U.S. Forest Service · Tahoe National Forest · CA

Shirttail Creek

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 9 mi
Wildfire
Old fire · 9.0 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Swedes fire · 40 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:08 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$24–$72Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3929 on recreation.gov
Season
April 30 – October 31Open April 30 through October 31
100 ftLongest rig
3,680 ftElevation
213 ftWater · an unnamed stream
7.6 miNE of Foresthill, CA
46%Tree cover
Open April 30 through October 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Shirttail Campground is located on the north shore of Sugar Pine Reservoir, in the Tahoe National Forest, 15 miles from Foresthill. Visitors enjoy the area for its fishing, boating, OHV, and hiking opportunities. This facility is operated and maintained by the Tahoe National Forest. Keep reading

Recreation

Fishing, swimming and both motorized and non-motorized boating are popular activities on the reservoir. A paved, non-motorized accessible trail connects recreation sites on the north shore with recreation sites on the south shore and has interpretive signs and shaded benches for rest breaks. The North Fork of the American River is nearby, with additional fishing, white water boating, and swimming. Many miles of hiking, biking and off-road vehicle trails are in the surrounding area.

Facilities

The campground offers single and double family campsites and one triple site; a few of the campsites are accessible. Picnic tables, campfire rings and grills are provided, as well as vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.

Natural Features

Sugar Pine Reservoir covers 160 acres at an elevation of 3600 feet. The campground lies above the north shoreline, in a forest of manzanita and ponderosa pine. Summertime temperatures are warm during the day and cool at night.

Nearby Attractions

Shirttail Creek Campground is a recreation site within the Sugar Pine Recreation Area which includes an additional family campground, a group campground, a boat ramp, and a day use picnic site, as well as a trail that circles the entire lake. The North Fork American Wild And Scenic River can be accessed near by. Other recreation opportunities include many hiking, equestrian, mountain biking, and OHV trails.

What the agency tells you

Rule

*** Large single unit RVs are not suitable for the campground roads. Even though a site might have a 40 foot parking space, a 40 foot long RV can’t navigate through the campground. Also please remember that site parking length includes trailer and vehicle.***

Rule

Water Faucets: • While safe to drink, the potable water in the campground has a high iron content and visitors may wish to bring their own drinking water. • Visitors may not connect hoses to faucets for sanitation concerns. • Faucets are meant for drinking water only. For sanitation reasons there can be no bathing or cleaning at faucets. • All grey water must be properly disposed of at the dump station.  Trash: • Trash should be placed in dumpsters. If the dumpsters are full then trash must be properly stored in a bear box until the dumpster is emptied, or can be taken to the nearest dumpster. This is to avoid wildlife getting in the trash and dispersing it through the forest.   • Make sure to properly close/lock dumpsters to avoid wildlife getting in the trash. Campsite: • Camp only in designated camping areas. Areas beyond the campground could have hazard trees.  • Only park in designated parking spaces. Parking off of pavement in camping areas is prohibited. • No parking in or blocking road ways.  • Keep food in bear boxes at all times.  • If visitors need to hang things they can use rachets straps or bungees. Using screws, nails, and staples is prohibited.  • Stapling into the preparation tables and/or picnic tables is prohibited due to the damage it causes.  • Cutting or damaging standing trees is prohibited.   • Collecting dead wood is highly encouraged. Visitors must have a wood cutting permit to cut wood on the ground.  • DAY USE:   • NO Swimming on or around the boat dock/ ramp. Swimmers must stay 100 feet away at all times to keep a safe distance from boat traffic.  • Park in designated parking spots. No parking along painted curbs or by boat ramp.  • All vehicles must pay for day use parking at the Sugar Pine Day Use Area. The $5.00 Day use parking is not included in the camping fee.  Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed. For current fire conditions or weather closures contact the American River Ranger District (530) 367-2224 (voice), (530) 367-2226 (TDD).

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally in Foresthill or by using down wood debris from the area that fit within the fire ring. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

This is not Sugar Pine Point State Park

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the Sugar Pine Complex, except for at the staging area near the turnoff to Big Reservoir, such as Sugarpine OHV and Parker Flat.

