U.S. Forest Service · Spring Mountains National Recreation Area · NV

McWilliams

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$25–$50Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7775 on recreation.gov
Season
May 1 – October 31Open May 1 through October 31
64 ftLongest rig
8,580 ftElevation
1.8 miWater · an unnamed stream
11.9 miNE of Pahrump, NV
23%Tree cover
Open May 1 through October 31Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

McWilliams Campground is located in the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, just 50 miles from downtown Las Vegas. Visitors enjoy hiking, mountain biking and scenic driving in this forested desert oasis. Keep reading

Recreation

Hiking and mountain biking are popular activities on the 6.2-mile Bristlecone Trail. Upper and lower trailheads are located just above and below the campground. The 1.3-mile Sawmill Trail begins about four miles below the campground just off State Route 156.

Facilities

This campground contains several single and double-family sites with picnic tables, grills and campfire rings. Flush toilets, drinking water, and trash collection are provided. Roads and parking spurs are paved.

Natural Features

The Spring Mountains National Recreation Area is a beautiful island in the desert, brimming with breathtaking scenery and diverse flora and fauna. The Bristlecone pine, the world's oldest organism, and the rare Mount Charleston blue butterfly are both found within the Spring Mountains. More than 100 springs create the namesake for the mountain range, making it an ideal place to escape the heat of the city. The campground is situated in a scenic Ponderosa and white pine forest, which offers partial shade. The area affords breathtaking views of the surrounding Spring Mountains.

Nearby Attractions

More than 60 miles of hiking and horseback riding trails crisscross the area. Rock climbing, picnicking and scenic driving are popular activities. The Spring Mountains Visitor Center in Kyle Canyon offers guided hikes and educational and evening programs. Interpretive displays provide information on local plants, animals and history.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This campground has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

Campsite must be occupied first night of reservation. Contact host or employee if you do not plan to stay any other night of reservation after first night.

Rule

Opening dates may vary due to snow levels

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Call 702-872-5486 to check current fire restrictions

Rule

Click here for more info about the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forests

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
77
Hookups
None
Longest rig
64 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…tables, grills and campfire rings. Flush toilets, drinking water, and trash collection are provided.…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…and campfire rings. Flush toilets, drinking water, and trash collection are provided. Roads and…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

Biking
Hiking
Night sky · 48th darkest of 65 in NV
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 17Bookable now through October 17, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 15, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 15, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$25–$50plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58–$108DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25–$50
Standard Nonelectric Single$25
Standard Nonelectric Double$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 17, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33–$58
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58–$108

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25–$50 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

77 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 75 mapped sites
97 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room3 - Dolomite 039 68 ft3 - Dolomite 043 68 ft4 - Oxbow 056 69 ft

All 77 sites

75 of 77 sites located
Standard75
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 77 of the 77 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

1 - Eureka001standard nonelectric50 ft83 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka002standard nonelectric50 ft86 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka003standard nonelectric58 ft113 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka004standard nonelectric58 ft98 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka005standard nonelectric58 ft109 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka006standard nonelectric54 ft140 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka007standard nonelectric53 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka008standard nonelectric45 ft83 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka009standard nonelectric57 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka010standard nonelectric60 ft83 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka011standard nonelectric56 ft113 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka012standard nonelectric27 ft129 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka013standard nonelectric50 ft83 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
1 - Eureka014standard nonelectric44 ft129 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill015standard nonelectric50 ft213 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill016standard nonelectric53 ft78 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill017standard nonelectric53 ft78 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill018standard nonelectric52 ft83 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill019standard nonelectric30 ft122 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill020standard nonelectric45 ft130 ft1.8 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill021standard nonelectric48 ft154 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill022standard nonelectric52 ft137 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill023standard nonelectric47 ft121 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill024standard nonelectric50 ft133 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill025standard nonelectric50 ft112 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill026standard nonelectric52 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill027standard nonelectric50 ft81 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill028standard nonelectric48 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill029standard nonelectric52 ft81 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill030standard nonelectric48 ft113 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill031standard nonelectric50 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill032standard nonelectric30 ft100 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
2 - McWill033standard nonelectric29 ft94 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite034standard nonelectric25 ft102 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite035standard nonelectric29 ft95 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite036standard nonelectric28 ft95 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite037standard nonelectric24 ft96 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite038standard nonelectric24 ft82 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite039standard nonelectric21 ft68 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite040standard nonelectric24 ft93 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite041standard nonelectric24 ft97 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite042standard nonelectric22 ft158 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite043standard nonelectric25 ft68 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite044standard nonelectric25 ft138 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
3 - Dolomite045standard nonelectric26 ft163 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow046standard nonelectric20 ft140 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow047standard nonelectric50 ft140 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow048standard nonelectric64 ft85 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow049standard nonelectric48 ft107 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow050standard nonelectric48 ft85 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow051standard nonelectric51 ft107 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow052standard nonelectric58 ft99 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow053standard nonelectric50 ft127 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow054standard nonelectric48 ft128 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow055standard nonelectric48 ft99 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow056standard nonelectric30 ft69 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow057standard nonelectric30 ft76 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow058standard nonelectric20 ft76 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow059standard nonelectric25 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow060standard nonelectric48 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow061standard nonelectric31 ft69 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow062standard nonelectric18 ft114 ft2.0 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow063standard nonelectric50 ft104 ft2.0 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow064standard nonelectric50 ft85 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow065standard nonelectric61 ft85 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow066standard nonelectric31 ft138 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow067standard nonelectric53 ft88 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
4 - Oxbow068standard nonelectric52 ft88 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD069standard nonelectric48 ft106 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD070standard nonelectric38 ft175 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD071standard nonelectric52 ft252 ft2.0 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD072standard nonelectric23 ft97 ft2.0 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD073standard nonelectric26 ft97 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD074standard nonelectric28 ft87 ft1.9 mi$25–$50
5 - OldD075standard nonelectric32 ft87 ft2.0 mi$25–$50
S&PStandard Double S&Ptype not stated57 ft$25–$50
S&PStandard S&Ptype not stated50 ft$25–$50

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 77 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight36°Mostly Clear
Saturday50°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night37°Mostly Cloudy1% rain
Sunday48°Mostly Sunny3% rain

NWS forecast for Mount Charleston, NV

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Watch
Roadless
Charleston - Carpenter17,828 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Charleston - Clark4,674 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Charleston - Mcfarland2,465 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 28, 2026

Who answers for this land

Steven Horsford, official portrait

McWilliams is in Nevada’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Steven Horsford (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Steven Horsford

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Steven Horsford,

I’m a constituent in Nevada’s 4th district. I tried to camp at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at McWilliams, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McWilliams keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McWilliams. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McWilliams (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
To Catherine Cortez Masto

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Catherine Cortez Masto,

I’m a constituent in Nevada. I tried to camp at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at McWilliams, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McWilliams keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McWilliams. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McWilliams (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
To Jacky Rosen

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada

Dear Jacky Rosen,

I’m a constituent in Nevada. I tried to camp at McWilliams, Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at McWilliams, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McWilliams keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McWilliams. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McWilliams (Spring Mountains National Recreation Area, Nevada) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Mount Charleston, NV, 1.5 mi NW (a census designated place). Straight line.