DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$40
Standard Electric$40
Standard Nonelectric$40
Tent Only Nonelectric$40
Friday and Saturday, added$2
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“$30.00 per site, $10.00 for each extra vehicle.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$92

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking, plus the agency’s published $2 weekend rate on Friday and Saturday. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 16:42 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

38 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 37 mapped sites
84 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room012 52 ft013 52 ft028 54 ft

All 38 sites

38 of 38 sites located
Standard29Tent only8Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 37 of the 38 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA LOS PRIETOS001type not stated30 ft15 amp716 ft
AREA LOS PRIETOS002standard nonelectric30 ft105 ft929 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS003standard nonelectric30 ft105 ft1,026 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS004standard nonelectric24 ft119 ft1,144 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS005standard nonelectric24 ft116 ft1,274 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS006standard nonelectric24 ft98 ft1,382 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS007standard nonelectric25 ft80 ft1,352 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS008tent only nonelectric25 ft83 ft1,470 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS009standard nonelectric30 ft80 ft1,421 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS010tent only nonelectric83 ft1,543 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS011tent only nonelectric142 ft1,591 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS012tent only nonelectric52 ft1,466 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS013tent only nonelectric52 ft1,416 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS014standard nonelectric28 ft78 ft1,439 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS015standard nonelectric30 ft165 ft1,130 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS016tent only nonelectric124 ft965 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS017standard nonelectric78 ft1,069 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS018standard nonelectric24 ft70 ft1,121 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS019standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft1,153 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS020standard nonelectric24 ft69 ft987 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS021standard nonelectric20 ft82 ft1,057 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS022standard nonelectric30 ft69 ft933 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS023standard nonelectric34 ft112 ft909 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS024standard nonelectric34 ft112 ft907 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS025standard nonelectric15 ft133 ft1,243 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS026tent only nonelectric20 ft113 ft1,088 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS027standard nonelectric34 ft92 ft1,044 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS028standard nonelectric20 ft54 ft935 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS029standard nonelectric30 ft92 ft1,097 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS030standard nonelectric28 ft91 ft1,214 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS031standard nonelectric24 ft91 ft1,150 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS032standard nonelectric34 ft110 ft994 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS033standard nonelectric35 ft84 ft903 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS034standard nonelectric24 ft54 ft891 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS035standard nonelectric32 ft76 ft747 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS036tent only nonelectric84 ft866 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS037standard nonelectric34 ft70 ft716 ft$40
AREA LOS PRIETOS038standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft675 ft$40

25 of 38 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.54167, -119.80917
The phone805-434-1996
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight64°Clear
Friday92°Sunny2% rain
Friday Night66°Mostly Clear2% rain
Saturday90°Sunny

NWS forecast for Eastern Goleta Valley, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 51°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 40°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

80°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SANTA BARBARA MUNI AP, CA (USW00023190), 8 miles away and 921 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Los Padres National Forestlogging, drilling, rollback
Roadless
Tequepis9,080 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Camuesa8,209 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Little Pine1,315 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Salud Carbajal, official portrait

Los Prietos is in California’s 24th congressional district. Its representative, Salud Carbajal (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Salud O. Carbajal

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Salud O. Carbajal,

I’m a constituent in California’s 24th district. I tried to camp at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 37 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Los Prietos, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 35 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Los Prietos keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Los Prietos. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Los Prietos (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 37 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Los Prietos, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 35 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Los Prietos keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Los Prietos. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Los Prietos (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Los Prietos, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 37 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Los Prietos, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 35 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Los Prietos keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Los Prietos. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Los Prietos (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (26 km) · Oct 9, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.