3Heads up3 fires, nearest 9 mi
Wildfire
Old fire · 8.7 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Spaulding fire · 14 mi away · 2 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Peak fire · 33 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:20 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$24–$48Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3027 on recreation.gov
Season
April 30 – October 31Open April 30 through October 31
60 ftLongest rig
3,670 ftElevation
341 ftWater · Sugar Pine Reservoir
7.3 miNE of Foresthill, CA
54%Tree cover
Open April 30 through October 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Giant Gap Campground is located on the north shore of Sugar Pine Reservoir, in the Tahoe National Forest. It is just 15 miles from Foresthill. Visitors enjoy the surrounding area for its fishing, canoeing, OHV and hiking opportunities. Keep reading

Recreation

Fishing, canoeing, swimming and boating are popular activities on the reservoir. A paved, non-motorized trail circles the campground and connects to the day use area and Shirttail Creek Campground. The North Fork of the American River is nearby, with additional fishing and swimming. Many miles of hiking and off-road vehicle trails are in the surrounding area.

Facilities

The campground offers several single- and double-family campsites, a few of which are accessible. Picnic tables, campfire rings and grills are provided, as are vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.

Natural Features

The campground and the adjacent 160-acre Sugar Pine Reservoir are situated at an elevation of 3,600 feet. The campground is situated in stands of cedar and ponderosa pine trees. Summertime temperatures are hot during the day and cool at night.

What the agency tells you

Rule

*** Large single unit RVs are not suitable for the campground roads. Even though a site might have a 40 foot parking space, a 40 foot long RV can’t navigate through the campground. Also please remember that site parking length includes trailer and vehicle.***

Rule

Water Faucets: • While safe to drink, the potable water in the campground has a high iron content and visitors may wish to bring their own drinking water. • Visitors may not connect hoses to faucets for sanitation concerns. • Faucets are meant for drinking water only. For sanitation reasons there can be no bathing or cleaning at faucets. • All grey water must be properly disposed of at the dump station.  Trash: • Trash should be placed in dumpsters. If the dumpsters are full then trash must be properly stored in a bear box until the dumpster is emptied, or can be taken to the nearest dumpster. This is to avoid wildlife getting in the trash and dispersing it through the forest.   • Make sure to properly close/lock dumpsters to avoid wildlife getting in the trash. Campsite: • Camp only in designated camping areas. Areas beyond the campground could have hazard trees.  • Only park in designated parking spaces. Parking off of pavement in camping areas is prohibited. • No parking in or blocking road ways.  • Keep food in bear boxes at all times.  • If visitors need to hang things they can use rachets straps or bungees. Using screws, nails, and staples is prohibited.  • Stapling into the preparation tables and/or picnic tables is prohibited due to the damage it causes.  • Cutting or damaging standing trees is prohibited.   • Collecting dead wood is highly encouraged. Visitors must have a wood cutting permit to cut wood on the ground.  • DAY USE:   • NO Swimming on or around the boat dock/ ramp. Swimmers must stay 100 feet away at all times to keep a safe distance from boat traffic.  • Park in designated parking spots. No parking along painted curbs or by boat ramp.  • All vehicles must pay for day use parking at the Sugar Pine Day Use Area. The $5.00 Day use parking is not included in the camping fee.  Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed. For current fire conditions or weather closures contact the American River Ranger District (530) 367-2224 (voice), (530) 367-2226 (TDD).

Rule

This is not Sugar Pine Point State Park

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally in Foresthill or by using down wood debris from the area that fit within the fire ring. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within Sugar Pine Complex, except for in the staging area, at the turnoff to Big Reservoir, such as Sugarpine OHV and Parker Flat.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Tahoe National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
30 · 5 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
60 ft
Paved pads
29 of 30
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…rings and grills are provided, as are vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…are provided, as are vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.…”
Firewood
Sold here
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
15 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, River, Creek
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 916th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:20 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 22 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:20 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 14, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 14, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay15 nightsthe facility record
A night$24–$48plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56–$104DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 14 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$24–$48
Standard Nonelectric$24
Tent Only Nonelectric$24
Standard Nonelectric-Double$48
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 18, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32–$56
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56–$104

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$48 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:20 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

30 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 22 mapped sites
92 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room027 64 ft028 64 ft007 66 ft

All 30 sites

25 of 30 sites located
Standard17Tent only5Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 17 of the 30 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 27 of the 30 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AREA GIANT GAP001standard nonelectric35 ft119 ft423 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP002standard nonelectric31 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP003standard nonelectric55 ft115 ft442 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP004tent only nonelectric16 ft118 ft442 ft$24
AREA GIANT GAP005standard nonelectric16 ft111 ft448 ft3,244 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP006type not stated31 ftyes444 ft3,066 ft
AREA GIANT GAP007standard nonelectric16 ft66 ft399 ft2,979 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP008standard nonelectric16 ft66 ft364 ft2,950 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP009type not stated16 ft384 ft2,969 ft
AREA GIANT GAP010tent only nonelectric331 ft260 ft2,690 ft$24
AREA GIANT GAP011standard nonelectric35 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP012standard nonelectric25 ft69 ft295 ft2,881 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP013standard nonelectric25 ftyes80 ft384 ft2,938 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP014standard nonelectric16 ft80 ft390 ft3,003 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP015standard nonelectric45 ft76 ft350 ft3,137 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP016standard nonelectric35 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP017standard nonelectric76 ft320 ft3,164 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP018standard nonelectric25 ft104 ft242 ft2,878 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP019standard nonelectric104 ft218 ft2,787 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP020type not stated35 ft247 ft2,807 ft
AREA GIANT GAP021standard nonelectric25 ftyes97 ft116 ft2,696 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP022standard nonelectric25 ftyes97 ft125 ft2,774 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP023standard nonelectric35 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP024tent only nonelectric128 ft262 ft3,166 ft$24
AREA GIANT GAP025standard nonelectric35 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP026standard nonelectric60 ft115 ft327 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP027tent only nonelectric34 ft64 ft339 ft$24
AREA GIANT GAP028standard nonelectric31 ft64 ft347 ft$24–$48
AREA GIANT GAP029tent only nonelectric86 ft315 ft$24
AREA GIANT GAP030standard nonelectric45 ft86 ft308 ft$24–$48

25 of 30 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.13889, -120.79222
The phone530-367-2224
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Interstate 80, take the Auburn/Ravine Road exit. Continue east for 17 miles to Foresthill. Travel through town, about 9 miles, to Forest Road 10/Sugar Pine Road. Turn left and drive 9 miles, crossing a boat ramp and the dam, to the Sugar Pine Campground. Turn right and continue over a mile to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today86°Sunny
Tonight55°Clear
Saturday81°Sunny
Saturday Night53°Clear

NWS forecast for Alta, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 71°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical April night 40°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: NEVADA CITY, CA (USC00046136), 13 miles away and 889 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
North Fork Middle Fork American River11,245 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Kevin Kiley, official portrait

Giant Gap is in California’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Kevin Kiley (I), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Kevin Kiley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Kevin Kiley,

I’m a constituent in California’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Giant Gap, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Giant Gap keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Giant Gap. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Giant Gap (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Giant Gap, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Giant Gap keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Giant Gap. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Giant Gap (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Giant Gap, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 27 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Giant Gap, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Giant Gap keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Giant Gap. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Giant Gap (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Alta, CA, 4.4 mi S (a census designated place). Straight line.