U.S. Forest Service · Spring Mountains National Recreation Area · NV

Hilltop

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:56 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$19–$67Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3835 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1 – November 30Open May 1 through November 30
35 ftLongest rig
8,360 ftElevation
4,382 ftWater · Deer Creek
12.8 miNW of Las Vegas, NV
20%Tree cover
Open May 1 through November 30Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Hilltop Campground is set in the beautiful Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, just 40 miles from downtown Las Vegas. Visitors enjoy hiking, horseback riding and scenic driving in this forested desert oasis. Please note: trailers longer than 25 ft are not recommended in Hilltop Campground. The campground road is narrow with tight turns. Keep reading

Recreation

The North Loop-Mt. Charleston National Recreation Trail begins only 1/4-mile away. Robber's Roost and the CCC Trailhead are located nearby as well. The Spring Mountains Visitor Center is a short drive from the campground, offering guided hikes and educational programs.

Facilities

Please note: trailers longer than 25 ft are not recommended in Hilltop Campground. The campground road is narrow with tight turns. The campground offers single and double campsites, all with picnic tables, campfire rings and grills. Some sites have stairs from the parking spur to the campsite. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Roads and parking spurs are paved.

Natural Features

The Spring Mountains National Recreation Area is a beautiful island in the desert, brimming with breathtaking scenery and diverse flora and fauna. The Bristlecone pine, the world's oldest organism, and the rare Mount Charleston blue butterfly are both found within the Spring Mountains. More than 100 springs create the namesake for the mountain range, making it an ideal place to escape the heat of the city. The campground is situated so campers are awarded sweeping views of the Mojave Desert below and Spring Mountains above. Stands of juniper, mountain mahogany and ponderosa pine forest the site and provide limited shade.

Nearby Attractions

More than 60 miles of hiking and horseback riding trails crisscross the area; two trails allow mountain biking. Rock climbing, picnicking and scenic driving are popular activities.

What the agency tells you

Rule

No water available on site. Please bring all the water you will need for your stay. This includes water for drinking, washing, cleaning, and dousing fires.

Rule

Trailers over 25 feet in length are not recommended due to the tight turns within the campground.

Rule

Odd numbered sites are reservable. Even numbered sites are first-come, first-served.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Campsite must be occupied first night of reservation. Contact host or employee if you do not plan to stay any other night of reservation after first night.

Rule

Please call 702-872-5486 to check current fire restrictions

Rule

Click here for more info about the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forests

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
38 · 1 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
35 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…from the parking spur to the campsite. Vault toilets and trash collection are provided. Roads and…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

Biking
Hiking
Night sky · 50th darkest of 65 in NV
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:56 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 16 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 17 are free on Thu, Oct 22. read 15:56 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 3Bookable now through November 3, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 15, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 15, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$19–$67plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$46–$142DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$19–$67
Tent Only Nonelectric$19
Standard Nonelectric$23
Standard Nonelectric-Double$45
Standard Nonelectric-Triple$67
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Nov 3, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$27–$75
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$46–$142

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $19–$67 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:56 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

38 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 35 mapped sites
97 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room006 45 ft008 45 ft019 51 ft

All 38 sites

35 of 38 sites located
Standard34Tent only1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 35 of the 38 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 38 of the 38 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

HILLTOP001tent only nonelectric10 ft85 ft3,938 ft2,658 ft$19
HILLTOP002standard nonelectric15 ft77 ft3,952 ft2,608 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP003standard nonelectric16 ft77 ft3,974 ft2,560 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP004standard nonelectric25 ft83 ft4,027 ft2,487 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP005standard nonelectric20 ftyes102 ft4,103 ft2,483 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP006standard nonelectric20 ft45 ft4,107 ft2,432 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP007standard nonelectric25 ft102 ft4,203 ft2,402 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP008standard nonelectric15 ftyes45 ft4,144 ft2,388 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP009standard nonelectric25 ft99 ft3,908 ft2,523 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP010standard nonelectric20 ft90 ft3,920 ft2,502 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP011standard nonelectric25 ft90 ft3,971 ft2,448 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP012standard nonelectric25 ft101 ft4,053 ft2,369 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP013standard nonelectric20 ft127 ft4,074 ft2,347 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP014standard nonelectric20 ftyes107 ft4,193 ft2,230 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP015standard nonelectric25 ft107 ft4,264 ft2,156 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP016standard nonelectric15 ft63 ft4,343 ft2,090 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP017standard nonelectric20 ft63 ft4,406 ft2,027 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP018standard nonelectric25 ft74 ft4,458 ft1,984 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP019standard nonelectric15 ft51 ft4,520 ft1,912 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP020standard nonelectric25 ft51 ft4,564 ft1,871 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP021standard nonelectric35 ft93 ft4,648 ft1,797 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP022standard nonelectric10 ft93 ft4,659 ft1,861 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP023standard nonelectric20 ft93 ft4,731 ft1,819 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP024standard nonelectric96 ft4,788 ft1,735 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP025standard nonelectric12 ft107 ft4,744 ft1,715 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP026standard nonelectric10 ft107 ft4,751 ft1,686 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP027standard nonelectric20 ft115 ft4,718 ft1,705 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP028standard nonelectric20 ft98 ft4,631 ft1,788 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP029standard nonelectric35 ft98 ft4,547 ft1,872 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP030standard nonelectric25 ft120 ft4,430 ft1,990 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP031standard nonelectric25 ft136 ft4,167 ft2,260 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP032standard nonelectric35 ft138 ft4,121 ft2,326 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP033standard nonelectric25 ft111 ft4,271 ft2,230 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP034standard nonelectric20 ft111 ft4,339 ft2,199 ft$23–$67
HILLTOP035standard nonelectric25 ft127 ft4,420 ft2,167 ft$23–$67
S&PStandard Double S&Ptype not stated20 ft$19–$45
S&PStandard S&Ptype not stated15 ft$19–$45
S&PStandard Tent S&Ptype not stated10 ft$19–$45

25 of 38 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.30986, -115.60666
The phone702-872-5486
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon57°Sunny
Tonight42°Mostly Clear
Saturday55°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night43°Mostly Cloudy2% rain

NWS forecast for Mount Charleston, NV

Typical weather

Typical October night 35°F, day 62°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical November night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MT CHARLESTON FIRE STN, NV (USC00265400), 4 miles away and 900 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Watch
Roadless
Angel Peak South6,540 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Angel Peak North12,577 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
La Madre - Prospect278 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 28, 2026

Who answers for this land

Steven Horsford, official portrait

Hilltop is in Nevada’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Steven Horsford (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Steven Horsford

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Steven Horsford,

I’m a constituent in Nevada’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 35 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Hilltop, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Hilltop keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Hilltop. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Hilltop (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
To Catherine Cortez Masto

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Catherine Cortez Masto,

I’m a constituent in Nevada. I tried to camp at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 35 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Hilltop, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Hilltop keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Hilltop. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Hilltop (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
To Jacky Rosen

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Jacky Rosen,

I’m a constituent in Nevada. I tried to camp at Hilltop, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 35 of the 38 campsites the agency files at Hilltop, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 16 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Hilltop keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Hilltop. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Hilltop (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Mount Charleston, NV, 0.1 mi N (a census designated place). Straight line.