Rule

Utility hookups and showers are not available

Rule

Click here for more information on the Tahoe National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
39 · 2 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
100 ft
Paved pads
38 of 39
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and grills are provided, as well as vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…provided, as well as vault toilets and drinking water. Firewood is available for purchase from the host.…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
15 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Mountain biking
Non-Motorized Boating
Swimming
Water access
Night sky · 904th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:08 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 26 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 16:08 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 14, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 14, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay15 nightsthe facility record
A night$24–$72plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56–$152DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 14 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$24–$72
Standard Nonelectric$24
Tent Only Nonelectric$24
Standard Nonelectric - Double$48
Standard Nonelectric - Triple$72
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 18, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
Single campsites (8 people) $24.00, double campsites (16 people) $48.00, triple campsite (24 people) $72.00.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32–$80
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56–$152

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$72 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:08 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

41 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 20 mapped sites
94 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room004 48 ft008 48 ft009 67 ft

All 41 records

30 of 41 records located
Standard18Tent only2Type not stated10
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 39 of the 41 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK001standard nonelectric45 ft216 ft192 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK002standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK002type not stated45 ft143 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK003standard nonelectric45 ft113 ft20 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK004standard nonelectric40 ft48 ft62 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK005standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK005type not stated45 ft63 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK006standard nonelectric35 ft94 ft50 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK007standard nonelectric35 ftyes94 ft14 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK008tent only nonelectric48 ft109 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK009standard nonelectric35 ft67 ft174 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK010standard nonelectric40 ft76 ft129 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK011tent only nonelectric107 ft256 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK012standard nonelectric40 ft67 ft200 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK013standard nonelectric30 ft78 ft70 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK014standard nonelectric35 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK014type not stated45 ft110 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK015type not stated40 ft57 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK016type not stated45 ft112 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK016standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK017standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK017type not stated45 ft161 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK018standard nonelectric40 ft77 ft241 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK019standard nonelectric40 ft77 ft214 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK020standard nonelectric35 ft94 ft120 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK021type not stated45 ft172 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK021standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK022standard nonelectric50 ft131 ft80 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK023standard nonelectric31 ft151 ft112 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK024standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK024type not stated45 ft25 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK025standard nonelectric100 ft101 ft97 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK026standard nonelectric30 ftyes147 ft118 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK027type not stated45 ft210 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK027standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK028standard nonelectric$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK028type not stated45 ft234 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK029standard nonelectric50 ftyes117 ft211 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEK030standard nonelectric40 ft78 ft109 ft$24–$72
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEKXXXunnamed record45 ft$24
AREA SHIRTTAIL CREEKXXX10unnamed record$24

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 41 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.14192, -120.78649
The phone530-367-2224
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From either east bound or west bound Interstate 80 take exit 121, Auburn Ravine Road to Foresthill. Continue east for 17 miles, to Foresthill. Travel through town, about 9 miles, to Forest Road 10/Sugar Pine Road. Turn left and continue 9 miles to the Sugar Pine Campgrounds road (approximately 1 mile after crossing the Sugar Pine Reservoir dam). Turn right and continue about 1.5 miles, turn left into the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight55°Clear
Saturday82°Sunny
Saturday Night54°Clear
Sunday77°Sunny

NWS forecast for Alta, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 71°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical April night 40°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: NEVADA CITY, CA (USC00046136), 14 miles away and 899 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
North Fork Middle Fork American River11,245 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Kevin Kiley, official portrait

Shirttail Creek is in California’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Kevin Kiley (I), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Kevin Kiley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Kevin Kiley,

I’m a constituent in California’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 39 campsites the agency files at Shirttail Creek, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Shirttail Creek keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Shirttail Creek. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Shirttail Creek (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 39 campsites the agency files at Shirttail Creek, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Shirttail Creek keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Shirttail Creek. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Shirttail Creek (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Shirttail Creek, Tahoe National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 39 campsites the agency files at Shirttail Creek, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Shirttail Creek keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Shirttail Creek. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Shirttail Creek (Tahoe National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Alta, CA, 4.3 mi S (a census designated place). Straight line.