1Heads up1 fire 38 mi away
Wildfire
Land fire · 38 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 11, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 26 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:54 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 8 of the next 8 nights read 15:54 UTC
A night
$34From, per site
Sites
5231 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
6,880 ftElevation
2,855 ftWater · Pinyon Creek
13.7 miNW of Lone Pine, CA
17%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Grays Meadows Campground is situated along Independence Creek in the Onion Valley area of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains. Its location on the creek and proximity to the rugged John Muir Wilderness make it a popular hub for hikers, anglers, spring skiers and snowboarders. Opening and closing dates may be dependent on weather conditions. Keep reading

Recreation

Majestic mountain scenery and challenging trails draw campers to the Onion Valley area for hiking and horseback riding. The well-known and demanding Shepherd Pass Trail, which can be reached just west of Grays Meadows Campground, heads up to alpine lakes and the high peaks of the John Muir Wilderness. Independence Creek is regularly stocked with trophy-size rainbow trout. Anglers flock to the creek for its early trout fishing season, which starts the first weekend in March, ahead of much of the area.

Facilities

The facility consists of an upper and lower campground. The creek borders one side; sites 10, 12, 13, 14, 40, 41, 46 and 51 are closest to the water. Most of the campground is located in a large oak grove, providing shade. The area is frequented by bears so campers must store food in the bear-proof lockers provided on-site. Firewood is available for purchase at the campground.

Natural Features

Grays Meadows Campground offers a wandering creek, both sunny and shaded campsites and a high-desert landscape. It sits at an elevation 6,100 ft. and is bordered on the west by Mt. Williamson and Mt. Whitney, the highest peaks in the contiguous United States. The area is home to abundant wildlife, including black bear, mountain lions, mule deer, pine marten, pika and many species of fish and birds. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (602) 726-1102.

Nearby Attractions

Campers can enter the John Muir Wilderness , a land of lofty snow-capped mountains, deep canyons and vast expanses of glacially carved terrain, via nearby trails.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of site in approved containers and remove all food from area after eating; do not leave food in car; always keep a clean camp and do not feed any wild animals; campground is patrolled at night by security teams during periods of high bear activity

Rule

Two pets per site and leashed at all times.

Rule

Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. One vehicle per single site is included with your reservation. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground if you did not pay for an Extra Vehicle Add On. Extra vehicles must fit on the parking spur at the site.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Click here for more information about Inyo National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
52
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Paved pads
26 of 52
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Firewood
Sold here
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Meadow
Fishing
Hiking
Night sky · 191st darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:54 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 26 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 31 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:54 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 24Bookable now through October 24, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On October 23, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 23, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$34plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$76DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 23 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$34
Standard Nonelectric$34
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 24, 2026 to Oct 24, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$42
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$76

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $34 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:54 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

53 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 31 mapped sites
80 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop GRAY 020 31 ftLoop GRAY 021 31 ftLoop GRAY 003 44 ft

All 53 records

31 of 53 records located
Standard31
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 31 of the 53 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 52 of the 53 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AREA GRAYS MEADOWS002type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS004type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS006type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS007type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS008type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS011type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS016type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS022type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS024type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS026type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS028type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS030type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS032type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS034type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS036type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS038type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS042type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS044type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS045type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS048type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWS052type not stated$34
AREA GRAYS MEADOWSXXXunnamed record40 ft$34
GRAY001standard nonelectric40 ft51 ft307 ftIndependence Creek182 ft$34
GRAY003standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft260 ftIndependence Creek133 ft$34
GRAY005standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft217 ftIndependence Creek90 ft$34
GRAY009standard nonelectric25 ft137 ftunder 10 ftIndependence Creek282 ft$34
GRAY010standard nonelectric25 ft80 ft23 ftIndependence Creek415 ft$34
GRAY012standard nonelectric25 ft110 ft19 ftIndependence Creek589 ft$34
GRAY013standard nonelectric25 ft80 ft23 ftIndependence Creek492 ft$34
GRAY014standard nonelectric40 ftyes49 ftunder 10 ftIndependence Creek136 ft$34
GRAY015standard nonelectric30 ft49 ft40 ftIndependence Creek88 ft$34
GRAY017standard nonelectric40 ftyes112 ft98 ftIndependence Creek103 ft$34
GRAY018standard nonelectric40 ft48 ft187 ftIndependence Creek168 ft$34
GRAY019standard nonelectric25 ft48 ft187 ftIndependence Creek178 ft$34
GRAY020standard nonelectric40 ftyes31 ft283 ftIndependence Creek83 ft$34
GRAY021standard nonelectric30 ftyes31 ft268 ftIndependence Creek79 ft$34
GRAY023standard nonelectric30 ft103 ft474 ftIndependence Creek198 ft$34
GRAY025standard nonelectric35 ft81 ft428 ftIndependence Creek103 ft$34
GRAY027standard nonelectric40 ft81 ft444 ftIndependence Creek105 ft$34
GRAY029standard nonelectric30 ft148 ft492 ftIndependence Creek215 ft$34
GRAY031standard nonelectric35 ft112 ft366 ftIndependence Creek234 ft$34
GRAY033standard nonelectric30 ft112 ft258 ftIndependence Creek213 ft$34
GRAY035standard nonelectric40 ft73 ft267 ftIndependence Creek87 ft$34
GRAY037standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft12 ftIndependence Creek244 ft$34
GRAY039standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft21 ftIndependence Creek157 ft$34
GRAY040standard nonelectric25 ft49 ft29 ftIndependence Creek127 ft$34
GRAY041standard nonelectric20 ft49 ftunder 10 ftIndependence Creek83 ft$34
GRAY043standard nonelectric30 ft117 ft55 ftIndependence Creek58 ft$34
GRAY046standard nonelectric25 ft72 ft22 ftIndependence Creek203 ft$34
GRAY047standard nonelectric35 ft72 ft48 ftIndependence Creek213 ft$34
GRAY049standard nonelectric30 ft143 ft79 ftIndependence Creek404 ft$34
GRAY050standard nonelectric35 ft102 ft98 ftIndependence Creek547 ft$34
GRAY051standard nonelectric35 ft102 ftunder 10 ftIndependence Creek555 ft$34

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 53 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.76889, -118.29500
The phone760-937-6070
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Grays Meadows is 6 miles west of the town of Independence, California. Take U.S. Highway 395 to Independence. Turn west on Market Street (which turns into Onion Valley Road) and follow for 6 miles. The first gate accesses sites 36-52. The second gate is 0.25 miles up the road and accesses sites 1-35. Campground manager is at site 7.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight48°Clear
Saturday67°Sunny
Saturday Night48°Mostly Clear
Sunday67°Sunny

NWS forecast for Independence, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LODGEPOLE, CA (USC00045026), 27 miles away and 145 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Independence Creek13,436 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Tinemaha27,060 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Kevin Kiley, official portrait

Grays Meadows is in California’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Kevin Kiley (I), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Kevin Kiley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Kevin Kiley,

I’m a constituent in California’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 31 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Grays Meadows, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Grays Meadows keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Grays Meadows. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Grays Meadows (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 31 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Grays Meadows, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Grays Meadows keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Grays Meadows. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Grays Meadows (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Grays Meadows, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 31 of the 52 campsites the agency files at Grays Meadows, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Grays Meadows keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Grays Meadows. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Grays Meadows (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 8 of the next 8 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Independence, CA, 5 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.