2Heads up2 fires, nearest 35 mi
Wildfire
Land fire · 35 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 11, 2026
Wildfire
Wildfire Training fire · 49 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 26 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:51 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 8 of the next 8 nights; a database flag says not open read 15:51 UTC
A night
$31From, per site
Sites
3029 on recreation.gov
25 ftLongest rig
9,600 ftElevation
607 ftWater · an unnamed stream
16.2 miNW of Lone Pine, CA
18%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

This quiet campground is set amidst breathtaking scenery of rugged mountain peaks, thick forests and waterfalls in the Onion Valley area of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains. Its location on the creek and proximity to the John Muir Wilderness make it a popular hub for hikers, anglers, photographers and those who want to relax in a peaceful, natural setting. Keep reading

Recreation

Majestic scenery and challenging trails draw campers to the Onion Valley area for hiking and horseback riding. The campground is near Kearsarge Pass, Robinson Lake and Golden Trout Lakes Trailheads, which access several alpine lakes and mountain peaks within the John Muir Wilderness, as well as Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park. The eastern Sierras are also known for exceptional trout fishing. From the campground, anglers can try for rainbow, brown, brook and Alpers trout in Robinson Lake and a nearby creek.

Facilities

The campground is tucked away near the end of Onion Valley Road. Campsites are private and primitive, and every site has a scenic view. Amenities include vault toilets, and bear-proof food storage lockers, which campers are required to use. Firewood is for sale on-site.

Natural Features

Situated at an elevation of 9,200 feet, the campground is surrounded by the towering peaks of the John Muir Wilderness and immersed in shrubs, lodgepole pine and aspens. Lovely wildflowers color the landscape in late spring and early summer. The campground is adjacent to a creek and lake. The area is home to abundant wildlife, including black bear,which frequent the campground, mountain lions, mule deer, pine martin, pika and many species of fish and birds.

Nearby Attractions

Campers can enter the John Muir Wilderness, a land of lofty snow-capped mountains, deep canyons and vast expanses of glacially carved terrain, via nearby trails. Some trails lead into Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park to the west. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (602) 726-1102.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Trailers are not recommended; tent trailers are permissible

Rule

This campground has no water.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of site in approved containers and remove all food from area after eating; do not leave food in car; always keep a clean camp and do not feed any wild animals; campground is patrolled at night by security teams during periods of high bear activity

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

Two pets per site and must be leashed at all times.

Rule

Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. One vehicle per single site is included with your reservation. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground if you did not pay for an Extra Vehicle Add On. Extra vehicles must fit on the parking spur at the site.

Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Click here for more information about Inyo National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
30 · 10 tent-only, 7 walk-in
Hookups
None
Longest rig
25 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…has a scenic view. Amenities include vault toilets, and bear-proof food storage lockers, which campers…”
Bear boxes
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, Creek
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 189th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:51 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 26 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 27 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 15:51 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 24Bookable now through October 24, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 14, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 14, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$31plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$70DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 14 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$31
Standard Nonelectric$31
Tent Only Nonelectric$31
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 24, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$39
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$70

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $31 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:51 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

30 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 29 mapped sites
32 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop ONIO 021 21 ftLoop ONIO 022 21 ftLoop ONIO 019 22 ft

All 30 sites

30 of 30 sites located
Standard12Tent only10Walk, hike or boat in7Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 30 of the 30 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 29 of the 30 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

DRV002standard nonelectric16 ft55 ft172 ft100 ft$31
DRV003standard nonelectric25 ft32 ft209 ft67 ft$31
DRV004standard nonelectric16 ft69 ft188 ft167 ft$31
DRV011standard nonelectric25 ft50 ft286 ftIndependence Creek52 ft$31
DRV012standard nonelectric25 ft33 ft313 ft47 ft$31
DRV015standard nonelectric16 ft26 ft227 ft154 ft$31
DRV020standard nonelectric25 ft22 ft180 ft151 ft$31
DRV027standard nonelectric25 ft53 ft172 ft101 ft$31
ONIO016walk to46 ft319 ftIndependence Creek101 ft$31
ONIO018walk to26 ft251 ft144 ft$31
ONIO019walk to22 ft173 ft173 ft$31
ONIO021walk to21 ft95 ft182 ft$31
ONIO022walk to21 ft103 ft195 ft$31
ONIO024walk to34 ft63 ft196 ft$31
ONIO025walk to24 ft119 ft202 ft$31
ONIO029tent only nonelectric31 ft144 ft60 ft$31
ONION001tent only nonelectric25 ft32 ft238 ft73 ft$31
ONION005tent only nonelectric25 ft62 ft241 ft98 ft$31
ONION006tent only nonelectric25 ft76 ft195 ftIndependence Creek217 ft$31
ONION007tent only nonelectric25 ft26 ft131 ftIndependence Creek230 ft$31
ONION008tent only nonelectric26 ft121 ftIndependence Creek227 ft$31
ONION009standard nonelectric25 ft66 ft223 ftIndependence Creek101 ft$31
ONION010standard nonelectric25 ft62 ft284 ftIndependence Creek51 ft$31
ONION013standard nonelectric25 ft33 ft327 ft67 ft$31
ONION014standard nonelectric25 ft57 ft258 ft98 ft$31
ONION017tent only nonelectric25 ft50 ft264 ftIndependence Creek101 ft$31
ONION023tent only nonelectric23 ft91 ft144 ft$31
ONION024type not stated25 ft60 ft174 ft
ONION026tent only nonelectric25 ft23 ft98 ft125 ft$31
ONION028tent only nonelectric25 ft31 ft115 ft91 ft$31

25 of 30 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.77472, -118.34556
The phone760-937-6070
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

The campground is 13 miles west of the town of Independence, California. Take U.S. Highway 395 to Independence. Turn west on Market Street, which turns into Onion Valley Road. Follow Onion Valley Road for 13 miles to the campground.

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight33°Clear
Saturday50°Sunny
Saturday Night34°Clear
Sunday50°Sunny1% rain

NWS forecast for Independence, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Independence Creek13,436 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Tinemaha27,060 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Kevin Kiley, official portrait

Onion Valley is in California’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Kevin Kiley (I), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Kevin Kiley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Kevin Kiley,

I’m a constituent in California’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Onion Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Onion Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Onion Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Onion Valley (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Onion Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Onion Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Onion Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Onion Valley (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Onion Valley, Inyo National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 29 of the 30 campsites the agency files at Onion Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 26 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Onion Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Onion Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Onion Valley (Inyo National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 8 of the next 8 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Independence, CA, 6.7 mi WSW (a census designated place). Straight line.