Bureau of Land Management · Coeur D'Alene Field Office · ID

Huckleberry Campground

1Heads up1 fire 26 mi away
Wildfire
Nugget Hill fire · 26 mi away · 35 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 25; November 15 opens May 15.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 10 of the next 30 nights read 16:54 UTC
Sites
3331 on recreation.gov
2,230 ftElevation
198 ftWater · Saint Joe River
15.5 miSW of Wallace, ID
12%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 336th darkest of 523 in ID

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

Huckleberry Campground is located along the shores of the St. Joe River, 29 miles east of St. Maries, Idaho on the St. Joe River Road. Reserve a campsite here: https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/273785/campsites . Keep reading

Recreation

RV Camping, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing. In close proximity to Forest Service lands Facilities Huckleberry Campground has 33 RV camp sites. Sites 1-30 are single RV sites with a total maximum combination capacity of four registered vehicles/campers/OHVs/utilitiy trailers and 15 people per single site. Each single site has one paved parking spur, one potable water and electric hookup, and one picnic table and a camp fire ring. Sites 31-33 are group RV sites with three electric and water hookups with a maximum combination capacity of 12 registered vehicles/campers/OHVs/utility trailers and 25 people per group site. Each group site has gravel parking, three potable water and electric hookups, two picnic tables, and two fire rings. The campground supports on-site hosts, six concrete vault toilets restrooms, an undeveloped non-motorized boat ramp, a small day-use parking area next to the boat ramp, an RV dump station for Huckleberry overnight geusts only, two self-serve information and paystations, and two day-use horse shoe pits.

Natural Features

Riverfront Campground Nearby Attractions The campground's location serves as a central hub for campers and recreationists recreating along the river between Calder and Avery Idaho. Multiple hunting, fishing, and ATV/UTV user groups travel to the campground and use it to access the nearby miles of US Forest Service and Idaho Department of Lands (IDL) roads. The campground also serves as a central location to stage for fishing and floating trips.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The Coeur d’Alene Field Office is happy to announce Huckleberry reservations arrivals can now be secured between May 21 through October 25, 2026. Thank you for your patience while campground improvements continue occur during the 2026 season! The Coeur d'Alene Field Office has also updated Huckleberry's visitor occupancy and general campground rules. Updates are as follows: Huckleberry Rules • Camping allowed in designated sites only  • Quiet hours: 10 p.m. to 6 a.m.  • Check in: 3 p.m. Check out: 11 a.m.  • Campers must occupy and pay for site within 30 minutes of arrival  • No site saving  • Site must be occupied first night and every 24 hours thereafter  • No cutting of live vegetation  • All pets must be leashed  • Maximum length of stay: 14 nights  • Citations may be issued for failure to pay fees  • Campers may not leave personal property unattended for more than 24 hours  • No shooting  • No fireworks  • Commercial uses require Special Recreation Permit  Campsite Capacity • Additional vehicles must park in designated day-use parking areas.  • Proof of purchase must be visible on vehicle/trailer.  • Dump station is for registered Huckleberry overnight camping guests only.    Single RV Sites  o Capacity: 15 people and 4 registered vehicles including utility/boat trailers, OHVs, campers and passenger vehicles.  o All vehicles must remain on pavement within site.  o Parking spur dimensions are 60’ x 14’.  o Max RV length: 40’. o Any additional vehicles over 4 must pay extra vehicles fee.   Group RV Sites  o Capacity: 25 people and 12 registered vehicles including utility/boat trailers, OHVs, campers and passenger vehicles. o All vehicles must remain on gravel surface within site.  o Max RV length: 40’.  o Any additional vehicles over 12 total must pay extra vehicle fee.  Please note that the annual potable water system shutdown will begin sometime during the week of October 20th. Should weather conditions warrant, the water system may be shutdown without notice before that date. For any further questions, please contact the BLM’s Coeur d’Alene Field office at (208) 769-5000.

Tents and rigs

Sites
33 · 3 group
Hookups
31 electric, 33 water
Paved pads
30 of 33
Accessible sites
30
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…supports on-site hosts, six concrete vault toilets restrooms, an undeveloped non-motorized boat ramp,…”
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 33 of 33 campsite records, DRINKING WATER (PEAK SEASON) on 33 of 33 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River
Fishing
Water access
Wildlife viewing
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

18 of 62 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:54 UTC

recreation.gov lists 31 of the 33 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Booking windowThrough October 25Bookable now through October 25, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 15, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 15, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
Sites, a night, from$180From the rate schedule matched to 3 of its 33 sites. Bureau of Land Management publishes no campground-level rate we can read.derived by CAMPANAC
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itBureau of Land ManagementBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceBureau of Land Management
Sites, a night, from$180
Derived by CAMPANAC from the rate schedule matched to 3 of its 33 sites. Bureau of Land Management publishes no campground-level rate for this campground that we can read, only per-site rate templates its own record matches to each site’s own type.
Group areas, a night$60–$180
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 12, 2026 to Oct 25, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
The agency publishes no nightly rate for this campground, so there’s nothing to add the $8 booking fee to. We won’t total a receipt with a number missing from it.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:54 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

33 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 31 mapped sites
70 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop A 28 30 ftLoop A 29 30 ftLoop A 23 42 ft

All 33 sites

33 of 33 sites located
RV / electric28Group3Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 3 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

A1rv electric30 ampyes92 ft191 ft
A10rv electric30 ampyes69 ft152 ft
A11rv electric30 ampyes69 ft174 ft
A12rv electric30 ampyes77 ft127 ft
A13rv electric30 ampyes59 ft148 ft
A14rv electric30 ampyes59 ft104 ft
A15rv electric30 ampyes42 ft122 ft
A16rv electric30 ampyes42 ft80 ft
A17rv electric30 ampyes70 ft124 ft
A18rv electric30 ampyes70 ft82 ft
A19rv electric30 ampyes117 ft101 ft
A2rv electric30 ampyes147 ft115 ft
A20rv electric30 ampyes110 ft216 ft
A21rv electric30 ampyes117 ft201 ft
A22rv electric30 ampyes94 ft116 ft
A23rv electric30 ampyes42 ft92 ft
A24rv electric30 ampyes42 ft87 ft
A25rv electric30 ampyes97 ft231 ft
A26rv electric30 ampyes97 ft235 ft
A27rv electric30 ampyes46 ft142 ft
A28rv electric30 ampyes30 ft170 ft
A29rv electric30 ampyes30 ft185 ft
A3rv electric30 ampyes92 ft142 ft
A30type not stated30 ampyes223 ft
A31group standard electric30 amp95 ft200 ft$180
A32group standard electric30 amp95 ft236 ft$180
A33group standard electric30 amp121 ft319 ft$180
A4rv electric50 ampyes62 ft181 ft
A5rv electric50 ampyes62 ft135 ft
A6rv electric50 ampyes103 ft187 ft
A7type not stated50 ampyes152 ft
A8rv electric50 ampyes56 ft204 ft
A9rv electric50 ampyes56 ft160 ft

25 of 33 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate47.26833, -116.08778
The phone208-769-5000
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From St. Maries, ID go south on Highway 3 for a half mile then turn right (east) onto the St. Joe River Road. Once on the St. Joe River Road travel for approximately 29 miles.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon69°Sunny
Tonight45°Partly Cloudy
Saturday63°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night35°Partly Cloudy then Areas Of Frost1% rain

NWS forecast for Wallace, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 36°F, day 55°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WALLACE, ID (USC00109498), 16 miles away and 480 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Big Creek74,622 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Russ Fulcher, official portrait

Huckleberry Campground is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 10 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the BLM’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.